We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Times in Front of the Fireplace!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thyme in the Country
Ranked #11 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My family and I just enjoyed another wonderful stay at Thyme in the Country (this was our second visit). Mary and her family were so gracious and accommodating -- we really felt like we are in our own home. Highlights of the trip included drinking hot cocoa with homemade marshmallows in front of the crackling fireplace; coming home one evening to a magical candlelit snowy pathway; homemade apple pie; delicious breakfasts; and lots of wonderful tips on things to do and see in the area. This is a special place and very family friendly -- we brought our 3 yr old son with us and he had his own little feather bed right beside our bed, which all of us very happy. Thank you to the Koch family for making this past weekend a very memorable one for us!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westofthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 79 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed at Thyme in the Country during a weekend trip out of the city. It's about a 10 or 15 minute drive from the center of Hudson, and it's got a beautiful farm setting (the gardens, animals, pond, and walking path have lots of charm and character!) and a very comfortable large house with a few different common spaces. We stayed in the Lavender Room - it was really very clean, nice details but not too cutsey, and we had our own bathroom. Mary, the owner, is a terrific host. She'd sit down with us for conversation a few times, she bakes delicious afternoon treats, and breakfasts were really hearty and fresh. They have a very sweet little dog named Mr. Shivers who is happy to spend time with you on the couch. We'd definitelty stay there again and would recommend it to anyone who is traveling near Hudson.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Churros81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I made a weekend trip to the Hudson River Valley and decided to stay at Thyme In The Country. The rate was very affordable and it was close to the places I wanted to go. After a long day of driving, Mary made me feel right at home with a cup of tea and just baked chocolate cake. Afterwards I read one of her touring books about the Hudson River Valley and watched a movie with Mary and Mr. Shivers. I enjoyed a good night's sleep and a hot shower and nice breakfast in the morning. Mary and her family try to use all organic ingredients at the inn. I think most of the things I ate came from their cow and garden...cream in my coffee, fresh eggs, swiss chard in the breakfast casserole, fresh peach crisp, etc. P.S. They also have a salt water pool in the back and two ponds.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLDBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We have a 16 month old who is very active. this always makes us nervous to go to various houses, hotels, etc., that might have things that are breakable. Not with Thyme in the Country: it is kid-friendly!. From the beginning, Mary was very accomodating to our daughter, even offering to set up a Pack 'n Play in our room so that we wouldn't have to bring one ourselves. In addition, Mary has toys scattered around the house, so it feels very welcoming to little ones.

The house and grounds are absolutely gorgeous! there is plenty to do from swimming in their eco-friendly pool, to watching the cows being milked. And the food each morning is wonderful! homemade yogurt, fresh milk, eggs, etc. Mary is a superb and thoughtful hostess and gives plenty of advice on where to eat in the Hudson area, what to do, etc.

it doesn't get much better than Thyme in the Country!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahthom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

This was a last minute reservation on Memorial Day. All other place were either booked, overpriced or gave me the impression of the Bates Motel. I called on the off chance to see if they had a room. My horse was going to be in his first show and I really wanted to spend the weekend and not have to drive back and forth. Mary answered the phone and had a solution instantly. She had a spare room with 2 twin beds that the person in the suite was not going to use. This meant that we could use the downstairs bathroom and the outside shower! What an adventure. My girlfriend and I had some many giggles running up the garden, past the chicken coop and then watching the cows grazing in the garden as we each took our showers. We felt like teenagers. The breakfast was amazing too. When we returned from the show everyone was sitting around the table and the family made us and the other guests fell right at home. I am taking my mother and Step Father with me an my husband to stay during leaf peeping in October....this time we will be using the indoor shower though! Thank you for accomodating us and for a fun stay!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

The Koch family welcomed us to their farm and their green way of life. They were superb in telling us about the area including local organic eateries and a local biodynamic farm. They were extremely attentive to our needs and even had a bike ready for us to use. Mary cooked right on the premises based upon what we liked and our food allergies. They were really relaxed and kind hearted. We enjoyed the fireplace. Olana is near-by and is a wonderful attraction if you like art. If you need a weekend in the country, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestchesterFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Thyme in the country is a lovely home away from the congestion and noise of the city. Surrounded by forrest and field, it's hard to believe a place with cows in the back yard is only two hours up the scenic Hudson from NYC by rail. Large bedrooms, several fire places, and I think there were four living rooms in the house! Tended, within the house, mostly by the matron of the home, Mary, who is friendly, charming, beautiful, and an amazing cook (though she is far to humble to think so herself). Most interesting of all, the entire place is a green establishment, with solar power and energy efficient fixtures. If you want to relax and feel at home away from home, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoneRegret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hudson hotels
4.9 mi away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#2 of 3 in Hudson
99 reviews
4.8 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
200 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
163 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thyme in the Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thyme in the Country

Address: 671 Fish and Game Rd, Hudson, NY 12534-9105
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: $99 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six miles east of Hudson, NY, Thyme in the Country Bed and Breakfast is a peaceful retreat to a warm, wholesome and utterly heartfelt style of hospitality. The charming mix of handmade cabinetry, antique furnishings, jugs of flowers, eggs from the hens, farm fresh milk make for a quiet, relaxing, home-away-from home experience. The owners of this 1880‘s Farmhouse are committed to sustainable living and green principles are incorporated into everything we do-"from the food we serve to the electricity we use. The Koches will help you enjoy the historic and scenic Hudson River Valley and reduce your carbon footprint too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thyme in the Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing