We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Always our #1 choice when staying in the area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always our #1 choice when staying in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here several times when visiting the area.

Service is always great. Breakfast choices are decent. Rooms are clean. Housekeeping always does such a great job. They even prop up the kids stuffed animals each day. The kids got a kick out of seeing their pets sitting up on the sofa like little people.

We tried leaving a tip twice and kept finding it placed neatly on the desk with other loose change he/she found when cleaning. Finally had to leave a note to say, "please accept this tip...". When we returned we found a very nice Thank You card.

Also a very easy walk to the Hilton if you'd like to enjoy a drink or appetizer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VaReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank You for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads. We pride ourselves on great customer service and being clean. Thank you for taking the time to send your review.
I hope to see you back with us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    122
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
177
148
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at this location for 3 days during a visit to the area. The hotel was quiet, room was clean, the staff was helpful and breakfast was pretty good. There was no issue with parking. There are many restaurants within a quick drive from the hotel, even late night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads on Trip Advisor. Here at the Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads we take pride in providing ultimate guest service. We consider feedback from our guests the number one tool in achieving the highest quality of guest service.

We all appreciate your feedback and are making continuous improvements to exceed the expectations of our guests. We value your business and hope that you consider the Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads a home away from home. We look forward to seeing you during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed there with a year old baby last weekend. Stuff was friendly. Breakfast had very good assortment. Rooms were clean. Beds were comfy. And it's a good location if you are there to explore local parks and waterfalls.

Room Tip: if you are traveling with a baby, keep in mind that they have rooms with bath tabs and without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krasnogor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your recent review for the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads on Trip Advisor. We take pride in providing ultimate guest service. We value your business and hope that you consider the Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads a home away from home. We look forward to seeing you during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We took our end of summer weekend trip to the Corning/Elmira this year and stayed at the Hampton Inn based on other reviews on TripAdvisor. It was a good choice.

The hotel appears relatively new. We chose the King Bed Study for the extra space and comfort. The bed was great, the TV actually delivered HD (not like most hotels which only have a stretched standard defintion picture) and had a very good channel lineup. Internet connection was good.

Minor cons: there were no drinking cups when we arrived, on the second day there we came back from a day trip after 4:00PM and found the room was not cleaned. The stall shower was very narrow. Standing inside you found yourself either hitting the grab bar or the glass shower door. We also found that looking closely at some of the surfaces in the bathroom and bedroom showed some pretty dusty areas. A little more attention to detail would be in order.

The hot breakfast was better than expected with a good variety and the offerings were well stocked. The eating area was larger than most we see these days as well.

Our room on the fourth floor was very quiet. We didn't hear other nearby occupants or any traffic noise. Room temperature was easy to regulate and consistent.

We will try this hotel again. I'll give housekeeping the benefit of the doubt - maybe they were short staffed. The front desk personnel were outstanding (and the mints were fantastic).

I like the location, it was convenient for day trips and very easy on and off the interstate. It's a relatively short drive to Corning and area wineries. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and opportunities for shopping.

Don't pass this one up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank You for your review on the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads on Trip Advisor. We value your business and hope that you consider the Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads a home away from home.

We look forward to seeing you during your future Twin Tiers travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here one night but we could have stayed a week. We had a king size bed with whirlpool tub suite which was large and very nice, with microwave and fridge. The wireless internet worked well. Nice large washroom. Clean and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Elmira / Horseheads in July of this year. Unfortunately under construction at the time I had a less than pleasant experience.

The room I was booked into was adjacent to the ongoing construction on the first floor. I got in late in the evening and was counting on some extra sleep before a presentation I had to give late morning. I awoke to the sounds of fans, banging on walls, nail guns, etc at 7:45 AM when the work on renovation began.

It is unfortunate that the workers could not be held back until a more reasonable hour for the start of the workday. Also, that I was not made aware at time of booking that the property was under construction. Otherwise, without the noise and construction (which is kind of a big deal when sleep is the objective), the property is in rather pristine shape and very comfortable. I imagine it will be one of the nicer Hampton Inn's at such a time where work is complete. It really should be for the price of the room...this was the most I have ever paid for a Hampton Inn and about the same as I pay for the more premium brands in larger cities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oscar_T_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Corning area is so expensive in the summer, and I was really pleased to find this place. It's only a 10-15 minute drive to Corning from the hotel, and it's right off the highway. Everything was impeccably clean and comfortable; the common area downstairs has coffee and hot water for tea and hot chocolate any time of day or night. The included breakfast was easy and just right - from make-you-own waffle to yogurt, you can find what you need. There's plenty of room there, as well - not a crowded little space like some hotel breakfast areas. The extra bonus is the pool - not deep enough for real exercise, but a nice little spot to take a dip. I will definitely return if I can get a good rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horseheads
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads

Property: Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
Address: 51 Arnot Rd, Horseheads, NY 14845-8533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads Hotel Horseheads

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing