We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't rave enough about this hotel - points off for breakfast, though...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't rave enough about this hotel - points off for breakfast, though...”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel has probably the best quality of furnishings and window treatments I've seen at this price range $130-$140. From the nice thick carpet, to the dresser, the bench and desk, the beds and the tile in the bathroom as well as the sink and countertop, everything looked brand new and was in super clean condition. I know that because there was a sticky note above both our beds to tell us so. :) There was a microwave and fridge (also clean). The room was large! They should include two night tables, so that each table is closer to each bed -- that's how much room is in there. You could comfortable fit another double bed with space around it between the two beds there. If you like firm beds, this is the hotel for you.

Service was good and staff very friendly. The breakfast area was really nicely set up, though the first day's breakfast options - soggy omellets and awful egg and cheese mini bagels left a lot to be desired. The next day, they were back in business with good ole scrambled eggs and sausage as well as waffles, fruit assortment, yogurt, toast, bagels, etc. The pool was a nice warm temperature, but not too warm to not be at least a little refreshing and the hottub was good, too, though it seems like hottubs aren't really hot anymore. It was nice to sit in it after a long day of visiting Dartmouth and touring Ithaca. What a beautiful area.

We played around at the gym for a bit. Even though our room was steps from the elevator, we didn't hear a lot of noise. The tv reception was a little off, though. Not sure why. This hotel is next to a mall and many many other shops. Everything you needs is just a block or two away. Great location! Would definitely stay here again!

Green Features: They do request that you hang towels up if you don't want them cleaned during your stay.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvdatropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is always great to know we have exceeded your expectations. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads. Hope to see you back with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    137
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
225
185
23
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel definitely met and surpassed my experience. Easy check in and easy check out! The complimentary WiFi was definitely a bonus! The beds were soft, the room was overall clean (props to the cleaning staff). I only stayed one night but I would definitely return based on my great experience. I would certainly recommend persons to stay at this hotel if it is in the vicinity of where you need to be, because the location isn't really popular. I myself stayed here because of the closeness to a college I was checking out. Also, I never got the opportunity to use the gym or the pool, but I saw many patrons using it so I'd assume it's great as well :) -Happy Customer

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your great review with the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads. We strive to provide outstanding customer service for our guest during their stay. I hope you come back to stay with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Alot of choices in the area for eating and shopping. 30 miles from Ithaca College which was our destination. Good value for price paid. Includes breakfast which included make your own waffles. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for great review with the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads. I'm thrilled to know we exceeded your expectations with your recent stay and you enjoyed our breakfast. We are just a short distance from Ithaca. We hope you stay with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel is either newer or renovated because it is in excellent condition. I overnighted here on a trip to the east and this was a nice Hampton Inn for a good night's sleep. Comfortable beds and comfortable, clean rooms. For an overnight, it's a good exit of I-86. There's an Outback steakhouse right around the corner, a Ruby Tuesday and a nice mall with a Macy's, Sears, Bon-Ton, etc. right across the street. There's other restaurants as well. If you are staying in the area or just passing through, this is a good choice of hotel. Staff is very friendly and breakfast is ok, standard average Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Top floor quietest
See more room tips
Green Features: LEED Certified. Nice recycling, water conservation program
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A2Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads. We pride ourselves on outstanding customer service and cleaniness. I'm happy to hear your had a wonderful stay with us!! We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I've come to see Hampton Inn as our stop of choice when traveling. We had not been at this one previously, so came without a reservation on our drive home. The price was reasonable, the room was clean, the breakfast options were good, though not outstanding. They have been very predictable, which is what you want.

Green Features: They don't have recycling bins in the rooms; some hotels do.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusty_Archivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads. We pride ourselves with outstanding service and cleaniness!!! We hope to see you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piercefield
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We traveled to the Elmira area for a college visit. Hotel is relatively new. Check in was good. Rooms are nice with dark, rich colors. Beds were quite comfortable with 4 pillows per bed. Bathroom was roomy with nice toiletries. The hotel was fairly quiet. That being said, at night you could hear sounds from the neighboring rooms and you could hear water/shower use in neighboring rooms. Our friends visited the pool and said it was nice as well. Breakfast in the morning was also good, with many choices. Free parking and wifi. My one complaint was that the lobby always smelled funny.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves on great customer service and being clean. We hope you come back and stay with us again to visit the Elmira College soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The facility appeared to be quite new, with very nice rooms, extremely clean and comfortable. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Check in and check out were very easy. The free breakfast was fine, although the coffee was only lukewarm, but is an unusual occurrence at Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads. We pride ourselves on outstanding customer service and cleaniness. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Horseheads hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
#6 of 11 in Horseheads
77 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads

Property: Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
Address: 51 Arnot Rd, Horseheads, NY 14845-8533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn by Hilton Elmira Horseheads is located in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region of New York. Nestled in the gorgeous hills between Southern New York and Northern Pennsylvania, we are the Soaring Capital of America. All within minutes of wine country, museums, shopping, state parks and outstanding restaurants, the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads 101 room, 100% non-smoking, Silver LEED certified, complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi is truly the place to stay. Whether its taking a trolley ride through Mark Twain Country, watching a race at Watkins Glen International, visiting a Civil War Reenactment or Revolutionary War sites, make your own glass piece at the Corning Glass Museum or visit the many wineries. Or simply relax by our indoor pool and whirlpool. There is always something to do when you stay at the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads Hotel Horseheads

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing