We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro
Ranked #49 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
SMA,
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good, but not great.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised to find this type of boutique hotel in this location. The staff was welcoming, and the room well decorated. But there were several "cons" as well: Our room (#2) was smaller and darker than I like. Also, you got a lot of noise from the exterior passageway. The overhead fan was barely adequate for overnight cooling and ventilation, and the bathroom a step-down from where you sleep. So, while I appreciated the bath amenities, and the bathrobe, they didn't quite make up for the other negatives!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kakesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    51
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
54
66
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

First, we were overall happy with the hotel.

There were a few weak points: parking is a couple of blocks away, although they do offer free valet parking; breakfast was 'continental' which turned out to be some varied fruit slices under plastic wrap, a few old-looking pastries, and some coffee in thermoses.

The room was comfortable, if a little close with no A/C. A ceiling fan was just adequate to move the air a bit. The bathroom was quite nice. Everything was clean and in good order - our only complaints are listed above.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBlu420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

It is situated really close to downtown. The personnel is really friendly and helpful. The hotel has small rooms but spacious bathrooms.

One thing to consider is that you can hear everything that happens around you.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adevlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel currently only has 10 rooms but this makes for an intimate experience. The pool is not huge but can cope with 8-10 people at once and is warm. The rooms are all excellent and the staff are very friendly. The language barrier can be a problem at times (but it's in a Spanish speaking country so learn some)! There is a bar/restaurant next to the hotel that is linked but is not run by them and the service from here can be slow and it's overpriced.

We had the entire hotel booked out for 2 nights and they allowed us to bring in our own alcohol and food and they even provided us with paper plates, cups, cutlery and condiments with no charge. It's perhaps not the bets value for money that the hotels in Queretaro have to offer but it very nice and relaxing (apart from the freight trains that pass at night, as they have to sound their horns several times as it crosses a main road, and there are no barriers).

All in all, my family and I loved it there and couldn't find any faults with the staff or the way we were treated.

Room Tip: They are all nice, check the photo's online and choose the one you want, they all have names.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattLeeds13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night with the kids. We asked for the largest room; it had two double beds, very comfortable, and a small room, with no windows (not very nice, but good for storing luggage). The bathroom was lovely and spacious; shower was vast. It's a very small property, but it has a nice interior courtyard with a heated pool; small, but perfect for kids to play in. Breakfast in the morning served by the pool. The only fly in the ointment - the breakfast was not very nice. Fruit plate, which was fine, but then a collection of god-awful pastries from Sam's Club (I saw the box), which seemed a bit bizarre for a small boutique hotel in the old part of a gorgeous colonial city. We walked to the centre of town for dinner in the evening, and that was glorious; a beautiful plaza all lined with restaurants and cafes, with a lovely sculpture in the middle. Very festive, pleasant, save. The old part of town is amazing. The rest of the city is modern, and pretty standard. But the weather was fantastic, and the topography and surrounding areas very interesting - rolling hills, cowboy country, etc.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the pool, and it was fine; had there been a lot of people staying up late, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quintario, Propietario at Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear James R

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtful feedback! I am delighted to let you know that very soon we will have an Italian bistro next to the hotel, where we will offer complimentary continental breakfast with freshly baked traditional bread every morning for our valued guests, and hope to welcome you back to experience our new service. Thank you again!

All the best,
Alan Loera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2012

A bunch of us came out from the UK for a wedding, and our 11-night stay at this hotel was as near to perfect as you could get!
The entire hotel is beautifully clean, and the staff are fantastic: very friendly and always responded positively and very pleasantly.
It is situated a 5-minute walk from the centre of town and yet quiet enough (once you get used to the train horns!).
The rooms were lovely, with plenty of room, a great shower and a huge bed, changed every day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quintario, Propietario at Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Ian F,

Thank you very much for sharing your special celebration with us, and also for taking the time to write your kind review! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to "Quinta Rio Boutique Hotel" the next time that you visit Queretaro!

All the best,
Alan Loera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in Room #9. The room was billed a master suite although it was more of a hotel room. A suite to me indicates a sitting area which this didn't have. We had a large sunken washroom and king bed. The inclusive breakfast was very nice - we had it on the patio each day. The hotel doesn't look like much from the road but opens to a nice courtyard with pool.
The best part of the hotel is location - it's on the edge of the historic city centro - a few minutes walk puts in the heart of the town. Overall very a nice hotel - we will return on our next visit to Queretaro.

Room Tip: Althoug the suites aren't truly suites I would ask for one over the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quintario, Propietario at Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear AandJ_11,

Thank you for sharing your kind and informative review! I'm delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your recent stay with us, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon!

All the best,
Alan Loera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Real Alameda
Hotel Real Alameda
#61 of 94 in Queretaro City
148 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Hija del Alfarero
La Hija del Alfarero
#35 of 94 in Queretaro City
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Xavier
Hotel San Xavier
#28 of 94 in Queretaro City
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Quinta Lucca
Hotel Quinta Lucca
#37 of 94 in Queretaro City
110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Villar
Hotel Villa del Villar
#31 of 94 in Queretaro City
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiguo Meson de Aspeytia
Antiguo Meson de Aspeytia
#42 of 94 in Queretaro City
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro

Property: Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro
Address: Av. Universidad Ote. 27 | Col. Centro, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel: Whether on business or pleasure trips, at the Quinta Río Boutique Hotel, in Querétaro, Mexico, you will find a place for real pleasure. Here you will experience the combination of a classical colonial atmosphere and the modern amenities, thanks to the excellent attention of the personnel and the convenient services that will make your stay in this colonial city an unforgettable experience.Accommodations: Any of our 10 beautiful suites, classified as Standard, Junior and Master, will please you with their decoration and unique style, since they are equipped with the amenities that you need. The hotel architecture and sensory focusing offer an unforgettable experience, since every scent, every texture and combination of color are designed for your pleasure. Location: Quinta Río is conveniently located on the new tourist corridor called “Paseo Universidad”, in Querétaro Historic Center, 400 m from “Plaza de Armas”, the main plaza. You will be near important businesses, malls and tourist attractions of this beautiful colonial city. We offer Airport-Hotel transfer with previous reservation and extra cost (about 25 min. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing