We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like it all!”
Review of Wunderbar Bistro

Wunderbar Bistro
Ranked #13 of 89 Restaurants in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Comfort food at affordable prices. Cozy atmosphere with a great beer, wine, and menu selection.
Hudson, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Like it all!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great prices, great menu, great drinks! Love the atmoshere. Menu is good - not too little of chices and not too many choices. Back room has pool table, TV's and booths for a more casual atmosphere - front room is more chill and relaxing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pamjayne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    40
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really good food, OK prices”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We used a discount coupon so the prices were fine or good at that point. It is located on Warren St., which is a decent location. The special drink was appletini, and it was pretty good. We had bacon wrapped shrimp with a horseradish remoulade kind of sauce for an appetizer - very good! Our meal choices were meatloaf and one of the specials - chicken fried steak. The meatloaf was excellent - beef, turkey and sausage, with the slice having bacon wrapped around it. Smashed potatoes and fresh green beans. The smashed potatoes were good but nuclear hot, which balanced the green beans, some of which were cold. It seemed like the plate may have been microwaved which would account for nuclear potatoes. But both sides were good. The chicken fried steak was the best I ever tasted! It also had potatoes as a side, not nuclear, and thin hand-breaded fried onion rings - very good. The steak was not like the usual chicken fried steak which is pounded down very thin, then coated and fried to well done. Wunderbar's version still resembled a steak and was medium to medium-well for doneness. Both meals were very good, and we will probably return to try other interesting things from the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimlanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic food - good value”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Don't look for anything fancy here... very basic food. We've used the "Restaurant.com" coupon here a few times so it was well worth it! Very good for salad's and burgers. The mushroom ravioli is delicious, but that;s all you get! Five ravioli's on a plate. No bread... no "nuthin"!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Jak's review”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very welcoming and friendly staff. Good food and good service. The drinks are generous and priced really well. I enjoy coming here since it's a dynamic place and fun to participate. The atmosphere is very cool and the staff work really hard to keep everyone happy. Great hamburgers and great meatloaf. Salads are fresh and the caesar with grilled chicken is excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delicious food-good value”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Although we waited a very long time for our food (that is the reason for 4 "stars" instead of 5), it was excellent. Service was good in that while we did wait, our beverage glasses were kept full and service was friendly and attentive. Dinner came out hot...so it is not like it sat around. It is a bar-tavern type place but do not let that turn you off. The food was very fresh tasting/looking. I often judge a place like this based on the vegetables. The green beans I received when we were there were perfectly cooked and seasoned.

I had the salmon and my companion had a schnitzel. We tasted each other's meal and agreed they were both delicious. We plan to come back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wunderbar Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Wunderbar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing