We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living a Hudson River School Landscape”
Review of Mount Merino Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Merino Manor
Ranked #4 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Mt. Merino Manor enjoys a wonderfully quiet location atop wooded land overlooking the Hudson River, the Rip van Winkle Bridge, and the Catskills. A trail leads across Route 23 to nearby "Olana", the Persian-styled mansion built for Frederick Church, one of the most famous of the Hudson River School of painters in the 19th century. You are truly within a Hudson River School landscape at the Manor.
Very friendly and helpful staff, superbly furnished comfortable rooms, and many antique furnishings in the dining lounge and the game parlor. A sweeping porch is ideal for relaxation and completes the timeless resort atmosphere. Easy to get to from Hudson, which is a great place for antique shops, cafes and restaurants. Also reasonably close to the Amtrak station in Hudson, which sees reasonably good service from New York City. A perfect getaway from all the modern stresses and strains!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view west toward the Catskills are ideal. However, any room is welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ex-Buffalonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was amazed by the grace and beauty of Mount Merino Manor. Driving up to the house was incredibly inspiring and the view of the Catskills and Rip Van Winkle Bridge from Rip's Room was breathtaking. The house, the grounds, the porch and the warmth & hospitality Rita & Patrick were perfect.

The kitchenette was fully stocked with teas, coffee, water, cookies, crackers, etc...

I was in the area to photograph an article about the Hudson River School Painters - so to be in a house that Thomas Church designed and built for his personal physician was living history. Also, less than 5 minutes from Olana and 10 minutes from the village of Hudson was wonderful. A short drive to beautiful farmland of Columbia County, Farm Stands, outdoor sculpture garden Omi, the magnificent Hudson Valley estates and so much more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I got married in Hudson and chose Mount Merino Manor for our accommodations that weekend. We stayed in the Deer Run room, which was beautifully decorated. It felt and looked regal while not being over the top. The bed is very comfortable and has a warm and soft comforter and very comfortable pillows. The property itself is very pretty and a bit removed from the road. The Deer Run room has a front facing view, which is great because you look over the large lawn. Bathroom has the same view. The breakfast is fantastic! The scallion pancakes were so delicious that I wish I had stopped to ask for the recipe. The service was very friendly, but not intrusive at all. You barely saw the hosts and the property felt very private. I am very happy to have had the pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the front get a lot of light and have an awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diver4life22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Mount Merino is an elegant, friendly and relaxing B&B. Every amenity, lovely staff, and the quintessential wrap-around porch. From the deep tub, huge shower, sumptuous bed and chocolates at bedtime to the little kitchenette where you can make tea, coffee or find a snack at any hour - who could ask for more. And the views are beyond description.

Room Tip: Deer Run was perfect for me. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvelynDunphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Mount Merino was a perfect location with fantastic views of the valley. We stayed in the Blue Mountain View room on the third floor. The mattress and linens on the bed made you not want to get out of them. The shower is so large that there is a chair placed inside for your convenience.
The breakfast was very good and filling. Innkeeper was helpful in planning our day's drive as we left.
Although we only stayed the one night, we would return again.

Room Tip: As for one of the rooms on the upper floors for the stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank federal122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed in many, many bed and breakfasts, and Mount Merino Manor is our very favorite! We went there to celebrate our 30th Anniversary. While we hoped for something very special after seeing their lovely website, Mount Merino Manor was one of the few B&Bs that far exceeds the website. First, you drive up a long driveway past an extensive front lawn with a lovely old home at the top of the hill. You are greeted by Wendy, a gracious, attentive and knowledgeable woman who shows you to your room. We stayed in the Diamond Street Suite, and it was not only beautiful but also extremely comfortable. The bathroom, with it's large jacuzzi tub and a white marble shower (with multiple sprays) was terrific. The owners thought of every detail to make you feel pampered. The breakfast was spectacular! All added up to fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodLovers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a beautiful house, very clean & well kept on the inside. But fell short in several regards of what I consider the criteria to be a Select Registry. The gardens around the house have been let go & we were greeted by weeds. The innkeeper was very friendly & accommodating but no one ever offered to help with our bags (usually a given), the mattress was atrociously loud & uncomfortable. Most inns of this caliber have fresh baked good available in the afternoon or a wide assortment of snacks left out for guests or a little wine & cheese in the evening.... Though not here.
The owners never introduced themselves, though were helping in the kitchen for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirl0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hudson hotels
2.6 mi away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#2 of 3 in Hudson
99 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tiger House: The Inn at Hudson
2.5 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 17 in Hudson
59 reviews
2.4 mi away
Batterby House
Batterby House
#7 of 17 in Hudson
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Merino Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Merino Manor

Address: 4317 State Route 23, Hudson, NY 12534-9542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of Mount Merino Manor, a luxury Bed and Breakfast in a private country setting. Drive through the stone pillars to experience a sense of history. This New York Bed and Breakfast is a neighbor to Olana State Historic Site and just minutes to Hudson, New York. Sitting on a lush hilltop, surrounded by 100-acres of shaded woodlands, this stately Victorian has magnificent views of the Catskill Mountains and Hudson River. The Inn is home to seven spacious guest rooms and suites. Beautiful views, candle-lit fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and spa-jetted showers make this Bed and Breakfast ideal for a romantic getaway. Innkeepers Rita and Patrick Birmingham invite you to share these tranquil surroundings and enjoy the Hudson Valley region that is so rich in New York history, culture and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Merino Manor Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing