We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay rooms, decent price, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hidalgo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidalgo Hotel
Ranked #50 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Winston Salem, NC USA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Okay rooms, decent price, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The three best things here were the price, the location and the lovely courtyard restaurant. The rooms were just okay (we weren't in them that long anyway) and the restaurant was average (but okay). It was a nice place to sit and have a drink in the evening and decompress from sight seeing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gearheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    64
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
43
61
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was the original hotel in Queretaro. Its really lovely, and right in the midst of things. The prices are very reasonable. Only drawback is the toilet in the room - a little closet. Thats ok, but old system probably, and a bit smelly unfortunately. Well, depends on how much that bothers you. Certainlly a nice place. Big courtyard downstairs. Extremely handy. Internet not in rooms cause of thick walls, so have to step outside to the courtyard/balcony.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nowshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is a very nice choice in Queretaro. It has a very good restaurant, which is reasonably priced. The location is great, very walkable to all the main plazas.

The interior courtyard is charming, a lovely place to eat, drink and just relax. The staff is good, and most speak enough English. The wifi worked well on the patio but not so well in my room.

My room was in the back, which was quieter, as most rooms open up onto the patio, which can be rather noisy and echoing.

The price was very reasonable, and i would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: A room in the rear, away from the patio, will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaliforniaWoman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is always the hotel I choose when I travel in Queretaro. It has a great location, right downtown and a great restaurant.

This is a simple hotel (no phones in the rooms) but it is always clean, comfortable, convenient, and affordable! The staff is very welcoming and accomodating. I will always stay here when I travel to Queretaro.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleMakarewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Margarita (Margarita Island)
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hotel Hidalgo is in a great location to visit the old sites of the city. Their service is good as is their food in their hotel. The rooms are adequate and the charm of this old hotel is worth a visit. That and their lower rates make it an overall reason to use it. The noise around their center court can be noisy, so ask for a room in the back where it is a little quieter.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaritanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
278 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Cannot beat the location only 1 block from Main Plaza. Have stayed numerous times & always look forward to returning. Wonderful to have seen a fantastic old colonial structure returned it's historic usage. Rooms are basic, but have always been spotlessly clean which is why we return. Good restaurant & snack bar opening off the interior courtyard. Queretaro is not a late town in the immediately surrounding downtown area, so don't fear getting a street front room, since it comes with a small balcony. Interior rooms may be more quiet, but they are darker, since that is the nature of the beast with such colonial structures. We opt for the light. Bright bathrooms, good linens, the typical back-breaking super hard Mexican beds, & CNN in English --- what's not to llike for $47 (USD)? Have always encountered great employees! A well run operation that never disappoints.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I booked through booking.com and had been booked into a room with 3 beds. Once I got there, I was given a one bed room, which was better value. The hotel is in a great location for central Queretaro, where you can walk everywhere. The courtyard design is very cool, with a covered hacienda-like interior and a cafe inside. The room, though, was very small and dark. Services were very basic, so this felt more like a hostel than a hotel. I don't need a giant tv but a bath mat and a clock would be useful. My room was big enough for one. With my case on the floor, I'm already stepping over things. Internet service was good. Parking was a bit difficult. I had to park three blocks away. Parking cost a third as much as the room. Bed was comfortable and I slept well by wearing ear plugs. The tiled floors outside and stone walls made for a noisy night. Did I say this was great value for money? I wouldn't take my girlfriend there though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeSQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.2 mi away
Meson de Carolina
Meson de Carolina
#74 of 94 in Queretaro City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Molina
Hotel Casa Molina
#25 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Agustin
Hotel San Agustin
#73 of 94 in Queretaro City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#70 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirabel
Hotel Mirabel
#15 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Allende
Hotel Quinta Allende
#19 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidalgo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidalgo Hotel

Property: Hidalgo Hotel
Address: Privada Madero No. 11 | Col Centro, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidalgo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hidalgo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidalgo Hotel Queretaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing