We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful service from staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Hornell
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hornell
Reviewed January 21, 2013

the staff was great including the service i recieved. they are very dedicated as i was checkin and out by the same employee, and she made me feel at home with how friendly she was.

the bathroom mat in the tub was pealing up, but i made her aware of it and she promised to have it addressed. i still took a bath and it did not hinder the function of the tub/ shower. i still took my bath!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econo l, Manager at Econo Lodge Hornell, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! i DO have the best staff ever and they LOVE all our guests. i must admit, the desk clerk that did your check in and out, mentioned you to me! with that being said thank you for being an outstanding guest and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

We needed to find a quick place to stay on our way to the mountains about a month ago. I was excited because they had a room available. My children and I checked in and found several silverfish bugs on the floor. I figured no big deal...it is in the middle of a grassy area. I pulled down the bedsheets and checked under the mattress as I always do and there were SILVERFISH bugs all over the mattresses. They did refund my money, but it took 72 hours and no one even apologized or said they would address the problem....I was horrified!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econo l, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Hornell, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

We sincerely apoligize for your experience with us to have gone the way that it did. Our staff since then, has been informed on how to address any form of complaint with a guest starting with an apology. There is no excuse for what has happened here, but we have taken extreme action in maintaining rooms, double checking each room before and after a guest stays as well as being proactive, putting a plan into action for all pest control. Our location is beautiful and its scenic overview is breath taking, allowing for a quiet, relaxing overnight stay. along with its great location comes a select few unwanted problems that we now have a handle on. thank you for bringing such an issue to our attention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

we have stayed at this motel 4 times in the past and never had an issue. this time the bed was wet when we checked in and remained so all weekend. the bathroom door did not close, our friends room was not clean, and they ran out of food and coffee both days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lori s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econo l, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Hornell, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

first, we acknowledge your complaint and are very apologetic for any experience that does not meet our guests expectations. we have never had this issue before or after your stay, its unfortunate that this date in paticular, did not go as well as your other past overnight stays with us. some things are out of our hands, but we have since updated our housekeeping precedures as well as how we monitor thier job related performance. at anytime if and when we have a guest with an issue with the room that they are assigned upon arrival, they are immediatly given a new room. no questions asked. recently, we have taken precautionary action to be sure any room in waiting for a guest to arrive goes through an extensive check over not once, but twice. we appreciate this feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The value of this place is perfect. We recently stayed this weekend for Alfred university's alumni weekend. Our rooms were clean, staff friendly and nice. Very convienent location. Manager was on duty on Sunday and was very accommodating with the checkout process as several couples wanted to split the pay for rooms at checkout. Not one problem with doing this. Good value and pet friendly and free continental breakfast.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econo l, Manager at Econo Lodge Hornell, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

thank you so much for leaving your review! we are under new management and hope to allow all our guests in the future to have the same experience as yours - econo lodge staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have stayed here more than once, having a child at Alfred University. But we do prefer the Comfort Inn as it is much better. Our last stay, there was no air conditioning, but someone came over and showed us how to turn it on. All the air conditioners in the units with balconies have unpainted wood framed around them. The balcony railings are all loose. Our toilet was not bolted to the floor, it was very loose. The carpeting should probably be replaced from the looks of it. We do not eat breakfast here, but usually go down the street to Country Kitchen.

Places like this have to be maintained, the lawn desperately needed mowing. Our view of the broken down post & rail fence by Rupert's Restaurant (closed) was OK.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank RiverRat1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econo l, Manager at Econo Lodge Hornell, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

its very upsetting to know we are loosing a patron like yourself due to lack of proper authority, unfortunatly a handful of a few guests were effected. now, under new management and solution focused owners we have fixed such problems and are doing all there is to prevent such events from ever occuring again. thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I recently stayed at this "Lodge" to attend my son's College Graduation the next day. When we arrived there we were confused where to go as it is on this road with really no sign. Then when you pull up you think your at a Apartment complex! The room was clean but shotty, Old tv's that only got 4 stations, no internet connection like they claim they have . No iron or ironing board in the rooms, and no hairdryers! I was appalled that they had no hair dryer as I couldn't dry my hair or curl it for my son's graduation! Breakfast was shotty also. If items were gone they were gone. When asking for more you got attitude and rolled eyes. The dining area is very small and barely enough room to move around to get a cup of coffee or find the milk! I would not stay here again as we were charged $139.00 for one night and my daughter stayed in Bath Ny at a Micro Motel and paid half the price for a nice room with a jacuzzi and breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammytigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econo l, Manager at Econo Lodge Hornell, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

its too bad your experience wasnt the best during your stay here. i was not an employee during the time of your stay, but as of now our tv"s are checked regularly to be sure all are running correctly, our internet "issue" in the past, has been resolved other then the basic problems that may occur with ANY connection. almost all of our rooms have irons and boards in the dresser and for those that dont we offer them in our office. one phone call and it is delivered to the room as well as hair dryers. i know that all hotels prices vary due to season and availability but our standard rate is $69.99. thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Very nice experience, and the price was perfect. We only needed a one night stay for a travel stop, so we weren't here for long, but we would definitely stay longer if needed. The room was clean and surprisingly spacious, and it has legit heat, not just a single unit window heater. TV service was fine, and the Internet signal was strong and fast, even though we were NOT near the lobby. Best of all, though, the price was $30 less than anything else in the vicinity. It is a little hard to find, as it is not visible from the interstate, but follow the signs and you'll be fine. (lol that rhymes)

Overall, it met and slightly exceeded our expectations, and we would stay here again.

P.S. I honestly don't know what's up with the bad reviews. I read them before we came but found none of the same problems/ complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elizajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornell
17 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
2.9 mi away
Best Western Maple City Inn
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Hornell NY
Days Inn Hornell NY
#3 of 4 in Hornell
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Hornell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Hornell

Address: 7462 Seneca Rd N, Hornell, NY 14843-9141
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hornell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hornell
Price Range: $54 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Hornell 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EconoLodge is located directly off I-86 over looking the small quaint town of Hornell. It's nestled in a quiet and secluded area with a beautiful landscape. It offers different room type options so whatever your preference is, it could very well be met. It has outdoor rooms that can be driven right up to, two story balcony rooms to enjoy our view and an indoor corridor. Each room is spacious with a flat screen t.v., microwave, fridge, table and seating for two. Come and enjoy our full sized beds or upgrade to a king. Continental breakfast will be ready at 6 a.m.-10 a.m.. Smoking and pet friendly rooms are available upon request. All rooms have high speed internet streaming through them and include HBO. Ice, beverage and vending machines are conveniently placed in the main areas. We are open for business 24 hours/7 days a week. If you would like to extend your visit or need temporary housing we also have individually owned townhouses and suites in which are fully furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Hornell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hornell Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing