We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A true disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

I generally try to stay at Holiday Inn Express's. This hotel does not live up to the brand.
The people were friendly, the location is good, and the room was reasonably clean.
That said, it is an old hotel and the bathroom is very cramped. The toilet is tiny. No wireless and the plug-in ethernet wouldn't work. The air conditioning did not work. It does have a working window, but being next to the interstate, that only invites in noise. I would not stay here again - especially at the standard rates.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    55
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
45
35
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Everything was great! Checking in, getting luggage to room, layout of room, cleanliness, bed comfort, bathroom/shower, etc. etc. was really nice. Because we had the Priority Card, we had a 2 pm check out time. When we rolled our luggage cart to the car, the staff was right there to take it back into the hotel. Staff was excellent. Running out of superlatives... Hope you got the idea that this was a good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan_in_Balto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
265 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Right by I-86, the convenience to the Expressway is lost if you need quiet to sleep. The Expressway goes all night long. Mediocre is the operative word. Nothing outstanding, just the bland predictability that I find in hotel after hotel. That said, I stayed here so I could get a good night's sleep. Because of the Expressway noise, I did not get the only thing I wanted from the place. Thus, I won't recommend it and won't go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb_organic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Horseheads hotels

PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one night this week. I frequently stay at Holiday Inn properties & must say that this one was a disappointment. The accomodations were below average & to add insult to injury, the standard room rate was $169.00 per night, or $190 total inc. taxes. I would have expected this hotel to be an $85.00 per night hotel. I would certainly not recommend it at the $169 per night rate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaErie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

My girlfriend and I decided to explore the Finger Lakes region as a last minute Labor Day weekend getaway. We were hoping to stay in Watkins Glen or along Seneca Lake but everything was either way too expensive or booked. Being a Priority Club member with Holiday Inn Express we decided to stay at the one in Horseheads which is 17 miles south of there.
We stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. Upon first glance the building seems a little dated (I'm guessing they renovated an older property when they made it a HI Express) but the inside is great and our room was beautiful. We had a comfortable king bed and a nice flatscreen television to watch, with a surprisingly large selection of channels to choose from.
The staff was very friendly, everyone went out of their way to say hello whenever we passed them. Every morning we took advantage of the complimentary continental breakfast, basically the same as every other Holiday Inn Express, with a nice selection of hot and cold items, coffee, and juices.
The hotel location proved to be a in a good location for exploring the area. The 17 mile drive up to Watkins Glen goes by quickly, and you're by Seneca Lake or Watkins Glen State Park in what seems like no time. On our third day we decided to check out Ithaca and Cayuga Lake, and that was only 40 minutes from the hotel. The highway is also right off Interstate 86 so you can easily go east or west, it doesn't seem like Niagara Falls is too far from there but because you now need a passport to go into Canada we decided not to go.
All in all we loved our time at this hotel. I would definitely recommend it for others and would stay there again if we ever had back that way. They even have a noon checkout, my favorite!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RutherfordtheBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

I was traveling for business and stayed here 4 nights. They were fully booked during the time I was there. The desk staff, housekeeping and breakfast bar staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The room was comfortable, and linens, carpet, and furniture fresh and clean. The location was convenient, but its proximity to the highway made using the outdoor pool less attractive (however it didn't seem to bother any of the kids using it :-) ). The staff provided a list of suggested restaurants that included several that were locally owned and excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed here for one night while passing through. I am a rewards member and was upgraded to a king room and given a little goody bag with snacks and bottled water. A nice touch! The hotel has apparently been remodeled and is clean and very nicely decorated. The only negative is that the bathroom is still the small bathroom that was standard when the hotel was built, but it has been nicely redone (counter, tub, floor, etc....)Just not room enough for two people to be in there at once. Although it was right next to a major road, there was no noise at all in the room! Breakfast was fine. We didn't use and can't comment on things like a business center, pool, fitness center. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmujmumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Horseheads hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
#6 of 11 in Horseheads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads

Property: Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
Address: 2666 Corning Rd., Horseheads, NY 14845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Horseheads Hotel is centrally located to Elmira, Corning and Watkins Glen. Our Horseheads hotel is just minutes away from the National Soaring Museum, the Wings of Eagles Discovery Center, the Corning Museum of Glass, Watkins Glen International Racetrack, the First Arena, the Arnot Mall and many Finger Lakes Wineries. Nestled in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, you ll find that our conveniently located Holiday Inn Express Horseheads Hotel will make the most of your valuable business and leisure time. The Holiday Inn Express Horseheads hotel is a 99 room, 2-floor indoor corridor hotel. The hotel offers every morning our free Express Start breakfast with hot items. All hotel guest rooms are equipped with free wired high-speed Internet & voice mail. We also offer a seasonal outdoor pool (open Memorial Day through Labor Day) & 24-hour exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads Hotel Horseheads
Holiday Inn Horseheads
Horseheads Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing