We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Take Out”
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Horseheads
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Trent Hills, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great Take Out”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We were staying across the street and decided to enjoy our hotel room and get take out. Our order took 25 minutes to prepare and one vegetable side item was not included. Apart from that the food was great and for two full meals under $20 it can't be beat. The grilled fish was particularly good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GuinnessBoy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
670 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Just outdated”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This chain in general is just outdated.. Bad mashed potatoes, anything but breakfast is just not good food,, and breakfast is in need of serious updating..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonny_circumvehor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-W
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Country style”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It's nice to have a restaurant out there that isn't cut from the same mold as dozens of other chain restaurants out there (after a while, all of the Bennigans, TGIFridays, Perkins, Caseys, etc. start to blur together and seem the same), and they consistently serve good quality food that feels healthy enough.

All four of us enjoyed our meals as they were brought to us quickly and were hot and went down easily. The only issue was the bacon for two of us had too much fat on it and might be a little undercooked and the muffin that came with my meal was obviously not fresh. Still, I'd give the whole meal a thumbs up and the server we had was excellent and quick to respond whenever we wanted something.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pb630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good as usual”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went here passing through. The food was very hot coming out of the kitchen, the biscuits seemed a little on the staler side. Service was good, but we were one of the few in the place at 730 on a Sunday

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmckim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Consistency...”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This chain is like McDonalds in that you know what to expect, and they deliver. Stopped with another couple while in the area. The servers seem to be cut from the same mold. Pleasant, efficient, friendly. My shrimp were served with mashed potatoes and broccoli. I asked for extra lemon and got it immediately. Wife had the Sunday chicken special. She thoroughly enjoyed it and was given the water she always orders very promptly. We usually have alcohol with dinner, but Cracker Barrel does not serve it. So when we were done, I could afford to pick up the whole tab and be money ahead. I should try this more often. :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

Horseheads, Finger Lakes
Horseheads, Finger Lakes
 
Horseheads, Finger Lakes
 
Horseheads, Finger Lakes
Horseheads, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing