We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Helsinki Welcomes All with Great Food, Service, Atmosphere”
Review of Club Helsinki

Club Helsinki
Reserve with OpenTable
Club Helsinki is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 88 Restaurants in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Columbia and 4th
Description: Serving food and drink inspired by the bounty of the Hudson Valley, Helsinki Hudson houses a beautiful and comfortable Restaurant with outdoor dining during the warmer months in our Courtyard, an intimate Club/Music Venue where performers from all over the world play on a nightly basis and our Ballroom - a gorgeous private event space which is perfect for your wedding or any special occasion.
Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Club Helsinki Welcomes All with Great Food, Service, Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Great room, great service, unpretentious white-table cloth restaurant on Hudson side street in scruffy area, but worth the trip. Beautifully mannered wait staff, surprisingl menu featuring American comfort food and sophisticated items, Chef Hugh works his magic nightly. Incredible bar. Also this place is an arts venue with a great events list.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterP_Hudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    49
    17
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valatie, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Visionary, Delicious & "Way Cool"”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

You would think those two words couldn't work when describing a dining experience. They do when you walk in to Helsinki Hudson and see the impecabble restoration and vision the owners created here. My bride of over thirty years and I were coming back from a Country Drive in the Convertible and we thought we would see what all the "buzz" was about.
We walked in and we were greeted by Rick. (one of the owners) He was wonderful as we told him we were new comers. He took the time to share some of the History of the building that houses this venue and menu. In "layman's terms": This place is "Way Cool"! (Inside and Out)
Because it was such a beautiful early evening, we chose to dine outside in the Courtyard. Totally eclectic in a very good way.
We ordered Curry and Coconut PEI Mussels and a Fava Bean Appetizer for starters. Both of which were fantastic. Absolutely amazing flavors on both dishes.
We were fortunate enough to find out the Chef had received Mahi-Mahi that day and that he was pareparing a special dish with these little Clams from Australia to compliment the fish.
The food was cooked to perfection and the clams were the sweetest I have tasted...., and we are seafood junkies.
After dessert, were given a guided tour of the entire facility by our Server. (a handsome young man from Paraguay) The Stage Area is "off the charts". This place has more ambience than some of the "upscales" in NYC.
We highly recommend this dining "experience" to anyone. "Way Cool" yes "Way Cool"!!!
C & C - Valatie, NY

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJBCAB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“in the immortal words of captain sig hansen...”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

.. you can have the best boat, the best equipment and the best captain in the whole world, but if you don't have a good crew, you're screwed. (or something along those lines).

the restaurant at helsinki is a restaurant in a beautifully restored space, with excellent ambiance, a somewhat limited but fabulous southern inspired menu prepared sensationally. where they lose me is the service. we ate there recently for the third or fourth time, hoping that the service issues had been resolved (since they opened last summer (?)). we ordered the local charcuterie/cheese plate to share to start. truly thoughtful, well prepared, seasonal and incredibly tasty. however, we were interrupted twice while trying to eat our appetizer by the wait staff - the first time by a bus boy after it had been on the table for all of five minutes. the second time, by a waitress (and i might add, not OUR waitress) carrying our entrees who asked us if we were done with our appetizer. when i said, no, we are not she proceeded to rearrange the table and threw our entrees in front of us. um, are you joking? she might as well have said "well you are now!". and when i said, ok fine i guess we're done and handed her the appetizer plate, she looked really confused and said "oh i thought you said you weren't done." seriously!??!?!

this is not a diner (though, i have to say, the service at the diner is five start in comparison). it's a nice restaurant (pricepoint in the mid 20s for most main courses) so i don't want to inhale my food. i like to have a nibble, drink some wine and, i know some may find this insane, talk to my husband and actually enjoy the meal without developing any GI issues from eating quickly. i found the service to be just incredibly rushed for no particular reason (the restaurant was fairly full but not overflowing).

i really want to give this place an excellent review but the service is so terrible i just can't do it to anyone who might be thinking of eating there. i hope that they resolve those issues but i think we're done spending any of our precious coin at the restaurant here for a long, long while. too bad!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice dinner and saw a band play”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Dinner was very good (especially the desert!) and I loved that you can reserve a table the entire night and not just for your dinner time. We could go sit down whenever we wanted to! And the club where the band played was really great.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
231 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“3 strikes your out”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

have eaten here 3 times not what I would pay all that money for $23 pork chop no bread, salad little veg. little potato. little flavor

Helpful?
2 Thank tilefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing