We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most wondering holidays in Queretaro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa de la Marquesa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa de la Marquesa
Ranked #43 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
“The most wondering holidays in Queretaro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

the past 4th of October went to the beautiful Queretaro City, and stayed in La Casa de la Marquesa Hotel, a magnificent place and arquitecture, excellent service, beautiful rooms, delicious food, everything superb !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Cristobal Colon Suite with a relaxed Jacuzzi at the terraza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnThibou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel_Lopez, Gerente at La Casa de la Marquesa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments, with pleasure we will make you know the staff at the hotel that your holidays were wonderful and us were part of this. We hope see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    63
    38
    15
    22
See reviews for
54
93
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a nightmare! It is one of the most charming hotels you can imagine with beautiful colonial charm however be WARNED! First night at the hotel there was no hot water, which was fixed midday the next day. Waking up after the second night there was no water at all! (hot or cold). So after my early run you can imagine how delighted I was with the prospect of spending all day on planes without a shower! The guys at the hotel had no idea what was going on and there was poor communications about the water situation. I travel all the time and hot water (and no water) is one of the few unforgivable hotel sins! So they offered the hotel they own across the road for shower use (perhaps I could have walked across in my dressing gown you ask) and they didn't charge me for two breakfasts. In my book this situation is a complete refund (If I hadn't prepaid I would have refused to pay a cent). In addition the wifi from the room is non-existent. In summary if you are going for business forget it, and if you are going for leisure it's a risk I wouldn't take.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel_Lopez, Gerente at La Casa de la Marquesa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest, we greatly regret any inconvenience caused during your stay, please note that due to these problems the Administration has changed and we are a new team since October 2013, we ask you please give us the opportunity to change this bad impression of the hotel, our commitment is with the service and care of our clients. We hope sincerely see them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our company had a board meeting in this hotel recently. While both properties are nice and full of character, I wouldn't recommend La Casa for business meetings. Had difficulties during the planning stage, slow replies to inquiries, etc. Meeting room didn't have A/C, they brought in fans and suggested to open the door to the lobby... Had problems with A/C in one of the rooms.. Some of the guests were complainig of noise from the street and at least one of the rooms didn't have windows at all.
No other major issues.
This property would be nice for those looking for unique experience, but if you prefer stress free smooth event I would go with bigger chain hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irynar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
172 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Because of some of the comments here regarding Casa de la Marquesa and Casa Azul (its annex) I will be incorporating comments on both of them here. Clearly, Casa de la Marquesa is the more over the top of the two (it predates Casa Azul by about 100 years) but Casa Azul is still a good deal and quite wonderful in its own right; the rooms here are all unique, large, nicely furnished.. corner rooms have two balconies and all the rooms here face the street. If you book via Internet and only go by lowest price, you will more than likely be booked in Casa Azul and not in Casa de la Marquesa.

We wanted to experience Casa de la Marquesa so did some research and requested the Alhambra suite. It was ready for us when we arrived in the early morning hours! Needless to say, it's an experience like no other....imagine sleeping in an Moorish fantasy and that's Alhambra. The hotel itself is a wonder...magnificent, ornate central atrium...period furnishings...live piano music in the morning and afternoon.

Because this is an historic building with very thick walls, Internet connection can be spotty in the rooms and is better in the public areas but free throughout. In fact, the city of Querétaro is almost entirely wired in all public plazas, airport, etc. Anyway, back to the hotel...despite its age, the bathrooms have been updated while still keeping their unique decor in place. Unique, carved doors to each room, wood floors, tall French doors with lace curtains and inner wood shutters.

Casa de la Marquesa has its own restaurant where you can well imagine having breakfast in centuries past. They bake all their bread, both sweet and savory, and it's delicious. The food is well prepared (menu is traditional Mexican) and service is attentive as long as the restaurant isn't too crowded.

Now, for Casa Azul...it's true that there is no reception desk there and the staff headquarters in Casa de la Marquesa but they are only half a block and a mere phone call away. There is no access to the rooms without a key to get passed the gate that blocks access to inner hallway so even though the main courtyard is open to the public (unlike Casa de la Marquesa that blocks access to non-guests even to the inner courtyard) non guests still can't get to the rooms.

A recent addition to Casa Azul is its own restaurant that has been in operation for just a few weeks. It will be called Allende 6 (its address) and it's not run by the hotel but rather is concessioned out to a couple of entrepreneurs: a Spaniard who has lived in Mexico for over 30 years and his business partner who is a local state assemblyman. The menu here is mainly Spanish and the food and service are both very good. (This review will include pictures of food from here). They also have a small espresso bar in front featuring a premium coffee and other coffee-based products like candy and cookies that are delicious. The chef is most accommodating with respect to special culinary needs/requests and the owners are there every day and very attentive to customer service. We highly recommend Allende 6 and hope they do well.

Both Casa de la Marquesa and Casa Azul are jewels of the vice-royalty period and well worth the price for an unusual, fantasy-like hotel experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to check them out on their website and be sure you know the difference between the Imperial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Booked via Expedia, from 4/12 - 4/16.

The hotel is really nice. I arrived close to midnight, knocked on the old wooden door, and was quickly attended by the doorman. I noticed they had my reservation on the desk, ready to go, as if they were expecting me to arrive at any moment. I was greeted on entry & exit every time.

The Royal Suite or "La Nina" Room was clean, quiet, comfortable and very large. Location is right in the central historic downtown area. walking distance from art museums, bars, plazas, old churches, and other historic locations.

Having mentioned that, the young attendant, or bell boy, if they are still called that, was quite useless. Speaking in the local language, any hotel service-related question that I had was answered with a shrug, confused stare, & an "I don't know" but the front desk is a call away. Other attendants were also clueless regarding local information. They all seem to congregate in the front-door area. In other MX hotels, I usually ask the attendants for the best locations, directions, and are a great source of friendly information from a local point of view, but Not here. Bring your Fodor's guide book with you.

I would definitely stay here again if I find a great rate, as there are many other hotels in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Book the Royal Suite. It's the best value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texas_Tacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

A quick look at all the nice properties in area shows many nice choices, but for me, this was fantastic. All considered, it is in my personal top 5 hotels ever.

That said: Read the reviews closely!! I'm sure the Casa Azul is a fine hotel, but not what we wanted! On arrival at the Marquesa, we were told we had booked and paid for the annex! We paid the 50% premium on the spot to get into the "real" Marquesa. Maybe we were lucky, but we got a great room (for extra $50 per night).

As noted in other reviews, little things might not be perfect, but sitting in the lobby listening to the grand piano and having a margarita...is priceless!

Room Tip: Simply make sure you are booking the "real" Marquesa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recently we visit friends in Queretaro and we went to drink a coffee at this wonderfull Hotel which it is at the heart of the town,what a beauty, a pur expresion of elegance,a tresor from the colonial time.Of course i saw other nice buldings in this city but this is for me the place i liked the most.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carla12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Atrio
La Casa del Atrio
#1 of 94 in Queretaro City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
#53 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Allende
Hotel Quinta Allende
#16 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Villar
Hotel Villa del Villar
#24 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutiq...
#15 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique
Casona de la Republica Hotel Bou...
#51 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de la Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de la Marquesa

Property: La Casa de la Marquesa
Address: Privada Madero 41, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Casa de la Marquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casa de la Marquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De La Marquesa Hotel Queretaro
La Casa De Marquesa Queretaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing