We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hotel with lots of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa de la Marquesa
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Certificate of Excellence
Clemson, SC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel with lots of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip in the Queretaro area. Another hotel was recommended, but my colleague did not want to stay in that hotel because there was no heating. Casa de la Marquesa did have heat, but the location was not the best. It was a few blocks from the main plaza with all of the popular restaurants.

The rooms were spacious and the ceilings were 15+ feet high. The rooms were each individually decorated and contained antique furnishings. Everything was clean and comfortable.

My room was not directly on the street and I did not hear any noise. My colleagues room was directly above the street and he complained about street noise. The second night it rained during the night. My room had skylights and the rain hitting these skylights was very noisy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    64
    38
    16
    23
See reviews for
57
93
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

It is a great hotel, but during our stay, the water heater broke and we were not informed. Early the next morning I asked after the hot water and was advised to go to an annex (owned by the hotel) for taking a shower. The temperature outside was below 0º C. The beauty of the hotel does not compensate for the inadequate service of the staff or justify the high rates.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

This is an exceptional, one of a kind property. Location is perfect and within walking distance of Queretaro's main squares. We stayed in the Cristobal Colón room, which is on the top floor of the main building. It is a large, comfortable room with a beautiful private veranda overlooking the city. Staff was polite and professional. We did not dine in the hotel dining room, although it did seem popular for locals for late breakfast. Internet access is spotty due to the thick walls.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
143 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

We were on a roadtrip around Mexico during the Day of the Dead holidays, which in Mexico are quite spectacular. Ceretaro had an incredible atmosphere and it is one of the must see cities in Mexico if you really want to get to know he Mexicoan culture. La Casa de la Marquesa is located in the heart of the city and it gives you a real Mexican experience but with a large dose of luxury. The property is stunning - it definitely had a character. Each room is different and decorated in a local style but with all the comforts one may need. We got a room upgrade for free. The room was huge and just absolutely beautful with huge bad, oak table and comfortable armchairs. Bathroom had a huge, double bathtub. If you like high end places with character and originality this is your place in Ceretaro!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

The architecture and history of this building make it magical. Get in, read a guide, take some pictures and have a coffee at the restaurant... And stay at another hotel...
We arrived late (10:30 pm) with a 2bd reservation. They mistakenly had booked a 1 bd room and not only did not assume their responsibility, but were rude (receptionist and manager). We paid for an extra room and were sent to the building across the street which is part of the hotel, but is far from being as nice.
Rooms are ok, but next time I will stay at a comfortable good service hotel for less.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

Amazing diamond in the rough. The detail found in every room is absolutely impeccable. We felt as if we were staying in a museum.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saguaro2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

I'm sitting in the restaurant of the Casa de la Marquesa enjoying a first class breakfast while pondering the two most miserable nights of our eight night trip. The hotel has a lot going for it: great location, stunning architecture and an eager and willing staff. It misses the most important part of being a hotel...a good nights sleep.

Our room, on the third floor, was well appointed and had a working TV. The telephone only worked once during two days so room service was impossible. The "air conditioner" struggled constantly but the temperature in the room at 5 pm was 80-82 degrees and only got to 75 when the windows were open around midnight. The temperature, humidity and ancient, lumpy matress made for nights of restless misery. A fan would have made the room at least tolerable and I would have bought one if we were staying more than a couple of nights. When asked the staff seemed sympathetic but unable to help.

You might be able to have an enjoyable stay in Winter but find somewhere else to stay in the heat of summer. Instead, I recommend that you take a tour of the hotel, eat a meal in their restaurant and find a cool and comfortable hotel in which to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noodlebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Atrio
La Casa del Atrio
#1 of 94 in Queretaro City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
#55 of 94 in Queretaro City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Allende
Hotel Quinta Allende
#19 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Villar
Hotel Villa del Villar
#23 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel de Queretaro
Gran Hotel de Queretaro
#30 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutiq...
#20 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de la Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de la Marquesa

Property: La Casa de la Marquesa
Address: Privada Madero 41, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Casa de la Marquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Casa de la Marquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De La Marquesa Hotel Queretaro
La Casa De Marquesa Queretaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing