We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Queretaro City
Leon, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

A friend and I arrived about 6:30pm for an early (by Mexican standards) dinner in the beautiful restaurant of the Casona de La Republica Hotel. We were welcomed by a pleasant waiter (who spoke no English) and shortly thereafter by the personable young chef, Daniel, who did speak English--a necessary aid in our case. Perhaps because we were the only customers there at that time, Daniel asked us what we would like to have; we both indulged our cravings: I said that to start I would love some poblano cream soup; my guest asked for a really fresh salad with some fruit and nuts. We wanted to share the large Cowboy steak and finish with a special chocolate dessert. What we had was an extraordinary meal! The soup was probably the best version of poblano cream that I have ever had; both my guest and I loved her specially prepared salad with a dressing that Daniel had learned to prepare while doing his university internship at a one-star Michelin restaurant in Spain earlier this year. What a gifted young chef! And what a turn-around from the mediocre-at-best meal that we had had at this restaurant earlier this spring. Upon talking to Daniel about his background we learned that he had previously been selected by the the Rosewood hotel for an internship at their hotel in Playa del Carmen and then worked for the Rosewood hotel in San Miguel for a year when it opened there. Later he continued his university education in gastronomy in San Miguel and had just graduated in June. After dinner, Daniel offered to give us a tour of the hotel. What we saw was an elegantly renovated old hacienda. We were introduced to several friendly and welcoming reception staff as we toured the facilities. I look forward to returning soon and spending a weekend in one of the hotel's beautiful rooms. Many thanks to Daniel for providing us with such a memorable meal. We felt that we had been treated to a special evening by a warm and gracious young maestro! Muchos gracias!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Mr Charlie,


Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments about our Restaurant El Encuentro.

Daniel now feels through the roof and lower it will be difficult !!

Seriously, you don´t know how we appreciate that our lovely guests like you give us a big hug with your comments

Thank you once again and we hope to see you son in this your home !

Sincerely

JJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    32
    10
    4
    13
See reviews for
10
70
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in June/July and I was blown away at how great this place was! Upon check in, you are offered a water or a tequila and it only gets better from there! The hotel is just so cool and unique, you just need to see the hotel to believe it! Major kudos to Diego for suggesting the 1810 house for dinner (excellent!) and recommending some other attractions. I cannot wait to come back here again and I hope to get one of the rooms with a private terrace!

Room Tip: ask for one of the rooms with a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lirrhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Mr Lirrhater,


First of all I want to thank you for take the time to give us your comments, we know that you are a very busy person and give us this minutes to write us is abig gift for us.

We appreciate your comments (Diego specially....who send you a big hug...by the way) and we are waiting to hosting you in a near future and make you feel like again in home away your home.

Best regards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing County, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is very difficult to find. Hidden in the streets of the old historic center of Queretaro. I Recommend using GPS coordinates instead of address when driving. Rooms are great, water pressure in the shower is AWESOME. The only thing is due to the old historic building's construction, wifi could not penetrate the thick wall, so there was no wifi in the room. However, why stay in the room when you have such a nice court yard to hang out in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank achang2639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for take the time to give us your comments it is very nice to see that our efforts to make you feel comfotable ...have a Price !

I really love the phrase about the Wi Fi and the Patio!! I took already to use it.... seriusly we are on the process to implement better Access point to improve our service in this área.

We certanly hope to see you son in this you hotel

Best regards

JJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Traveled to Queretaro for business, and Casona de la Republica exceeded my expectations for the entire stay. From the great check-in service by Kaory and Montse at the front desk to the lovely breakfast and service by Nancy in the restaurant it was one of the nicest stays I can remember. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leve us your comments, it is nice to know that you have a nice experience with us.

Please don forget to visit us in your nex trip to Querétaro, it will be a pleasure to serve you againg

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Make no mistake about it - this is a 5 Star hotel!

We stayed at the Casona de la Republica for three days in April, 2014 and will remember our experience for a long time to come.

Queretaro has marvelous shopping, at least in the old section where we were, with many handmade items at lower prices than we'd seen in Merida where we have our winter home. The City is very pretty with its little winding streets that are closed to traffic (it reminded us of the old section of Rome and Spain) and clean. We loved it, and the Casona. The City is chock full of Mexican history, with many interesting places to visit.

We flew Volaris Air from Merida to Mexico City, then got a bus right from the airport to Queretary (about 2.5 hours). The bus station was the best we've ever encountered....it was vast, laid out like an airport, spotlessly clean, and easily navigable with a long line of set rate taxis.

The Casona itself is a masterpiece of renovation. I believe it was a convent attached to the neighbouring church, and it has been beautifully renovated while maintaining the original features throughout. The first thing I noticed about our room upon entering was the aroma. I don't know how they do it but the room smelled fresh and very lightly scented. That's rare in my experience of Mexican hotels where the smell of mustiness often prevails. (That said, Queretaro has, admittedly, a dry climate.) We arrived mid week and stayed on the main floor in the Allende suite and highly recommend it with the office just down the way if you need something. The room has an upstairs that we never even used. Both upstairs and downstairs have large flat screen TV's. We brought our own HDMI cord, hooked up the laptop to the TV and were able to enjoy our US Netflix by using our VPN. The Hotel's Wifi was equal to the task. Really appreciated that, as we don't speak Spanish so Mexican TV is of no use to us. That same evening we had a delicious dinner brought to our room at no extra charge for room service.

The staff and management treated us like family, catering to our every wish. This included having the chef prepare a lovely fish dinner with an original sauce for us, after I dove into a dip with a tortilla chip that nearly burned my mouth out. I ran to the bathroom in tears, it was that spicy. The manager was flabbergasted at my reaction, saying that 2 year olds eat it with no problem. I explained that I wasn't used to it and asked that they warn us next time. He quickly recovered from his astonishment, went into the kitchen and took charge. Out came the chef and asked what he could get for us that would not be spicy, resulting in the delicious dinner described above.

This was just one example of the personal service we received time and again during our three day stay. Staff were happy to fire up the hot tub on the roof for us, and bring us drinks while we enjoyed the sunset and the view of the adjacent church.

Anything we asked for we got, including a tour of the premises when we arrived. Really, if it hadn't been for wanting to explore the City (it is clean, pretty, flat and very walkable) we could have happily never left the hotel.

A few small things I would suggest to the Casona in the way of improving the experience:

- tell the staff not to call at 7:40 a.m. regarding a massage that had been booked for late that day, and then call again three times in succession
- more English speaking staff would be greatly appreciated (this is a Hotel catering primarily to a Mexican clientele, so I imagine they did their best; there was always someone who could be fetched if communication became utterly impossible)
- have the menu in English, with options for dishes that are not spicy
- improve the service in the dining room; the breakfast service was very questionable, with the waiter having to be asked for every single necessity, including cutlery (we were the only ones in the dining room, so it wasn't because they were busy)
- don't have cleaning staff washing the floors in the dining room while it's open and people are eating. Where I come from cleaning is done at night when no one's around.

That said, we would return to this beautiful building, with exemplary service, in a prime location in the old section of historic Queretaro, ANYTIME! We loved the City and we loved the hotel.

Room Tip: Allende Suite is on the Main Floor just down from the office. No stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluandBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Friends,

It is a pleasure to have people in our hotel like you guys, we love the history that you tell us about this Mexican Heroe and his American Love ! Wonderfull.

We really hope that you visit us soon in your nex trip to Queretaro.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Wonderful experience for what was the first of reqular visits to Queretaro. The rooms are beautifuly decorated, immaculatly clean, and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. For tips on learning to speak Spanish see F&B Manager Miguel :).

My room was Dolores which is smaller, but enjoys a private roof top deck. A business partner was in La Republica which was on the ground floor, but was elligant and has a loft with a spa tub.

I highly recommend the hotel for both business and pleasure travel.

Room Tip: My room was Dolores which is smaller, but enjoys a private roof top deck and is in a secluded sectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Mr Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to give your comments.

Please let us know if there any thing else that we can do for you.

We hope to see you son in a near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a small 16 room hotel, very nicely restored with a wonderful courtyard friendly staff and perfect location.

If you can get one if the upstairs rooms like Deloris you have your own roof terrace

Breakfast was high quality

It is 5 mins walk to the squares and nice restaurants. If you get a chance take a taxi to the pyramide ) before 2.30pm) and have them wait it is much more impressive than we thought

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TCinci2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us as your Hotel in your last visit to Querétaro.

One of the most beatufull gifts that we reciev from our guest is the comments that the give us.

Thank you for give us this present !!

I spect to see you soon once again !!

Sincrely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.2 mi away
Antiguo Meson de Aspeytia
Antiguo Meson de Aspeytia
#40 of 93 in Queretaro City
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dona Urraca Hotel & Spa
Dona Urraca Hotel & Spa
#37 of 93 in Queretaro City
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
#52 of 93 in Queretaro City
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutiq...
#22 of 93 in Queretaro City
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Atrio
La Casa del Atrio
#1 of 93 in Queretaro City
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa de la Marquesa
La Casa de la Marquesa
#44 of 93 in Queretaro City
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique

Property: Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique
Address: Privada Segunda Hidalgo 4, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beautiful Casona de la Republica, Hotel Boutique Design, is a unique and different concept of accommodation. It was developed within a space carefully reconstructed, where the original architecture of the house. It was built at the end of the 17th century; its architecture has been duly respected.With a mixture of free styles, modern accents art and Mexican details, a special ambiance of elegance and warmth to please the most demanding tastes was created. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing