We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views”
Review of Mount Merino Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Merino Manor
Ranked #4 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Mount Merino was a perfect location with fantastic views of the valley. We stayed in the Blue Mountain View room on the third floor. The mattress and linens on the bed made you not want to get out of them. The shower is so large that there is a chair placed inside for your convenience.
The breakfast was very good and filling. Innkeeper was helpful in planning our day's drive as we left.
Although we only stayed the one night, we would return again.

Room Tip: As for one of the rooms on the upper floors for the stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank federal122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed in many, many bed and breakfasts, and Mount Merino Manor is our very favorite! We went there to celebrate our 30th Anniversary. While we hoped for something very special after seeing their lovely website, Mount Merino Manor was one of the few B&Bs that far exceeds the website. First, you drive up a long driveway past an extensive front lawn with a lovely old home at the top of the hill. You are greeted by Wendy, a gracious, attentive and knowledgeable woman who shows you to your room. We stayed in the Diamond Street Suite, and it was not only beautiful but also extremely comfortable. The bathroom, with it's large jacuzzi tub and a white marble shower (with multiple sprays) was terrific. The owners thought of every detail to make you feel pampered. The breakfast was spectacular! All added up to fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodLovers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a beautiful house, very clean & well kept on the inside. But fell short in several regards of what I consider the criteria to be a Select Registry. The gardens around the house have been let go & we were greeted by weeds. The innkeeper was very friendly & accommodating but no one ever offered to help with our bags (usually a given), the mattress was atrociously loud & uncomfortable. Most inns of this caliber have fresh baked good available in the afternoon or a wide assortment of snacks left out for guests or a little wine & cheese in the evening.... Though not here.
The owners never introduced themselves, though were helping in the kitchen for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirl0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I were delighted to check into Mount Merino Manor, after a long day of driving and an okay inn the night before. Such attention to detail!! Every appointment has been carefully selected---to great effect!! Our room was lovely, and everything we needed had been thought of. The beds, bedding and pillows made for luscious sleeping. The robes, divine!
Breakfast was delicious.....as was our dinner at the recommended restaurant in Hudson, Swoon. Everything about the experience, from booking to checkout was easy----all personnel, friendly and helpful. We are picky....but this is a place we would definitely recommend......and if we get back that way, will look forward to staying at, again.

Olana is very close----also a treat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Recently stayed at Mount Merino for a girls' weekend getaway. We stayed in the Blue Mountain View room and it was *fabulous*! The bed was possibly the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and the large soaking tub was the perfect addition to the rainforest shower. Between the amenities and the view, I didn't even want to leave the room! The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the Manor is a short drive or cab ride ($10 fare one way) into Hudson. The Manor has a guest kitchen that has coffee and tea at all hours and sometimes snacks. If there were one suggestion for an addition, I'd say that either an honor bar or an afternoon cocktail service would be a great plus for those hours between sightseeing and dinner reservations. All in all, well worth the money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaGirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had heard good things about the Manor and were not disappointed. Courteous and helpfull staff. Breakfasts were great and the staff cheerfully accommodated my daughter's dietary needs. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimy32301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was a super find - The setting is splendid up on a knoll, decorated nicely with lovely antiques. The bedroom was comfortable with a view and such a large bathroom area! We did think the walls are a bit 'thin' hearing someone next door. We had to leave very early the next morning and the girls left us with coffee and food to help ourselves, until one came in to say hello and asked us if we needed anything. They were both were very polite. We would definitely stay here and again.

Room Tip: look at their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hudson hotels
2.6 mi away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#2 of 3 in Hudson
99 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tiger House: The Inn at Hudson
2.6 mi away
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
2.5 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#5 of 17 in Hudson
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Merino Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Merino Manor

Address: 4317 State Route 23, Hudson, NY 12534-9542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of Mount Merino Manor, a luxury Bed and Breakfast in a private country setting. Drive through the stone pillars to experience a sense of history. This New York Bed and Breakfast is a neighbor to Olana State Historic Site and just minutes to Hudson, New York. Sitting on a lush hilltop, surrounded by 100-acres of shaded woodlands, this stately Victorian has magnificent views of the Catskill Mountains and Hudson River. The Inn is home to seven spacious guest rooms and suites. Beautiful views, candle-lit fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and spa-jetted showers make this Bed and Breakfast ideal for a romantic getaway. Innkeepers Rita and Patrick Birmingham invite you to share these tranquil surroundings and enjoy the Hudson Valley region that is so rich in New York history, culture and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Merino Manor Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing