We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just traveled to upstate New York for a family reunion and stayed in this hotel. We arrived at the hotel after our 10 hour drive and were allowed to check in early. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a very nice 1 King Bed suite. It contained a refrigerator/freezer with ice maker, microwave, cook-top, dishwasher as well as about every utensil you would need for cooking. They even had a bag of un-popped Microwave popcorn sitting in the microwave if we wanted to watch a movie. The TV was a nice 37 inch flat-screen and they also had a DVD player in the room. The cable was being converted to Hi-Def the day we got there but there was no interruption in our service. The bed was clean and comfortable and as a person with chronic back problems was able to sleep well every night. The bathroom was very nice with granite counters and a hair dryer. The hotel also had board games like Monopoly, Chess, Checkers and the like that you could check out as well as DVD movies to borrow for the night. This hotel is close to Arnot Mall, as well as Target, Best buy, Wal-mart as well as a host of other stores that would be able to meet any needs you might need. I would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites. We appreciate all of your positive remarks about us. It's always a pleasure knowing that we were able to make our guest's stay a memorable one. We look forward to our future visits with us. Once again we thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Upon checking in at 945pm we were greeted by a grumpy desk clerk. Her shift ended at 11pm and by her composure and disposition it appeared as she had been working in a coal mine for a year.
My mistake was i booked the room through Expedia..which garantees you receive the worst room in the hotel(regardless of what requests you make in advance or if the hotel is empty)
We were treated to room 112 which is 10 inches from the elevator and 3feet from the lobby. We asked to move and after a gruff comment got moved to an elevator room on 3.
Hotel is ok.. But thats it. Near the mall, convenient in its location and quiet area.
Remember... No housekeeping. No pool. No breakfast no garbage pick up in your room no new towels. You can however get towels at the desk..assume you bring your dirty ones back... And take your own garbage out. If you need to save money this way i would suggest not going on holiday.
Did like the internet access. It was fast and stayed on all night vs having to log in after 2 hours.

One final thought for the hotel if they do read this.... Regardless of whether a person books a room on expedia, trip advisor or direct through the hotel, you should treat people the same. They are customers and in many cases are "trying you out". If you penalize me on purpose for not going to your website then you dont understand how commerce works and wont last long.
If i can convince 1 person to think twice before going to this hotel, then Im one happy traveller.
Thus ends my rant. :)

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank travelcato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share you comments regarding your recent stay at the Candlewood. I apologize you felt that your accommodation were less than satisfactory. Because the Candlewood is also an extended stay property - the chain - not the individual hotel sets forth various standards that we must follow. Some of those standards dictate the frequency of housekeeping service, no breakfast, no pool etc. As a hotel - we do not assign rooms based on who made the reservation (i.e Expedia) We do have a number of long term guests in the hotel which does decrease the options that a transient traveler may have. Again my apologies you felt that you got the worst room in the hotel.

As far as your check in experience - again im sorry that you felt it was not satisfactory. I stand by my team 100% and the hotel has received awards for customer service. Everyone has bad days - but I felt it unnecessary to state that you felt she had been working in a coal mine for a year.

If you would like to discuss your stay with me on a personal level please feel free to contact me -directly at the hotel. -607-873-7676

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Recently spent two weeks there....
There is a high volume of younger, blue collar workers who stay there relating to the energy boom that is presently going on in this area. Although the hotel seems newer, my bed already had the permanent depression in the mattress area where most quests preferred to sleep in. I had to move to an upper floor after a few days as it sounded like a morbidly obese tap dancing class was going on above me, every night and every morning. The common hallways never seemed clean enough to me. The worst feature of this facility is the TV system. It is BY FAR THE WORST I have ever come across in any of the hundreds of hotels that I have lived in. I constantly had to reset it, mute it, wait for it to respond....it is quite simply AWFUL!!! (It was bad in both of my rooms!) Overall it is an average facility. The staff is very nice. The work out area is very good, and the laundry facility is free! It is nicely located to major highways, the mall, and to a wide variety of restaurants. No breakfast is served at this hotel. Other hotels are nearby and if you are willing to spend a few extra bucks per night, it might be a better choice...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrusareviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear mrusareviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed with the family at the Candlewood Suites in Elmira while visiting to attend a wedding. The room was advertised as a studio. It had high ceilings and the feel of a roomy studio apartment. There was a fully functional, clean kitchenette with all the trimmings, including dishes, glasses, silverware, dish soap, towels, a full size refrigerator, coffee maker, etc. There was a large closet, a good size bath room, a working desk, comfortable arm chair. The queen size beds were extremely comfortable - good mattresses and pillows.

This is a great place for both a stop-over or an extended stay. Very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_M48406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

There's no shortage of name brand hotels in the area, but this one had the lowest rates and good TA reviews. We were not disappointed. Nice rooms and none of that stupid carbohydrate-"free breakfast" crap. They have a small "store" off the lobby where you can buy snacks, drinks and everything up to microwavable meals.

If driving, use your GPS as this hotel is not listed on the highway signs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east for most peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron06820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Cameron06820,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know we were able to meet your expectations during your stay. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my family. We loved the kitchen area, which came in very handy. I didn't mind not having the usual continental breakfast, but I did miss a pool. The workout area was more than adequate. My only disappointment was there was no soap provided. I don't think I've ever stayed at a motel, large chain or small privately owned motel that didn't provide soap (or shampoo). There was none for sale in their "Candlewood Cupboard" either. Just thought that was a little odd. Fortunately, there are enough stores close by (as I didn't pack any soap thinking I wouldn't need any).

Overall, I would certainly recommend this place. Just bring your own soap. ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose21461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The room was very spacious, well appointed, and comfortable. All of the front desk staff we had contact with was very courteous and helpful. The Area Sales Manager(Kathy Taylor) gave us some absolutely outstanding suggestions for restaurants. One was fine dining in Corning NY, and other was a family run Italian restaurant in Horseheads. Both provided outstanding dinners. Kathy also made arrangements for an upgrade for the reservation we had for the following night in Olean, NY, as that Best Western was run by the same management company that ran the Candlewood Suites. She really went out of her way to make things enjoyable for us. If you stay here, ask for Kathy to help you. This was our first time at a Candlewood Suites, and based on this experience, we will definitely be staying in their hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENNIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Horseheads hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Big Flats (Elmira), NY
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
#6 of 11 in Horseheads
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads

Address: 198 Colonial Dr, Horseheads, NY 14845-8531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Price Range: $79 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was carefully designed to meet the needs of guest staying long periods of time. The fully-equipped kitchen, spacious work area, and even the comfortable recliner have all been designed with you in mind. Plus, we have a variety of signature amenities that enable you to live, work and relax according to your schedule, not ours.Even if you are with us for just a couple of nights, we hope you find that our commitment to your comfort makes your life on the road a little easier.Candlewood Suites is near to Sikorsky, Corning Inc, Elmira College, Watkins Glen international Race Track, Fingerlakes Wine country, Corning Musuem of Glass, National Soaring Museum and many more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing