We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thyme in the Country
Nearby Hotels
The Barlow(Hudson)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western New Baltimore Inn(West Coxsackie)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Lounge of Catskill(Catskill)(Great Value!)
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elm Tree Motel(Craryville)
No availability for your dates from our partners
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
72
6
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
6
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco cottagelavender roomat homeb bwood burning fireplaceslept like logsevening snackschocolate cakethe hudson river valleyupstate nya wonderful place to stayyogurtbed and breakfastthe main streetmaryfarmbooks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 79 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I'm not a B&B type of person, generally, but choose this place based on Tripadvisor reviews and so glad I did. One of the most wonderful places I've ever stayed -- and Mary makes the best breakfasts EVER (fresh from her garden). Really warm, genial, shabby-chic fun, lovely grounds, wonderful hosts who couldn't have been kinder or more hospitable. I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herbalthyme, Owner at Thyme in the Country, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. Although the B&B and the Eco-cottage are 2 separate entities with very different amenities we offer the eco-cottage as an optional guest room when the B&B is fully booked or as an alternative, closer to nature/ farm experience type of stay. Guests staying in the eco-cottage can be assured that their impact on the environment is truly minimal as all the eco-features that you mentioned including solar hot water/electricity, organic gardening/ minimized use of petro-chemicals and fossil fuels, and recycled, reused and restored materials are all incorporated into your stay with a significantly reduced room rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

A Victorian farmhouse hidden on a peaceful farmland road. Proprietors with a genuinely warm and not intrusive, not hokey, hospitality offer an ambience of country wisdom and well-being. Our pretty, clean bedroom had three windows. A firm mattress. We enjoyed indoor and outdoor reading areas, a porch, a deck and romantic antique swings. A salt-water swimming pool area festooned with flowering bushes. Beyond that an organic vedgetable garden, various pastures with beautiful black and white cows and grazing areas for roosters and chickens. A pond with canoes. Wake up to herb scented breezes and a lemon herb cooler. A yummy organic breakfast. How did they know I really needed a fresh baked quiche with a gluten free crust? Mary and Bill think of everything. RH New York, NY

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Friends of ours recommended Thyme in the Country to us and we all went up together to celebrate a birthday. Hosts Mary and Bill couldn't be warmer or more hospitable. Mary's home-made cooking, with fresh eggs from the chicken coop (that we helped collect) and vegetables from her garden, made us smile. Breakfasts are communal and bountiful, featuring homemade breads, smoothies, crepes with jam and whipped cream, and fresh sorrel quiche to name a few. During the day there was always a plate of home-baked goods, and drinks in the fridge, with a "Help Yourself" sign on the counter. If you like being around animals, this is the place for you. Peppy the cow liked to have her neck scratched, and Mister Shivers and Cree - the family dogs - love to be petted. A path through the cow field leads to a beautiful walk in expansive meadows, past a silo, over a creek and through the woods. As eco-conscious travelers, we were thrilled to see solar panels, compost piles outside, eco-friendly bath products, home-made soap (yes, Mary makes her own soap!) and clearly-marked recycling in the kitchen. The B & B is a short drive to the town of Hudson which has enough antique shops and restaurants to keep city folk happy. The Main Street Publick House in Philmont - 2 miles in the other direction - is also good. Thyme in the Country does have WiFi; nevertheless it is a jewel of a place and a rare find in this hectic, fast-paced world. I'm sure we'll be back!

Room Tip: We loved our adjoining rooms with private bath
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satyacaroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I spent an amazing night and morning at the Thyme in the Country. This "green" B&B has solar panels, composts almost all of their trash, and are the nicest hosts I have ever had the pleasure of staying with. I automatically felt at home, and wow the breakfast, how yummy it was. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Students, and those with Hybrid cars get discount.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My family and I just enjoyed another wonderful stay at Thyme in the Country (this was our second visit). Mary and her family were so gracious and accommodating -- we really felt like we are in our own home. Highlights of the trip included drinking hot cocoa with homemade marshmallows in front of the crackling fireplace; coming home one evening to a magical candlelit snowy pathway; homemade apple pie; delicious breakfasts; and lots of wonderful tips on things to do and see in the area. This is a special place and very family friendly -- we brought our 3 yr old son with us and he had his own little feather bed right beside our bed, which all of us very happy. Thank you to the Koch family for making this past weekend a very memorable one for us!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westofthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews