We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ideal weekend get a way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 21, 2009

This bed and breakfast makes you feel like invited guests to your best friend's home. The owners Ross and Duncan have thought of every detail to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Their gourmet breakfasts are to die for; their thoughtfullness and attention to every detail enhances every aspect of your stay. We enjoyed our get away
in this beautifully restored 1875 home that also had all the conveniences of our home. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tortking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croff1, Owner/Innkeeper at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2009

We truly want our guests to feel at home and welcome and your review reflects that to a tee. We're also so glad you enjoyed all aspects of our stay, including the breakfast. Thank you, as well, for pointing out the things we've tried to do to make our guests' stay special. We can't wait to have you both back! Until then, all the best this holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 377 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

It took us a while to get to Hudson but once we arrived, Russ & Duncan took the chill out of the evening. This wonderful B&B that they've created is absolutely incredible. Breakfast each morning was delicious (A+++), the rooms are lovely, and they had one of my favorite books of all time in the library! I've always dreamed about having my own B&B one day and I hope I can make it as warm, inviting, and comfortable as they did. My boyfriend and I were very upset about going back to work the next day.

Thanks for everything & we both look forward to coming back in the near future!

Regards,
K & R

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzleWuzzleSnuzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croff1, Owner/Innkeeper at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2009

Thanks for the sensational cudos! We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend with us. We love having such enthusiastic or appreciative guests as you two. They say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, so when you get ready to do your B&B let us know. We'll give you some pointers that we learned along the way. Until then we hope to see you back again soon. Again, our sincerest thanks for the outstanding review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

My wife and I celebrated our 5 year wedding anniversary in Hudson and couldn't have been happier with our accommodations. Location is great as you are a quick walk to shops and restaurants. Russ and Duncan did a great job with the renovations in creating a warm and inviting space. We stayed in the Peck room; modern bathroom, big bed, comfy sheets, flatscreen, and pretty quiet considering the other rooms being close by. Their breakfast's were delicious (a big fan of the balsamic peaches) but their attention to giving you the best stay possible was what won me over. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2014

We thank you so much not only for writing such a wonderful review, but for being such terrific guests as well. We're glad we could make your 5th Anniversary special and are glad you have such great memories of your stay at the inn. We hope you won't wait until your 6th Anniversary to visit us again! Until then, thanks again and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

"You must write your own reviews," I wisecracked. "Nobody is that good." By the end of our stay, though, I added my own hosannahs. (Russ and Duncan are as nice as their dogs, something few people can claim. The dogs live next door.)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2014

We told you that Trip Advisor does not look kindly on "fake reviews" and we would never risk losing the wonderful "press' you and others have provided. Your praise (in the form of hosannahs) is so greatly appreciated. Your recognition has also earned tremendous wags from "the girls next door". We hope you'll come back and stay with us again soon! Be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

The Croff House has been renovated to be a superb bed and breakfast with all amenities you could want being provided. The rooms have all be beautifully done with contemporary bath rooms. The hosts make you feel right and home and do everything possible to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast is delicious, but not for those on a diet.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croff1, Owner/Innkeeper at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2009

What more could you have said? Thank you for such wonderful compliments and for recognizing that we do everything possible to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful bed and breakfast this past weekend to unwind from our hectic daily activities. What a pleasure! Not only is the Croff House beautiful to look at on both outside and inside but it is also a special place because of the extraordinary hospitality of its owners Russ and Duncan.

Special touches included a warm greeting upon arrival including an offer to carry up our bags, gourmet breakfasts, turn- down service in the evening, and a willingness to do anything to make our stay in the B&B a memorable one. Although it rained the entire weekend, we enjoyed staying warm by the fire both in the living room and in our own room (Chace Suite). Warren Street, the center of all the action in Hudson, is a short stroll from the inn. We enjoyed browsing the shops and dining in a couple of the great restaurants. The Croff House is a perfect getaway destination with a special someone . This is a superb bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincipalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2014

We're so pleased you had a great stay with us, despite the less than stellar weather. [October in the Hudson Valley: you never know what to expect weather-wise.] We were excited to be able to light the fireplaces for the first time and were glad they added some warmth and coziness to your visit. Hopefully you will venture our way again and stay with us at The Croff House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

There were so many pleasant things about the Croff House, that it's difficult to know where to start. Duncan and Russ were fantastic hosts. They are genuinely welcoming and accommodating, and they go out of their way to make you feel at home. My wife has some food allergies, and that always worries us when traveling, but Duncan and Russ rolled up their sleeves, tailored a menu for her breakfast, and allowed us to use the fridge as if it were our own. They also manage to foster a warm and friendly atmosphere to share breakfast in the same room with the other guests. The rooms are clean, cozy, and up to date, from Direct and Apple TV to the spa-like showers. My wife and I wouldn't hesitate to escape NYC for the weekend and go back, and in fact, we liked it so much I'm sending my parents there as a retirement gift.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2014

We're always so flattered when guests are so detailed in their review and noticing things we offer to make a stay at The Croff House special. Accommodating C's dietary needs was no trouble at all (although I need to practice my millet toasting skills : )). We thank you so much for taking the time to write this sensational review and look forward to welcoming you both back. Please be assured we will do everything we can to make your parents' retirement gift weekend a special one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hudson hotels
0.5 mi away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#2 of 3 in Hudson
99 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
0 mi away
Tiger House: The Inn at Hudson
0.2 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 17 in Hudson
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croff House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croff House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Willard Pl, Hudson, NY 12534-2417
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: $244 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Croff House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So what has made The Croff House the #1 Trip Advisor rated B&B in Hudson for over 9 years? We are proud of our reputation for providing outstanding, personalized service in a welcoming, warm environment with genuine hospitality. The interior spaces of the inn are designed with guest comfort in mind, not on trendy decor or quirky gimmicks. Our three course, freshly prepared breakfasts (using locally sourced ingredients when available) have become a hallmark of a stay with us. Our focus is on attention to detail and the little touches that make a stay at The Croff House exceptional. We think you'll agree with guests who have stayed with us - The Croff House is truly a 5-Star experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Croff House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Croff House b&b
The Croff House Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing