We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, Affordable Motel near the Wineries” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Indiana, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great, Affordable Motel near the Wineries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We just returned from a weekend couples "wine-tasting" getaway to the Finger Lake region of NY and stayed at this hotel. It was extremely affordable (less than $100/night, including taxes - for KING suite rooms), clean rooms, nice set-up in the King Suites, a lot of nice restaurants within a short distance, free breakfast, beds were comfortable, and close to Cayuga Lake - which is the lake we were touring. The pool looked nice, but since we didn't have any kids along, we didn't swim. We did hang out for hours in the evening on the hotel's front porch, the weather was perfect for that. The lady at the front desk was extremely helpful & friendly when we asked for some pizza recommendations in the area that would deliver for our large group. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michjome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb N, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira), responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and thank you for the wonderful feedback. It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers. We greatly appreciate your recognition and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Horseheads area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    117
    59
    19
    19
See reviews for
173
113
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times but this past time will most likely be the last time. This property is in serious needs of some updating. Mostly just the usual wear and tear. The thing that bothered us the most was the breakfast buffet. No coffee, no orange juice or no milk. And that was on the first day that we stayed there. They did make more coffee but didn't bother to even try and get more milk. The hostess acknowledge that there was no more milk and walked away. The breakfast area is very small and was VERY crowded! Either do breakfast "all the way" or not at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MotorcycleMamaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb N, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira), responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We are sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. It appears that we definitely failed when it comes to great customer service. Our staff and I reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue that you addressed. Again, we are terribly sorry that your stay with the Country Inn and suites was not a good one, but invite you to give us another try. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience for our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level Contributor
245 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

stayed at country inns before but this place is top of their line.....upon arrival was offerred comp 1 bed room suite......room is beautiful and front desk service is outstanding ecven called room to ask how tghings were......stayed here for 3 day mini vacation of finger lakes.....this is a perfect location for day trips to each of the nearby lakes seneca ans cayuga and don't forget corning is 20 minutes away.....so perfect location to tour from...there rates are better than nearby hotels and the breakfast is great and plentiful.....have no fear about fine dining...no need to travel far plenty of great places in horseheads and elmira......recommend highly and will return......thanks to a great staff

Room Tip: aviod rooms right by elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb N, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira), responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback. It is always wonderful nto hear from out valued guests and appreciate your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel chain I normally stay in, down the road from this hotel, didn't have great reviews. We wanted a pool and free breakfast. This hotel was cheaper than the other options around and was clean and comfortable. The service was great as well. Lots of restaurant options in the area. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahSalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb N, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira), responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and thank you for your feedback. I is always wonderful to hear from our valued customers and appreciate you continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
228 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Because of work we have decided on this hotel to use as our preferred stop over, and since the last visit nothing has changed, still a great stay. Fresh baked cookies, great breakfast and excellent rooms with high speed internet, a truly great stay and very affordable. A pool and fitness center adds to the stay.

Room Tip: families are welcome as there were a few on this stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb N, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira), responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for the wonderful comments. We love our repeat guests: Thank you for your continued loyalty and patronage, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here using a coupon from the hotel coupon guide you pick up on the highway rest stop.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. Any question or request was filled beyond expectations. The room was very comfortable, though the garbage can in the main room hadn't been emptied.

The beds were comfortable, the pillow was a bit hard for me to sleep with, but the overall experience was great. I was happy to stay here. This is not our first time to stay in this hotel chain, though the first time at this location.

The breakfast buffet was well stocked and the staff keep it maintained though it gets busy in there. I am very grateful for that.

I like the 24 hour tea and coffee service.

I would stay here again or any other location in this brand.

Room Tip: We did request a particular room on a particular floor and it was available, so they were very helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb N, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira), responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate you business and look forward to your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a great Travelers hotel. Full size fridge and above range micro wave. Great proximity to the mall and the interstate. Great price and friendly staff. This will be my go-to hotel while in the area and will look for this brand more often while traveling to other locations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbennett728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb N, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira), responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. We appreciate your business and strive to make each and every stay as memorable as possible. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Horseheads hotels
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
#4 of 11 in Horseheads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
Address: 105 E Mall Rd, Horseheads, NY 14845-9009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira) 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to invite you to a warm and cozy hotel in the horseheads area located next to arnot mall lot's of shopping and great places to have dinner. We are in the beautiful Fingerlakes region! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats Hotel Horseheads
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Big Flats
Country Inn Horseheads
Horseheads Country Inn
Country Inn Big Flats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing