We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No finer Italian cuisine in Western New York.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marino's on Loder

Marino's on Loder
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Hornell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dansville, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“No finer Italian cuisine in Western New York.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I have patronized Marino's several times over the past half-dozen years, usually for special occasions, and it has become our favorite place for Italian cuisine and outstanding American-style fare. Although it offers the standard pasta and tomato sauce plates, it's Italian theme extends to a great variety of dishes, served in a pleasant, quiet brick-and-beam atmosphere by an attentive staff. It was here that I discovered the gastric joy of artichoke hearts in vinegar-and-oil green salad! Don't be put off by its location in what was once the red-light district adjacent to the Erie RR yards. The area is clean, with easy on-street parking, and there's a small RR museum in the restored railroad station across the street.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A True Gem in Hornell!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

We came to this restaurant to have a family celebration for our nephew who graduated college. The saying "Don't judge a book by it's cover" comes to mind. It doesn't look like much from the outside but we found it to be a very pleasant surprise! The food was amazing & the waitress could not have been nicer! If you are anywhere near
Hornell this little restaurant is a must!!!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlesparkplug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie pa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, nice bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The service is always attentive, the atmosphere clean with old Italian theme. The bar is average in size but has a great variety of martinis and other drink specials. The place is family owned but very popular among the higher end locals. The food is great and the menu has allot of options. It is one of the few places in the town of Hornell that continues to have consecutive compliments in a short period of time. Try it...I bet you will find it enjoyable! Not really an atmosphere from unruly children...like my own!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canaseraga, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

A very cozy place. We've eaten there numerous times and can't wait until the next time we go there. Every dish we've had there has been great. I can't even think of anything bad to say about the place.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Buzzard65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Once Again- Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

My steak was great and the atmosphere is pleasant. It's a nice clean place that tries hard in Hornell NY. They wouldn't make it in Brooklyn NY- but who cares? I wasn't in Brooklyn. I'll be back and I bet it will be enjoyable then as well.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twostick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marino's on Loder also viewed

Hornell, Finger Lakes
Hornell, Finger Lakes
 
Hornell, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Marino's on Loder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing