We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Croff House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed in Bed and Breakfast inns previously, and had not enjoyed most of them. We wanted to visit Olana, on the outskirts of Hudson, NY, and it seemed that the town of Hudson had mainly B and Bs for overnight stays. After reading many reviews, The Croff House seemed very nice but we thought that it might not be as good as reported in the reviews .
In fact, it exceeded our expectations
This Bed and Breakfast inn is perfection! From the warm welcome by Duncan (co-owner),to the beautifully and tastefully restored and furnished house, the exquisite bedroom with its restful furnishings and soft but firm mattress, soft sheets, free wifi, iPod docking station, flat screen TV in the bedroom, perfect modern bathroom (oh, that shower with the jets), the bathroom accessories (esp. the soft soap), the postcards with stampsalready affixed, the souvenir candle, the library with the interesting selection of books, the back garden with the restful fountain, the breakfast with delicious food, tea and coffee, everything was just perfect! We left feeling that we had been on a long relaxing vacation

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
What an awesome review! Thank you so very much - we truly appreciate it. Perfect. Exquisite. Restful. Words we love to hear! We are so happy The Croff House so exceeded your expectations from our services to our breakfast. We also appreciate you noticing the small details we put in to make your experience at The Croff House memorable and one that you look forward to returning to again and again. So once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
262
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent one delightful night in the Croff House B&B in August, 2013. The "suite", was really a large room with a private bath, but everything was very comfortable, clean, and functioned perfectly. The air conditioner was a welcome benefit in summer, and helped ensure our room was quiet and comfortable at night. Dunkin was very helpful, the breakfast was a fantastic feast, and the small, but well appointed common rooms and lovely backyard made for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We're so happy you were happy during your stay with us and that everything worked to your satisfaction. At the time The Croff House was built (1875) the house was considered large. By today's standards the Inn would seem small, so we wanted to make the best use of the space, including vibrant colors, comfortable seating and wonderful artwork. Many guests also enjoy the rear garden and fountain patio; so glad you did too. Thank so much again for your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Croff House for one night and then headed to the Finger Lakes area for a few days before heading back to Croff House for another night. Our initial stay was on 18th August. Wouldn't have returned if we weren't extremely happy with our first visit.
Stayed in two different rooms, both lovely.
Breakfast was excellent.
Duncan, our host, was incredibly helpful with advice on where to go, what to see etc
Location nice and quiet, but only a short walk into the town of Hudson. His recommendation for a dinner and live music venue of Club Helsinki was brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Thanks for the excellent review and for the double stay! We're so happy to enjoyed your visit so much you came back on the return leg of your journey and that the second stay was equally as wonderful as the first. We so appreciate you taking the time to share you experience with others and acknowledge all we do to make a stay at The Croff House special. Thanks again so very much and safe travels home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

As others have stated, not your typical B&B as far as "cutesy" rooms and decor go. Vibrant color scheme and ecclectic design. We stayed in the largest room, the Esselstyn Suite, which had a fireplace and a gorgeous view. It was immaculate, quiet and romantic. The tub and shower were so relaxing. Duncan and Russ were both easy and friendly hosts. Breakfast was delicious. The complimentary soy candle will serve as a reminder of the lovely trip. One caveat- while the B&B is outstanding, Hudson itself wasn't it for us. Many shops were closed on a Tuesday, and you can tell that this town has seen some hard times in the past. We spent the day in our favorite spot, Rhinebeck. But that is not in any way a reflection on the Croff house, which will meet all of your needs.

Room Tip: Front rooms are more quiet- face a lovely residential street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaV3374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review! In reading your comments it seems the 3-star rating for "Location" was more about Hudson than The Croff House. We agree that the shops being closed at the beginning of the week is frustrating; we've spoken to the Chamber of Commerce and there is little they can do about it. Oh well, missed business for them. Otherwise it seems you both had an excellent stay, for which we are so happy. Give Hudson another try later in the week or on a weekend - you will find it significantly different. Well, thanks again and be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We enjoyed a perfect evening at Croff House after arriving in Hudson by train. It's an easy 12-minute walk from the Amtrak station. The B&B is on an attractive and quiet street, just a few blocks from Hudson's best restaurants and shops. Historically and architecturally, Hudson is an interesting place to visit, and the hosts at Croff House are gracious and helpful. We had a delicious breakfast, and when there was a drenching downpour at the time we needed to walk back to the station, one of the hosts very kindly offered us a ride. The house is beautifully furnished and maintained, and there is a very nice rear yard with fountain. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
We thank you so much for the really wonderful review and are so happy you had such a great time at The Croff House (despite the rain!). Hudson is a great town to wander and explore and you seemed to find all sorts of great things to do, see and eat - which is always so much fun. Hopefully we'll see you back again soon. Until then have a wonderful summer and many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Deservedly the #1 ranked B&B in Hudson. Great location (4 minutes' walk from Warren St, the main thoroughfare). Breakfasts were extremely tasty. Bed was very comfortable (we stayed in the smaller of the rooms on the ground floor). Wonderful bathroom. Tasteful decor without the schmalz and gaudiness that typifies so many B&Bs - no ruffles, no cutesy room names, no floral prints. Duncan and Russell were courteous, efficient and very helpful with advice to first-time visitors to Hudson.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks so much for the sensational review - we truly appreciate it! In designing The Croff House we wanted to blend modern amenities while at the same time keeping the historic feeling of the house, avoiding doilies and the like. We're so glad you enjoyed the inn and the services we provide so much. Hopefully you'll be back again soon. Until then, however, thanks a million and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in July and everything about the Croff House was the best we've seen at any B&B and certainly in the Hudson Valley. Impeccable rooms, grounds and hospitality. Breakfasts were amazing! We even took home a few of their homemade jams and preserves. Highly recommend The Croff House!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfrimpter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The Croff House with future visitors! We're so happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us from the breakfast to the room to our services. We look forward to seeing you both again soon, but until then our sincerest thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
14.7 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 16 in Hudson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Stewart House
Stewart House
#1 of 1 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croff House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croff House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Willard Pl, Hudson, NY 12534-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So what has made The Croff House the #1 B&B in Hudson for over 7 years? Our focus is always on providing awesome, personalized service in a welcoming, warm environment with genuine hospitality. We want you to have an incredible night's sleep followed by an amazing breakfast that you'll wish you could enjoy every morning. It's about attention to detail, a hallmark of The Croff House since 2009. We think you'll agree with guests who have stayed with us - The Croff House is truly a 5-Star experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Croff House b&b
The Croff House Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing