We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howe Caverns Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Howes Cave
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Countryside Inn(Richmondville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The American Hotel(Sharon Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelers Inn(Sharon Springs)
View Hotel
Budget Inn(Sharon Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Palatine Motel(Palatine Bridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
47
58
19
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
58
19
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily suitecave touradventure parkdish networktraditional tourroom was cleanoutdoor poolmicrowave and fridgeshort driveplenty of hot watertvsinkscarpetaccommodationsproximity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 144 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Hard to find a decent place to eat out here. The room was small but nice. We took the lantern tour package. Was worth it for the price. We stopped at a little diner near another hotel. Will not eat there again if we go. The Price was high and the food was terrible

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We (my 5 year old daughter and I) stayed in that motel overnight during the weekend trip to the caves. We liked it a lot. They accommodated our early arrival and gave us a room at 9 am. The room was clean with working AC, refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. The bathroom is big, clean and looks recently renovated. They have a swing set/slide unit outdoors. The view in front of the motel is beautiful with lots of space for kids to play, roll and run barefooted in the grass. 2 min run down the hill will bring you to the cows in the fields. My daughter went running down and up the hill in the evening and then in the morning – just to “say” good night and good morning to them. ;-) She even petted one of them that came to the fence greeting her.
We’d definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

During the Fall, finding a nice place to stay in upstate NY under $300 is a hard thing to do. This motel is basic, however basic doesn't mean bad. It is a fair price and you get a nice room and clean bathroom. An outstanding feature is the view of the rolling fields, especially breathtaking in the Autumn. If you stay at this motel, it is not necessary to visit the famous caves which are on the same property. However, you may want to do this, especially if you are traveling with children. There is also a restaurant and gift shop at this location. Book far ahead, this small motel fills quickly.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beth84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in Cobleskill to visit my in-laws. We have stayed at Howes Cavern Motel in the past but were pleased to see that it is being renovated and repainted. As usual, our room was clean, everything in good working order and very comfortable. It is a great value, with reasonable rates compared to other hotels in the area. We will be returning again in June and plan to stay there again. Yes, there are not a lot of great dining opportunities in the area; Cobleskill is a pretty depressed area, you need to travel to Albany or fine dining.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank empresskareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!! I recently spent the night at this motel and was bitten by bugs when in bed. Management did not help at all and forced us to stay in the infested room!!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rascalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweCaverns, General Manager at Howe Caverns Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2009

This complaint is not valid. The Motel Manager and General Manager both thoroughly inspected the room and found no bugs. This room was occupied by 8 college students on a school trip. There were two people per bed and no one else complained about being bit by bugs, including the complainant's bed mate. The complainant and friends were not forced to stay in the room as it was not reported to management until just prior to check out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews