We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will never stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will never stay here again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family and I decided to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn for our one night in Watkins Glen. We put all our luggage in our room and noticed a terrible smell. My husband went to the front desk to complain and came back with a key to another room. It took 3 trips to get all our luggage into our new room and we were asked by the manager if the new room was okay (he didn't help us move, of course). The new room smelled like bleach, so we said yes. We later found out that the room smelled like bleach because there was a pool under our room. When we bent over to pick things up, we realized the carpet is what stunk. My husband later asked the desk clerk for a discount on our bill, but she was clueless and just told him she'd ask the manager. Apparently, she didn't do this, because we ended up paying full price. Also, aside from the smell, the bathroom was pretty disgusting as well. I was really disgusted when I glanced at the lotion bottle the hotel provides and it was only half full. We couldn't leave this hotel soon enough! We were very disappointed in our stay and were very thankful we'd told the front desk we needed just one night. If you're staying in the area, there are a few hotels that look pretty nice. I can't recommend this one at all, unless you like living in someone else's filth for a pretty high price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Elmira_Corning, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the unpleasant smell during your stay and we are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    132
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
142
132
13
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed overnight in a suite. The hotel's entrance is gorgeous, the restaurant is actually very nice, the food is great, the service is quality, and our stay went without any problems. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Devin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed for one night and the hotel room was very nice, clean and well appointed. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and breakfast the next morning. The restaurant was busy for dinner but the wait staff was very friendly, helpful and worked so well together. The food was good and it made for a very nice evening for my family and I. We decided to go back to the restaurant for breakfast and were not disappointed. We were again treated very well and had another waitress who was just as friendly and helpful as the waitress from dinner. Shout out to both our exceptional waitress Danielle and Brenda for making our stay enjoyable and memorable :) We will be sure to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn again on our travels to upstate NY.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Comfortable, Relaxing and home feeling entire staff was wonderful. Would recommend for business and pleasure staff and accommodations are very good. You will find what you need with a very friendly staff. The rooms are cozy and have a refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Overall hotel was nice. great lobby, pool and fitness center. room was clean and fresh. Restaurant food was great but the server we had was awful. I paid my bill in cash and was never given my change back. It wasn't much change maybe 2 dollars. I was planning on giving her a tip but she never game me my change. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pocono lake, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Took a tour of the wine country around Seneca Lake. This motel was very well located for this activity. We also toured the Corning Glass Museum. Again, this motel is excellently locted for this. We came with a group and the motel accommodated us by putting the group in adjoining rooms. They also went out of their way to arrange for the group to sit together for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good service, very good food, wish they had a free breakfast of some sort. Rooms were lovely, grounds nice. The pool had too much chlorine & Jacuzzi was too cool. Restaurant service was adequate drinks were adequate for the price. Appetizers were good. I slept like a rock. AC & fan worked well. I will definitely use this motel here or else where. I hope I have said enough time to go to work, I am a farmer and it was a nice treat to myself to stay at the Hilton Gardens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horseheads
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
#6 of 11 in Horseheads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
9.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
9.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Radisson Hotel Corning
#1 of 6 in Corning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Address: 35 Arnot Rd, Horseheads, NY 14845-8533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great customer service and a warm hospitable environment greet you at the Hilton Garden Inn Elmira/Corning. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool, or work out in our exercise room. Enjoy a delicious meal at our Great American Grill restaurant or in our Ernie Davis Lounge. Open daily. Computer access available in our business center. Conveniently located in the heart of the Finger Lakes Region. Minutes from Watkins Glen, golf, shopping, wineries and local area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning Hotel Horseheads
Hilton Garden Inn Horseheads
Hilton Horseheads
Horseheads Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing