We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We really enjoyed The Croff House from the charming decor to the incredible breakfasts. Russ and Duncan could not have been any more welcoming and made our stay wonderful. We also really appreciated their dining recommendations which were spot on!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Thanks so much for the excellent review! We're so glad you guys had such an awesome stay with us and that you enjoyed all The Croff House and Hudson has to offer. Our primary goal is always to make sure our guests feel welcome and at home, which we seem to have accomplished. We hope that you will come back to Hudson and, when you do, will once again stay with us. Until then all the best to you both this holiday season and in the year to come. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
268
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

A beautiful place in a nice setting. Russ is delightful. A few little touches and it would have been perfect .... coffee before 9AM for example. Dust .... they need a new cleaning person. All in all, it was a good stay however.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Croff House with future guests. We strive to provide 5 Star service and are disappointed you did not feel we achieved this. With the pleasant weather we had during your short stay most windows were open and, despite our houseeper's best efforts,some minor dust was bound to make its way into the inn.

In addition, had you let us know you wanted coffee prior to 9:00 we would have been more than happy to arrange that for you, as we have for so many guests previously. Again, thank you for the feedback and enjoy the upcoming holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our second stay at the Croff House and the quality hasn't changed.

The breakfast was wonderful and the stay was relaxing. We love having such a wonderful getaway spot that we can look forward to returning to year after year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks so much for yet another awesome review from you guys! We so thoroughly appreciate it and are very happy that the second time was as good as the first. One of our bemchmarks is whether a) guests return and b) if their stay is as good as they remember. It appears on both counts the answer is yes. We hope to see you back again soon to find out if, as they say, the "thirs time's the charm". Until then, our thanks for the amazing review and all the best this holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Croff House and all I can say is- it was perfect. It is a lovely historical home, which you can tell the owners have put many hours of hard work into. Our room was stunning- the bathroom was spectacular (claw foot tub and HUGE walk in shower), and the common areas were just beautiful. Russ gave us an excellent recommendation for evening drinks and then dinner after. Breakfast topped of the whole experience. A great B&B and a must if you are visiting Hudson!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Thanks so much for the awesome (and very promptly) written review! We were so happy to have you stay with us on your mid-point stopover on your way back to Ottowa and that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the recommendations as well - nothing beats a great margarita! Hopefully you will come see us again on your next journey. Until then thanks so very much and Happy Halloween!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was very impressed by my first stay in a B&B ever. It's possible that this was due to the incredibly nice and helpful owners Duncan & Russ. They provided great food recommendations, made us reservations, and were always happy to greet us when we saw them. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Breakfast was filling and made with fresh ingredients and the coffee was good. If you are spending a few nights in Hudson, I would definitely recommend checking the vacancy at The Croff House, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
What a great review of an even better stay - thanks so much! We're so glad you guys had such an awesome time at The Croff House and that everything from the room to the breakfasts so greatly exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Until then our sincerest thanks and be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

pretty victorian home run by a lovely and helpful couple. the inn is within walking distance to shops and restaurants. unfortunately a busy road runs behind the inn so our bedroom was a bit noisy. our bedroom and renovated bath were a good size - but no where to set toiletries and bags on which would have been helpful.

Room Tip: front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will take your comments into consideration and thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We've stayed in a few bed and breakfasts in the Hudson River Valley and The Croff House has been the best so far. Duncan and Russell were very welcoming and accommodating during our stay. We stayed in the Esselstyn Room, which had a gas fireplace and huge (room for 2) soaking tub. The room also had Apple TV and a library of movies to choose from. Breakfast was delicious and didn't take all morning to be served. The house has been restored beautifully. The woodwork around the windows and the pocket doors is a work of art. The main street in Hudson, Warren Street, is close by and easy to walk to. All in all, this is a great place to stay in Hudson, and we have no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Thanks for the phenomenal review - we really appreciate it! We're so glad you guys enjoyed yourselves so much at The Croff House and exploring Hudson and thank you so much for acknowledging all we do (the details) to make a stay with us so special. The architecture of the inn, designed by G.B. Croff and built in 1875, is truly wonderful and all of the woodwork is evidence of a hard to find craft today. The greatest indicator that we are doing a good job is when guests come back and we're glad to see you've already booked a return visit and look forward to seeing you again in February. Until then all the best for the remainder of the year, Happy Holidays, and thanks so much once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hudson hotels
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 16 in Hudson
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#7 of 16 in Hudson
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 16 in Hudson
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Thyme in the Country
Thyme in the Country
#11 of 16 in Hudson
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croff House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croff House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Willard Pl, Hudson, NY 12534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So what has made The Croff House the #1 Trip Advisor rated B&B in Hudson for over 9 years? We are proud of our reputation for providing outstanding, personalized service in a welcoming, warm environment with genuine hospitality. The interior spaces of the inn are designed with guest comfort in mind, not on trendy decor or quirky gimmicks. Our three course, freshly prepared breakfasts (using locally sourced ingredients when available) have become a hallmark of a stay with us. Our focus is on attention to detail and the little touches that make a stay at The Croff House exceptional. We think you'll agree with guests who have stayed with us - The Croff House is truly a 5-Star experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Croff House Hotel Hudson
The Croff House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing