We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louies Hanover Square

Louies Hanover Square
Ranked #2 of 74 Restaurants in Horseheads
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I love finding "small gems" as I travel, and this week I had a chance to find Louies based on TripAdvisor ratings. I'm so glad we did.

The family and I had dinner and lunch there over two days. Both times, the service was good, and the food was very tasty.

For dinner we shared a pizza. It was a thin-crusted pizza with a slightly salty sauce and fresh basil, but that overall was very good. We had planned on taking back most of it to the hotel, but ended up eating all of it -- it was that good.

For lunch the next day, we had a chicken wrap and a "Philly Cheese" wrap, which both came with a small side of pasta salad. Again -- fresh, warm, tasty -- very, very good.

The usual wine/beer list that you might find in restaurants is available. Some local focus on certain regional wines and beers make the pairings potentially interesting.

Dessert for us was the "Ultimate Chocolate Cake" that was a combination of chocolate icing, cake, and chocolate mouse, with whipped cream along the side of the plate. It was just right, and with a cup of their excellent coffee, was memorable.

Parking is available on the streets surrounding the restaurant, and there are no parking meters. Reservations are recommended as there are only about 13 tables or so.

So if you are in the area and want really good food with an Italian focus, in a small mom and pop restaurant environment, for a reasonable price, this is an excellent choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DieselDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    54
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit of the Big City in Horseheads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I made a reservation and enjoyed a romantic dinner at Louies for Valentine's Day.This little cafe's efficient interior warmed by a rustic brick wall reminds one of the best small eateries in Manhattan. Every table and booth has a broad view of the busy center of the village. We each selected a different specialty entree created for the holiday and were hard-pressed to decide which was the most delicious. Atmosphere was romantic with a real red rose in a bud vase on each table. While other couples were obviously there to celebrate, several families with small children seemed to have a good time as well. Service was prompt, but we did not feel at all rushed. Many other diners selected pizza. All looked and smelled so wonderful that we plan to go back soon to try one ourselves.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LibrarianOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseheads, ny
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love Louie's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We love this place. Located right on Hanover Square in Horseheads this is a nice restaurant where you can get a sandwich, pizza or a great dinner. Love the atmosphere and staff are great. Definitely recommend it. Perfect for a date night dinner or just a good cup of coffee with a friend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dcbush41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Rustic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Louies is not a white-tablecloth Italian restaurant, but if you are looking for great pizza, paninis, salads, it is a go-to destination. My sister lives in town, and the whole family has been eating here for years. They have catered events at my sister's with great food at reasonable cost. My sister-in-law from Michigan makes a bee-line for a pizza the minute they arrive in town! My 90-year-old mother also loves to eat here.

A nice selection of (bottled) specialty beers and ales complements the food.

Service is always excellent, efficient and friendly.

Can be a little noisy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SEAsiaVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express after a day at the Keuka lake wineries and visited this restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews. Our party of three unanimously agrees with the many favorable comments. We each tried a different house specialty and all were delicious and filling. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank mikeandjoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louies Hanover Square also viewed

Horseheads, Finger Lakes
 
Horseheads, Finger Lakes
Horseheads, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Louies Hanover Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing