We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm...”
Review of Meson del Obispado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meson del Obispado
Ranked #91 of 93 Hotels in Queretaro City
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Old World Charm...”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a fair priced hotel for the location. Half a block from downtown and if you go to the main garden downtown, there are free performances almost every night. The room was very comfortable (and large). It had the authentic Mexican charm. The food is ok but you can always get street food anytime. The staff were extremely polite, helpful and accomodating. The cleaning lady came by only three times but that's what I asked her to do. I was barely in the room so not much to clean. Oh yeah, and the rooms are huge!

Room Tip: The only negative I had was that my balcony faced the main street and I could hear music until the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDavies669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    5
    11
See reviews for
6
5
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

I visited this hotel as it forms part of a tour of local legends (it used to be a convent) and if the rooms are anywhere near as badly looked after as the common areas I would not recommend it.
The dirty textiles and plastic chairs and tables with beer logos made me think of charter hotels in southern Europe from the 80´s (but not in a good way...).

For a group of teenagers doing Mexico on the cheap it is a great deal at the locally advertised rate of 35 dollars (490 pesos), but I wouldnt pay a cent more.

The location is excellent though, right in the middle of the historical centre, just be aware that it is a very low budget hotel and it shows...

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatimmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queretaro City hotels

Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

If you have any plans to go to Queretaro and you are going to be mainly in downtown, this hotel is one very good option. Below you will find the pros and cons so you may feel free to decide wheter to choose or pass on.

LOCATION. Right in downtown half block away from Plaza la Corregidora, you can walk around and find restaurants, bars, groceries, practically anything within walking distance. The hotel itself does not look very attractive and the room we were assigned was in the back passing the restaurant which might have not been idealy but since we were away from the noise of the main passage it end up fine for us.

ROOM. The room was spacious with very high ceiling, TV, two double beds, bathroom with bathtub, closet and table with couple chairs. The decoration was tried to be preserved as colonial style, you notice that in the head beds and center table with chairs, as well as vanity mirror and drawers.
CONS. The room needed touches of paint, polish the entire floor, have definetely better pillows and it would have been nice to have better quality in sheets, more simple design or neutral color to armonize. Remote control we have to ask for 3 changes since it was nor working well. Bathroom, well, they really need to hire and do some extenstive maintenance work, you could see the mold around the bathtub and they could definitely change the sliding door for a nice curtain, plus there is no holder where to hand towells or even a holder for toilet paper. They could also improve a little bite more in the amenities, since the shampoo and conditioner where being refil in small containers with no brand or label, and the towels are really very old and not appropiate for hotel service. Closed need to have hangers and at some point a safe in the room could be very useful as well.
Something I really miss was the hair dryer, I forgot mine and when I asked for one they did not have any, so you could imagine with the 15-18 celsius outside and too much wind and my wet hair well.. not a very good idea but nothing much that I could do.
The other thing they did not have WI-FI.
Not convenient if you have a car since they do not have parking lot or any parking area.

VALUE. The fact that you are so close to everything is the plus ultra, the rate in pesos around 750 and with the current US exchange around $55 US, but I think they can improve a lot if they decide to invest more in the rooms maintenance and amenities.

RESTAURANT. They have a restaurant at the hotel entrance but I did not try any single meal there since we went to Doña Urraca and another locals one in the area.

LAUNDRY. The service is not bad but great definetely not, I had some white t-shirts that become a little darker perhaps because they were mixed with color but any way, we were in a little bite of hurry and had no chance to check it out before our check out.

SERVICE. We hardly were at the hotel but only to sleep but the few ocassions that I need to contact the front desk we were attend promply and very nicely.

The nightlife is very good and you definitely have to take a look in a new bar call Horus, fantastic concept and unique design. A-must-try- restaurant are Argentalia and Fonda San Blass, 1800 & Chucho el Roto they are for tourist but with great atmosphere and ambience, nice to hear the music they play on the weeekends.

We had a great stay in Queretaro but I am sure we would like to try something else, perhaps different and hopefully in the price range. We want to try something close to everything, we knew that we were not going to spend too much time in the hotel only for sleeping and take a shower but definitely improvements can be done if they pay attention to details and basic amenities for guests.

I had the opportunity to check out Casa Molina Inn and they have finished two rooms already and are in the process to end up the entire house (an antique one that is being remodeled and refurbished with only 6-7 rooms) in around one month, so we will try that in our next visit..

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joferto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Very convenient to downtown Queretaro. Hotel's furnishings were clean but a bit older which was fine with us. Since we were close to the main plaza, music did not die down until midnight. If you're looking for a bit quieter, request room on the inside courtyard instead of on the street side.

  • Liked — convenience and price
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GenieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

Queretaro's historic district is relatively small but extremely attractive. This town takes pride in their clean, well lit, no-traffic walkways through-out most of this area. Some of the nicer hotels are extremely pricy. This one, Meson del Obispado, was the best answer to all of my traveler's needs. The location is perfection...right on one of the most popular walkways...very safe and central. The hotel is attractive: a broad sweeping tiled staircase that reminded me of European hotels, several comfy lounge areas, and a pretty restaurant at the entrance. My room was huge, completely tiled with old Spanish tile. The ceiling was about 12 feet high! The sounds of the lively street can be avoided by asking for a room in the courtyard. I have earplugs and selected a room with a balcony overlooking the entire historic zone. It was all quite nice, The rate for me; solo traveler in September, was $42 USD a night. It might not match some of the other hotels in opulent luxury, but it holds its own and Meson del Obispado is a real bargain.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cienpasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Senorial
Hotel Senorial
#58 of 93 in Queretaro City
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meson de Carolina
Meson de Carolina
#78 of 93 in Queretaro City
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hidalgo Hotel
Hidalgo Hotel
#51 of 93 in Queretaro City
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#73 of 93 in Queretaro City
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Diamante
Posada Diamante
#82 of 93 in Queretaro City
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuku Ruku Green Boutique House
Kuku Ruku Green Boutique House
#47 of 93 in Queretaro City
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson del Obispado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson del Obispado

Property: Meson del Obispado
Address: Andador 16 de Septiembre 13, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 93 Hotels in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Meson del Obispado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Del Obispado Queretaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing