We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought we were in an apartment complex!!!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hornell
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I recently stayed at this "Lodge" to attend my son's College Graduation the next day. When we arrived there we were confused where to go as it is on this road with really no sign. Then when you pull up you think your at a Apartment complex! The room was clean but shotty, Old tv's that only got 4 stations, no internet connection like they claim they have . No iron or ironing board in the rooms, and no hairdryers! I was appalled that they had no hair dryer as I couldn't dry my hair or curl it for my son's graduation! Breakfast was shotty also. If items were gone they were gone. When asking for more you got attitude and rolled eyes. The dining area is very small and barely enough room to move around to get a cup of coffee or find the milk! I would not stay here again as we were charged $139.00 for one night and my daughter stayed in Bath Ny at a Micro Motel and paid half the price for a nice room with a jacuzzi and breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammytigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econo l, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

its too bad your experience wasnt the best during your stay here. i was not an employee during the time of your stay, but as of now our tv"s are checked regularly to be sure all are running correctly, our internet "issue" in the past, has been resolved other then the basic problems that may occur with ANY connection. almost all of our rooms have irons and boards in the dresser and for those that dont we offer them in our office. one phone call and it is delivered to the room as well as hair dryers. i know that all hotels prices vary due to season and availability but our standard rate is $69.99. thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 94 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

Very nice experience, and the price was perfect. We only needed a one night stay for a travel stop, so we weren't here for long, but we would definitely stay longer if needed. The room was clean and surprisingly spacious, and it has legit heat, not just a single unit window heater. TV service was fine, and the Internet signal was strong and fast, even though we were NOT near the lobby. Best of all, though, the price was $30 less than anything else in the vicinity. It is a little hard to find, as it is not visible from the interstate, but follow the signs and you'll be fine. (lol that rhymes)

Overall, it met and slightly exceeded our expectations, and we would stay here again.

P.S. I honestly don't know what's up with the bad reviews. I read them before we came but found none of the same problems/ complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elizajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My family recently returned to Hornell for a funeral and we rented several rooms here. Yes, the hotel has seen better days and was quite the beautiful hotel a few years ago. That said, the room was spotless and the sheets and towels white and fresh. There is a breakfast in the morning and the location is very quiet for being off the highway. The price was the cheapest of the other hotels in the area and if you don't care if you have a fancy TV or room service then I would recommend staying here. The furniture is dated, but perfectly fine and clean. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzeQFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We made reservations here as a halfway.stop on our trip. Door had appeared to have been kicked in several times. Myself, husband and three kids stayed in a double room and got a rollaway. YOU WILL GET THREE TOWELS, NO MATTER WHAT...NO MORE, EVEN WHEN REQUESTED- EXPLAINING 3 TOWELS WILL NOT WORK FOR FIVE PEOPLE! This place is very dated and the beds are really horrible. If we would have required a multiple night stay near Hornell I would not have stayed a second night!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leasha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econo l, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

your stay with us was two years ago, i was not the manager at that time. but i would first like to apoligize for the experience that you had. this type of service is not acceptable....ever. at this time we offer as many towels a guest may ask for as well as any other need they may have. It is this very reason why the change in management was made, yet there is no excuse for your experience. all i can say after a heart felt sorry, is that these issues have all been addressed and its a promise from me to all future guest a happy satisfied stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I made the mistake of staying here on two occasions... And you know the old saying, "blank me once, shame on you, blank me twice, shame on me?" yeah... Shame on me.

The first time I stayed here was in winter and the room thermostat had been shut off for apparently the entire season. It was set at 50 degrees, and unfortunately, they use electric baseboard heaters which no kidding took 4 hours and 15 minutes for the temperature to creep up to about 68 degrees or so.

The second time I stayed here was about a month later and opted for the townhouse (it was only $90) separate bedroom, and living room, fridge, microwave, semi-furnished kitchen, etc... Wow. It was gross.

The microwave when I opened it was black with mold. Not a "little bit" either (and not that that would have been okay either but still, There was a ton of mold in that thing)

When I turned on the bathwster, it actually came out brown for a few seconds and smelled like sewage.

Them, when I flushed the toilet, blue syrup came up. That was the proof that thus room had not been used or cleaned in at least a month.

Smelled terrible, and clerk was too busy "doing her taxes" to give a hoot.

Stay at Comfort Inn nearby if in the area-- let this Econo Lodge rot on it's own. Gross.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nquizitiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econo l, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

thank you for your review. recently when accepting my new position as manager, we began renovating our property. our townhouses have been stripped, cleaned and painted! they are now beautiful. i also require all staff to check all rooms that are reserved that day.....2xs. once housekeeping looks, second the desk clerk ending shift also checks. then i personally recheck. in doing so all heat is turned up and we know our promise to our guest of a clean warm room upon arrival will stand true. i am so sorry of your past experience, but it would be wonderful if you would allow me to show you a different side to our hotel! thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I stayed at Econo Lodge in Hornell for 3 nights and I will stay there again when in the area . The heat and hot water were great , the room was clean comfortable and cozy .
The free breakfast was good and the staff very nice and friendly .

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hank95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Travelled with three collagues in three seperate rooms, stayed two nights. Motel needs major updates, rooms are used up and worn out. All three of us experienced cold showers and when questioning the front desk received no offer of assistance or relocation. No alarm clocks in atleast two rooms. No internet in my room as advertised. When I questioned the front desk I was told "You probably don't get the internet in your room (location).Bugs crawling on bathroom floor. Ruperts is closed and up for rent .I will most likely e in Hornell multiple times over the next three years... I will not be returning to the Econolodge.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerfrommd051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornell
2.8 mi away
Best Western Maple City Inn
17.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Bath Hammondsport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
22.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wellsville
17.3 mi away
Budget Inn Bath
Budget Inn Bath
#3 of 4 in Bath
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 7462 Seneca Rd N, Hornell, NY 14843-9141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hornell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hornell
Price Range: $56 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRAVELING MORE OFTEN IS IMPORTANT FOR YOUR HEALTH AND HAPPINESS!!!!! Hornell Econo Lodge is located directly off I-86 over looking the small quaint town. It's nestled in a quiet secluded area with a beautiful scenic overlook. We offer outdoor PET FRIENDLY rooms that you may drive right up to, or you may prefer our two story balcony rooms to enjoy our view. If you rather an indoor Corridor, well we offer that as well! Our townhouses and suites are fully furnished and include all the amenities offered. Each room is spacious with microwaves/ fridge, table and seating for two, full sized beds or upgrade to king.(our king room Offers a wonderful writing/work space, great for those traveling on business or maybe just a getaway for rest/relaxation). Faxing and printing available as we are open 24 hours. All rooms have HIGH SPEED INTERNET streaming through them and include HBO. We have partnered with many area restaurants and lounges; they are offering discounted items on their menu as well as specials. JUST SHOW YOUR ECONO LODGE ROOM KEY! We have just updated our rooms with New Beds and New Flat Screen televisions. We have also, partnered up with the Hornell YMCA. The YMCA have given us some passes to their facility for 2 years, We are allowed to use there facility and many amenities that they offer. Come stay with us and check out the new updated rooms that we have and also the YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hornell
Hornell Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing