We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique
Ranked #27 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed for one week while attending a professional conference in the Naranjo room. The hotel was wonderful. The location was perfectly centralized but not in the noise of the center square. The interior of the hotel was very beautiful with terraces and gardins, open to the sky. I would rise early in the morning and practice t'ai chi on the terrace under the stars. Breakfast was excellent and on the last day I requested a special mexican dish which was prepared for just for me. The hostess was also very helpful even sending one of her employees to the pharmacy with me when I needed something but did not have the spanish skills to explain it. I regret that I did not have time to use the bicycles that were available at the hotel. I am sure that I will come back with my family.

Room Tip: My room was very large and comfortable, almost a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 199 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Casa Del Naranjo is an interesting small hotel, made inviting by a friendly and helpful staff. But the two rooms we stayed in were far too over-decorated and under-lighted to create a truly comfortable setting for guests. The Moroccan themed Ciruelo suite was very dark and overloaded with kitschy light fixtures and beaded curtains. But the sheets were clean and good. The water hot and the shower strong. Many nice things to recommend this hotel, but a purge of knick-knacky decor touches would lend a welcome sense of space and light to the rooms.

Room Tip: Ciruelo suite is dark and includes a pretty useless "sitting" room filled with cushions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiritedWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The patios are relaxing, the hot breakfast is impressive with menu selections, and the roof top
is a great place to relax. Select a room far from the main hallway and office. Also, the website should include a precise map were the included parking is located. La Casa del Naranjo is located on a busy and narrow street so there is no way to stop and ask where to park without jamming up the traffic for blocks.
The inn is well located. Park your car and forget about it. You can walk through the entire Historic Center without a problem. The city is vibrant with family activities and very clean.

Room Tip: Don't take the room called La Vid. It's on the main hallway between the office and the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SraWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent a very nice weekend here. Our room was El Manzano and our travel companions were in La Vid, both on the main floor. La Vid’s door and window open onto the main walkway and one of the patio areas, which meant increased noise for the residents in that room. An upstairs room might be preferable, or the ones at the end of the hallway (Manzano and Durazno). The rooms were nicely decorated, the bedding very clean, there were large towels and full-size containers of body wash, shampoo, and hand lotion. The water pressure was excellent, although it took a full 5 minutes for the hot water to reach our rooms. Breakfast was a choice of delicious spicy ham and eggs, or hot cakes with honey, or yogurt and muesli. Also included were tasty toasted whole grain bread, fresh squeezed juice, coffee and tea. There were a number of pleasant sitting areas on both levels and beverage/bar service was available by making a request at the desk. Parking was confusing and frustrating – we tried repeatedly to get information in advance, but were told not to worry about it and just come to the hotel (for which we also could not get directions). There was nowhere to pull the car off to the side when we arrived and traffic was heavy so we parked in the only parking garage we could find nearby, which was not the correct one. We walked to the hotel from there and were given directions to the correct parking location, but the directions were wrong (wrong directions on one-way streets), eventually we found it. When we left at 9:30 on Sunday morning the parking location was closed, but a call to the hotel brought someone to open up for us within 10 minutes. By the way, the young ladies at the front desk speak English very well and were very helpful in giving restaurant recommendations and arranging for cabs. This is a lovely, interesting place in a great location, but as is the case with many of these places with inner courtyards and rustic doors and windows, you will hear the other guests as they move about. It’s very close to the heart of the city, yet is designed in such a way that it’s a retreat from the activity of the city.

Room Tip: La Vid’s door and window open onto the main walkway and one of the patio areas, which meant increase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Somehow they managed to create a new guest room, a seventh one, called Arrayán, and when I walked in my jaw dropped. The decor is just amazing, very tastefully done and quite Mexican in flavor. There are accent lights galore, and when you turn them all on the room is almost too bright. (How often do you find that?) Turn off the main light but turn on all the accent lights, and you have a most romantic look, and I found that level ideal for reading.

The bathroom, again, tastefully decorated and well lit, with a rainfall shower head I was tempted to take home with me.

The bed has a very deep, soft mattress which I found quite comfortable - but then I like the firm ones too. So deep the sheets barely managed to tuck in under the bottom, so they needed a bit of straightening before bedtime. No big deal. I noticed there were four slightly different pillows (not including the decorative ones), meaning it was easy to find a favorite among them. Nice touch.

WiFi signal was excellent (5/5), and when I reported a problem with the internet one day, before I knew it they had some people over to fix it. (Probably a simple matter of rebooting the router; a common problem.)

The room is on the interior of the building, with curtained (and closable) windows to the corridor and fresh air from above. I kept the main window open but curtains drawn, and didn't mind the occasional noise from people walking by. I get the sense this is one of their smaller rooms, but it sure didn't feel small. A very high ceiling gives it a spacious feel.

Breakfast was generally excellent (I think I got a full two eggs each day, maybe more), though the coffee was a bit sour the first morning (bad batch?); it was fine after that. Staff was friendly and helpful.

And the hotel's location couldn't be any better - a quick walk to everything.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViajeroPerdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Cute rooms. But the room we had was extremely small. Rooms are clean enough and grounds are quiet.
Having said that I will tell you my problem with the hotel. First the Jacuzzi is broke. Second breakfast is included, But the size of the breakfast was comical. I would estimate that it is about 1 1/2 eggs scrambled, And one piece of toast with one butter per person. I could have even dealt with that but the problem was that I was sick with the flu. The room was so small I did not want to choke out my guest so I use the bathroom in the lobby. The toilet paper ran out on my first visit and from that point on I had to bring it from my room so obviously it was never checked from the afternoon until morning. No Hand towels either. I was too sick to stay so we had to leave. But the front office charged me for another night. There are much better values out there. The price is boarder line offensive. I know the owner likes to rebut the comments. Plain and simple too expensive think twice

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morehnarvaez, Propietario at La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013
Google Translation

Thank you for writing us, your comments will help us to identify our weak points in order to keep improving day by day and to avoid these kind of situations again.

In order to give you an oportune and precise answer, I’ve been investigating myself about what happened to you during your stay in our hotel.

·The ladies from the front desk told me that you reserved El Durazno room, wich it is the smallest of all the other rooms with a matrimonial bed. This room was the only one we had available ,we were full due to the mexican holidays from those dates. The front desk agents told me they informed you about these situation and that you were requesting a bigger room, but it was imposible for us to give you another room.

· Thay also told me that you reserved for 3 nights . That the next day after your arrival you wanted to cancel the other 2 nights because your were feeling sick and you wanted to leave. Unfortunately, we have only 7 rooms and according to our cancelation statement: If you cancel the same day or 24 hours before your arrival we have make the charge. I verified myself that these infomation was sent to you at the moment of the reservation and perhaps you didn’t see the cancelation statement link.

· I know the front desk agents can’t ignore the hotel policies, but they made an exception by cancelling the third night without any charge considering your health condition. I was also told that you were aware of the fact that if we were able to sell the night of the day you left, we would have refunded you the cost of that night. Unfortunately it wasn’t possible to sell it, that is why we didn’t return you the charge we made.

· According to the comical breakfast, I don’t know what so say, because we always try to give our best in service and quality on everything, and there is no limit in bread service. Related to the eggs, we normally serve two per person and this is only one option of six different menus to choose. All of the them included coffe or tea, orange juice, traditional bread and handmade jam. The last one I prepare it myself with seasonal fruits. All of these was offered to you, wasn’t it? Our chef, named Maritza sends you an apologize because she didn’t understand that you wanted more bread and you were unsatisfied. Sitation that I also regret.

·There is a thing I don’t understand yet, maybe it is a mistake of language comprehension, but you mentioned that the jacuzzi was broken? I know that you didn’t use the one that is located upstairs on the terrace, I think you didn’t requested it obviously it wasn’t the best thing due to your health condition. Also, there wasn’t a jacuzzi in the room you occupied. Please, if you can give me more information about this, I can clarify or understand what this is about.

· Acording to the lack of paper and facial towels, the housekeeper claimed that your room was fully equiped when you arrived, I have no way no verify this. But I believe in what you are telling me, and once again I’m truly sorry about this mistake.

I comment you that I’m not used to refute the reviews, I am only trying to let know to the people who weren’t satisfied with our service that we really take serious their comments. We offer a sincere apologize and an explanation to each situation that you have informed us about. Fortunately this is the second time in 4 years that I have to do this and I do it with good disposition and really sincere.

We don’t have refunds, but what I can offer you with pleasure is to keep your reservation open from the second night you paid for the next six months, so you can use it or another person you tell us to use it. I offer this, because I want to compensate for all the bad situations you experienced before with us and with the purpouse of offeting a big apologize. I can offer any of our rooms, even the bigger one: El Naranjo, wiht King size bed the and only one that has an individual jacuzzi tub. I only ask kindly that you send us your request in advance in order to avoid again the availability issues.

Once again I am truly sorry, and I keep my invitation for you to come to our hotel for a second time, I really hope my words can transmit my honesty when writing them.

I really wish you have recovered from your flu, and I send you kind regards.
Sincerely yours,
I am at your disposal if you need further information or anything you want to comment me.

PS: I write you this in spanish as is my native language and is easy for me to communicate, I also know that your wife knows spanish perfectly, however I send you this text in english as well.

EN ESPAÑOL

De antemano gracias por sus comentarios, éstos nos ayudan muchisimo a identificar los puntos de insatisfacción de los huéspedes y mejorar día con día.

Para poder darle una respuesta oportuna y precisa, me he dado a la tares de indagar la situación que nos comenta le sucedió durante su estancia en el hotel.

* Me dicen las chicas de recepción, que ud reservó la habitación del Durazno, que es efectivamente la más pequeña del hotel, con cama matrimonial; siendo la única habitación que le pudieron ofrecer debido a que el hotel estaba con cupo total por la fecha, coincidente con el día feriado aquí en México. Lo que me comentan se le informo en tiempo y forma ya que usted nos solicitaba otra habitación, más grande, pero que nos fue imposible darle.

*También me dicen que reservó tres noches con nosotros. Que al siguiente día de su llegada, quiso cancelar las dos noches restantesvdado que venía usted enfermo de gripa y que se sentía muy mal y quería irse. Desafortunadamente y debido a lo pequeño del hotel (solo 7 habitaciones) nuestras politicas de cancaleción no pueden realizarse sin costo si se hacen el mismo día o con 24 horas de antelación, dado que se niegan por respeto a su reserva garantizada, verifiqué personalmente que esta información se le hubiese enviado oportunamente en el momento de la reservación y estuviera usted al tanto de ello, y según el mail que le enviaron así fue, lamentablemente quizá por omisión usted no se percató de esto.

*Tengo entendido que a pesar de que las chicas de recepcion no pueden pasar por alto las políticas del hotel, hicieron una excepción cancelando la tercera noche de ocupación sin costo alguno para usted, atendiendo a su petición debido a que efectivamente estaba Ud muy muy enfermo, y deseaba retirarse. Me comentan que también se le hizo saber que si lograbamos vender la noche de ese mismo día que usted nos estaba cancelando. no tendríamos ningún inconveniente en rembolsarle el monto correspondiente, y con lo cual amablemente estuvo de acuerdo. Le comento que desafortunadamente no fue posible venderla y bueno, por lo mismo no se hizo este movimiento.

*En cuanto a lo que comenta de lo cómico del desayuno, no se que decirle, pues me extraña enormemente dado que intentamos ofrecer el mejor servicio y calidad en todo y no hay una limitante en cuanto a las raciones de pan, como la de los huevos, que por lo general es de 2 por persona, y ésta es sólo una opción de los seis menus diferentes a elegir, acompañados de cafe o te, jugo de naranja, pan artesanal y mermelada preparada en la Casa, la cual elaboro yo misma con frutas de temporada, y que no se si le ofrecieron o no?? La chica de cocina, Maritza nuestra Chef le envía una disculpa por no haber entendido que deseaba usted más pan y que había quedado insatisfecho. Situación que igualmente lamento.

*Lo que si no entiendo y quizá sea error de comprensión por el idioma, es que menciona que el Jacuzzi estaba roto?? Tengo entendido que no utilizaron el que se ubica en la terraza, creo que no lo solicitaron, y pienso que hubiera sido lo menos indicado dado el estado de salud en que se encontraba, y por otro lado en la habitación que ocupó no exite un jacuzzi. Si me pudiera dar más información, con gusto podría aclarar este punto o entender de qué se trata.

*En cuanto a la falta de papel y toallas faciales, me asegura la recamarista que su habitación estaba totalmente equipada a su llegada, pero bueno ella no va aceptar su omisión y no tengo manera de comprobarlo, por lo creo enlo que usted nos comenta y lamento le haya sucedido este error.

Le comento que no acostumbro refutar ninguna critíca, solamente hacerle saber a la persona que ha quedado insatisfecha con nuestro servicio, que se toman muy en serio sus comentarios, se le escucha y lo más importante se le ofrecce una disculpa sincera y una aclaración de cada punto que nos ha tenido a bien informar por este medio. Afortunadamente en 4 años, esta es la segunda ocasión en que tengo que hacerlo y con sinceridad y buena disposición lo hago.

Dado que no tenemos reembolsos, lo que le puedo ofecer con todo gusto es mantener abierta la reservación de la segunda noche que pagó, por los proximos seis meses, cuando usted o la persona que nos indique tengan a bien utilizarla. Esto con el ánimo de compensar las molestias que tuvo durante su estancia con nosotros, y con el propósito de disculparnos por los inconvenientes pasados. Le podemos ofrecer cualquiera de nuestras habitaciones, quizá la más amplia y grande del hotel, la habitación El Naranjo con cama King Size y la única que cuenta con tina de jacuzzi individual. Sólo le pido, si fuera tan amable que nos haga llegar la solicitud con tiempo para no tener problemas de disponibilidad nuevamente.

Le reitero mis disculpas, así como mi invitación a venir al hotel por una segunda ocasión y espero mis palabras logren trasmitirle la honestidad de mi intención al escribirlas.

Deseo se haya recuperado de su gripa, y les envío un cordial saludo.
Quedo a sus órdenes para cualquier cosa que desee comentarme.

PD. Le escribo en español por ser la facilidad al ser mi lengua materna, y dado que sé que su esposa lo habla perfecto, sin embargo lo envío este texto también en ingl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Clean, comfortable, beautiful room.. small, peaceful hotel.. quaint terrace with a hot tub.. delicious breakfasts including the best orange juice I've ever had anywhere.. and the staff were all very friendly despite my limited Spanish speaking skills. I would highly recommend this hotel! They'll be my first choice when I return to Queretaro.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IL-STLtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Atrio
La Casa del Atrio
#1 of 94 in Queretaro City
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique
Casona de la Republica Hotel Bou...
#51 of 94 in Queretaro City
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mansion del Burro Azul Hotel & Spa
La Mansion del Burro Azul Hotel ...
#13 of 94 in Queretaro City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa del Villar
Hotel Villa del Villar
#36 of 94 in Queretaro City
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Xavier
Hotel San Xavier
#30 of 94 in Queretaro City
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
#46 of 94 in Queretaro City
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle Miguel Hidalgo 21 | Col Centro, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Price Range: $88 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Del Naranjo, An Exclusively Beautiful Boutique Hotel With The Air Of A Traditional Casona Lightly Softened With Modern Touches; Where The Charm Of Residing With Us Is A True Pleasure. Located In The Heart Of The Historic Center Of Queretaro, While Retaining The Soul Of A Secret Refuge, Our Six Luxurious Suites, Completely Individualised Are A True Discovery For The Lover Of Fine Living. The Hotel Also Offers An Excellent Spa Service And All Prices Include Breakfast, Parking And Taxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing