We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Piece of Europe in the Centro”
Review of La Casa Azul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Azul Hotel
Ranked #83 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a night during a trip to San Miguel de Allende and Guanajuato. I was flying out of Queretaro so it made sense to stay nearby.

I knew I wanted to stay in an affordable historic property in the centro so I could soak up the ambiance for my brief stay, but where to stay? There are so few reviews on Queretaro hotels, it was unclear what would be a good choice near museums, the plazas and restaurants. One of the most famous hotels in the centro is the La Casa de la Marquesa but it's very pricey. Did I really need opulent splendor for just one night?

Instead, I rolled the dice on La Casa Azul, which I read once used to be a part of La Casa de la Marquesa but had recently been sold to new owners. I liked the pictures on the website and it was much cheaper than the Marquesa. I booked through Expedia and had NO troubles at check-in. They referred to me as the "Expedia person." Ha!

I'm so glad I made this choice! La Casa Azul is a delightful hotel with a hardworking staff. They went out of their way to make sure all my needs were met even though I was only staying one night. They gave me the Miro room, which has a single queen bed with French doors which looked out onto the street and the famous Neptune Fountain. It was gorgeous.

The rooms have all the original wood and tall ceilings along with central air and a flat panel television (no English stations, however.)

The front desk staff spoke some English, with the afternoon/evening staff totally fluent. This was helpful because my Spanish is elementary, at best. They arranged car service to the airport and also arranged an English speaking guide to take me on a quick tour of the city and its lovely churches.

La Casa Azul isn't large. It has 12 rooms which face either the center courtyard or the outside street. I stayed a Friday night and it was LOUD out on the street at about 2:30 am (but I had my French doors open.) But there was nothing like waking up to the sound of church bells from the church directly across the street in the morning. It was like being in Europe.

I ate breakfast at the hotel. The restaurant is in the lovely center courtyard. They have a basic breakfast menu with omelets and other egg dishes. It was cheap and fresh.

As for the location, for those looking to be in the middle of all the historic sites, this hotel fits the bill. It was an easy 5 to 7 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas where there are some lovely restaurants. (I ate at Restaurante 1810. See my review on that.) As a single woman, I felt completely safe walking around by myself during the day and the early evening. I also felt safe in the hotel.

One caveat however, which I did discuss with the front desk staff, is that there are no safes in the room. Since the hotel is under new ownership, they seem open to suggestions. I told them they might want to consider installing these. It was really the only thing that was lacking.

Oh- for those wondering about the water situation (which can sometimes be dicey at older hotels)- there was hot water in the shower and the sink and two bottles of water waiting for me when I arrived in the room.

I would not hesitate to stay here again when I was in Queretaro.

Room Tip: For better light and to hear the church bells (and simply to be able to open your French doors and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoGirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

We only ate lunch at Casa Azul because we were staying with friends, but we took a tour of all the available rooms and each was unique and very well appointed. The manager was very kind and ernest. The lunch was tasty, although the service slow. He had new staff. To make up for the slowness, we were given a free dessert. If I were coming to Querétaro, I would stay at this place because of the ambiance and fantastic Centro Historico location.

Room Tip: All good. Beautiful bathrooms and furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Queretaro is a very picturesque place to visit and even though there are quite a few options to stay, I decided to give "La Casa Azul" a try. It is centrally located, a short distance from Palacio Municipal. Very close to all the nice plazas and shopping areas. The hotel rooms are very spacious. I stayed at Dali's. The bed was somewhat comfortable, the room had a nice balcony where you can admire the life in Centro Historico day and night. The bathroom was very spacious, with a super huge bath tube enough to have 4 people at the same time. The hallways very well lit and the overall feeling at the hotel was safe and clean. The front desk is not at the entrance like almost all of the hotels which make it a little bit difficult to approach somebody. And on my departure date I have requested for a wake up call at 5 in the morning to make sure I didn't miss the bus to Mexico city.
Unfortunately the wake up call never came but at least I set up my alarm to make sure I was on time. Other than that... I would recommend to stay in this beautiful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estrella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have stayed twice at Casa Azul and recommend it highly. On one occasion my party of three arrived at about 11:00 p.m. without reservations. We were very tired after a 10 hour bus ride. The staff could not have been more helpful! Even though the chef had left for the night we were offered a late night meal. The standin "chef" made a great salad, quesadillas, sliced avacodoes, a variety of salsas, and complimentary beers and tequilla. Wow! What other hotel does that? Some of the staff joined us at the table and we ended up telling each other stories about our lives and travels and told bad jokes and it was great. We made it to bed after 1:00 a.m. The whole experience was right out of a great movie. This is a new hotel that is working out all the kinks, but the rooms are beautiful and the staff is outstanding and the building is colonial/historic. The location is just around the corner from the main plaza. About tipping, I added tip to my bill when I left. If you choose that option, you might tell the staff what you intend to do, because we found them very friendly and helpful. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world. This place is near perfect and it has a ton of heart, once they get fully established it is going to be a truly great hotel. Also prices in comparison to nearby hotels are very reasonable. We took two very large rooms with sitting areas and huge baths for about $90 US/night. I have been told that longer stays might earn a discount. Anyway, if you are in Queretaro check this place out. Ask for Max or Diana. What a guy and woman! Thanks. Duke, Tres, and Wendy

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dduke999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

La Casa Azul Hotel, we were told, was until recently part of La Casa de la Marquesa which is located just across the street. The rooms in Casa Azul are very nice and spacious in typical colonial style around an open courtyard. The staff at the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful.

The only minor disappointment are the breakfast, which is eaten at La Casa de la Marquesa and only includes eggs and sweet bread. After a few days that gets rather tiring. Also, the waiters at marquesa turned very rude when we forgot to tip them, even if the breakfast was included in the room. (Europeans tend to forget about American tipping requirements).
Also, Wifi does not work in all rooms due to the thick walls of the building, but the night manager offered to bring a cable for us to use in the room if needed.

I can really recommend Casa Azul, but hope that they will upgrade their breakfast menu. Otherwise visitors are encouraged to explore the many bars and restaurants around offering excellent alternative morning meals.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daccy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel La Casa A... Q, General Manager at La Casa Azul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice reply. We are delighted to hear, that you liked our Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul and pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially our nice rooms, our very kind staff and we are working on that breakfast thing. We hope to welcome you again next time you visit Querétaro. Best regards Your Casa Azul Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Flor Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.3 mi away
La Hija del Alfarero
La Hija del Alfarero
#33 of 94 in Queretaro City
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro
Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro
#44 of 94 in Queretaro City
190 reviews
14.9 mi away
Quinta del Lago
Quinta del Lago
#65 of 94 in Queretaro City
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Casa Cayala
Hotel Casa Cayala
#64 of 94 in Queretaro City
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
#46 of 94 in Queretaro City
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Molina
Hotel Casa Molina
#35 of 94 in Queretaro City
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Azul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Azul Hotel

Address: Allende Sur No 6 | Col. Centro Histórico, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Price Range: $67 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Casa Azul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful hotel boutique, which boasts 12 exclusive rooms for you to enjoy. Within our premises you can find rooms with 1 or 2 Queen size beds or 1 King size bed, free internet access for our valued clients, air conditioning, bathrooms with both showers and tubs, not to mention various amenities. We also have staff waiting to give you the personalized attention you deserve for a great experience! We offer BUSINESS ARRANGEMENTS for companies looking to do business or stay in Queretaro for longer. At your request we offer a salon, with a maximum capacity for 100 guests, ideal for executive meetings or any social occasion you may desire. We also offer our colonial patio for that special occasion with room for 130 guests. Send us an email for more information and we will also send you personalized cost estimation sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa Azul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing