We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No hot water and no good explanation”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hidalgo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidalgo Hotel
Ranked #50 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No hot water and no good explanation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Although this hotel has a great location, we left after 2 days. The hotel could produce warmish water for showering, but not hot water. And when we complained we got a variety of responses: just wait 5 minutes, it's hot now, warm is normal, the repair man is coming today. So no hot water plus the run-around = we leave.

Room Tip: Test the hot water taps before you take a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meckleyearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    64
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
43
61
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland,Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was concerned because of the inexpensive price that the hotel might be a bit run down, but need not have been. This is a lovely old hotel that has been operating as a hotel since it was built almost 200 years ago. It has a large, inviting central courtyard where you can sit to relax and observe, or to have a drink or meal. Rooms are either on the ground floor or one story above; you will use the stairs, as there are no elevators. Don't expect fancy furnishings or views, but know you will find simple comfort and clean, well attended rooms. Bottled water is provided daily. I had a room with double bed, stand- alone wooden closet, huge wooden desk, several chairs, a flat screen tv,no window (which really was no problem), clean bathroom with easy to use walk-in shower. This hotel is basic and comfortable, not simply "basic" as you might expect from the good price. The location is marvelous -- right in the heart of historical Queretaro. The young men at reception were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mysimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Hyacinthe, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I like the location in the center of the city, the friendlines of the staff. The room is ok and when you think of the price that you pay for, it's more than ok.
For a one night stay, it's perfect. Ihave been there three years in a row and it gets better each year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoyadaphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is within walking distance to all of the major sites. The people working the front desk were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, although we had a downstairs interior room with a window that opened onto an interior hallway - so no outside window. Also, although there was hot water, we had to run the water for about five minutes before it turned hot. All in all, it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaDa06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I and my traveling companion spent a night in this hotel. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The hotel is built in the classical colonial style and manages to juggle its heritage with modern expectations. The staff were friendly and helpful being patient with my rudimentary Spanish. The location is great for walking around the historic centre of Queretaro. A short bus ride away and you can see the famous aqueduct. All in all excellent value for the money spent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldCrone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
690 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I always try to find the oldest historic hotels in the city I plan on staying in. This one happened to be the oldest which opened in 1825. The staff, rooms, location, price and atmosphere are just right.

Room Tip: Request the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a fine hotel in a great location. Value is good.

It is located right in the center of the Centro Historico a few steps to a very nice plaza with a beautiful church. Many other nice plazas are close by, all of them beautiful to hang out and watch the day go by.

Querétaro is quite nice on its own. Not too many attractions for tourists if you need distraction, but instead just a pleasant town to spend a few days.

My average hotel room had a door onto the courtyard and small balcony onto the street. It is a bit noisy, but in a pleasant way, and I was hearing church bells constantly. There are some restaurant smells that drift up from the full service restaurant in the courtyard though. They didn't bother me but they could put some people off.

I reserved through Booking.Com and the front desk tried to slip extra charges onto the bill for a "larger room" just I was in a rush to leave when checking out, so be sure to confirm all room charges prior to checking in. Even if they say "everything is taken care of" as they hand you the key on your way in.

Otherwise it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, get a room where you can't hear the church bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter.craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.2 mi away
Meson de Carolina
Meson de Carolina
#74 of 94 in Queretaro City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Molina
Hotel Casa Molina
#25 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Agustin
Hotel San Agustin
#73 of 94 in Queretaro City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#70 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirabel
Hotel Mirabel
#15 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Allende
Hotel Quinta Allende
#19 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidalgo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidalgo Hotel

Property: Hidalgo Hotel
Address: Privada Madero No. 11 | Col Centro, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidalgo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hidalgo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidalgo Hotel Queretaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing