We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up On a Hill”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hornell
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Location wise it's a great place, near highway but far enough not to hear traffic noise. Rooms are quite large. They remodeled bath room new tub, flooring, but... the shower sucks. Cheap shower head that shoots water out, than it cause a breeze that makes shower curtain blow into shower sticking on to you.
Breakfast was a laugh go somewhere else to eat. We were in a separate building from front desk had to walk up hill to get to breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for the comment and we do enjoy that it is up here on a hill away from all the busy town and highway. We do have several different buildings and we are sorry that you had to walk up the hill to get breakfast. We do however have a big selection that is more than what an Econo Lodge has to offer. I look forward to you coming back to the area and staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 94 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

There is more than one building and we must have been in the worst. Wallpaper coming off wall, box springs with holes and both chairs with nasty stains. Plus side was a friendly staff cant believe this particular one is associated with choice hotels,

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

So, sorry that you thought the room was so bad. We have made updates with new beds and this winter we are going to be working inside the rooms with updates to the walls. I am glad that the staff was very nice and pleasant, I as the manager strive to make everyone's experience here a good experience. I also, take pride in my staff being friendly and pleasant to all our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had to wait over a half hour to finally get our RESERVED rooms. Once we came in to our non smoking room it reeked of smoke. I killed 3 spiders in the room and they charged us $40 for the roll away beds! This stay was awful and I will not return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pandahugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

I am so sorry that you had a long wait. If your room smelled of smoke you could of asked to be moved. The cost of a cot is $10.00 per cot per night. I would also, like to let you know we are working on doing updates to our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Seriously disgusting. Front lawn at bottom of hill was poorly maintained at a foot high snake haven that made me nervous. With allergy to smoke the front office reaked of it upon my arrival. Around the walls and bed were dust and dirt, clearly minimal housekeeping. Stayed a few months ago and was happy. This stay was complete change. Staff was rude and unconcerned with complaint on remote broken. Also ignored a request at breakfast to warm the ice cold hot water for tea. Clearly never had been changed. New management? So says the sign, maybe that is the issue or maybe it was due to busy weekend due to college graduation nearby. Peeling wallpaper broken window, how could you rent such a room? We stayed in different building this time and price was raised twenty bucks. You take a gamble staying here

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We have done updates to the rooms and the landscaping is kept well maintained. We also, have plans for the future to keep doing updates as we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff is always friendly and helpful, my room was spacious and very clean, breakfast was a nice assortment, with a abundance of coffee, had a wonderful view from my 2cnd story room, had great time in the area for my sons graduation at Alfred University, thank you Econo I will come here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your stay with us and I am so glad to read such a great response from our guest. I look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is very old and was dirty and had poor conditions. It's Out dated....
The gentlemen at Front desk was very nice though, we checked in very late at night.
I Put up the do not disturb sign and maid came in anyway...
Tub would fill up during shower...was so gross !
It is better than the super 8. But for the cost you can stay in town at best western.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank mb h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Sorry that you felt that this was a bad place to stay we are doing updates gradually. I am glad you had a good experience with our front desk and sorry if our housekeeper walked in on you. I have spoken to our housekeepers about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Well-maintained and very clean, large rooms in a much older property from another age. Room décor is somewhat dated, but not as old as the structure. Nice location, far from street noise and close to the Interstate. Good mattress and pillows; sheets and towels and linens slightly above average for this level. Breakfast is well-tended, but very basic. Helpful staff. Not far from somewhat more interesting restaurants than those nearby. Depending on season for desirability, second floor patio rooms available. Yes, hairdryers available. Shows care.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzophyllum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for the review and we have been doing some updating to our rooms. We look forward to your return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornell
2.8 mi away
Best Western Maple City Inn
17.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Bath Hammondsport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
22.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wellsville
17.3 mi away
Budget Inn Bath
Budget Inn Bath
#3 of 4 in Bath
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 7462 Seneca Rd N, Hornell, NY 14843-9141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hornell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hornell
Price Range: $59 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRAVELING MORE OFTEN IS IMPORTANT FOR YOUR HEALTH AND HAPPINESS!!!!! Hornell Econo Lodge is located directly off I-86 over looking the small quaint town. It's nestled in a quiet secluded area with a beautiful scenic overlook. We offer outdoor PET FRIENDLY rooms that you may drive right up to, or you may prefer our two story balcony rooms to enjoy our view. If you rather an indoor Corridor, well we offer that as well! Our townhouses and suites are fully furnished and include all the amenities offered. Each room is spacious with microwaves/ fridge, table and seating for two, full sized beds or upgrade to king.(our king room Offers a wonderful writing/work space, great for those traveling on business or maybe just a getaway for rest/relaxation). Faxing and printing available as we are open 24 hours. All rooms have HIGH SPEED INTERNET streaming through them and include HBO. We have partnered with many area restaurants and lounges; they are offering discounted items on their menu as well as specials. JUST SHOW YOUR ECONO LODGE ROOM KEY! We have just updated our rooms with New Beds and New Flat Screen televisions. We have also, partnered up with the Hornell YMCA. The YMCA have given us some passes to their facility for 2 years, We are allowed to use there facility and many amenities that they offer. Come stay with us and check out the new updated rooms that we have and also the YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hornell
Hornell Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing