We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Stay in the off season”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kiambi Safaris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lower Zambezi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiambi Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay in the off season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in early December, the low season. It was nice, sometimes we felt as though we had the place to ourselves. We self-catered so have no reviews on the meals offered. The pools were cleaned each day, and one pool has a shade cover over it which was nice for our pale skin. Some of the rooms have better views than others, so might be worth asking before booking. We worked with Janine via email who was very helpful answering all our questions so there were no surprise costs when we were there. The prices of beer are not that bad, but the internet is pretty expensive - but you are in the middle of no where, so why would you want to be on the internet anyways? The sunset cruise was awesome! We saw elephants, hippos, alligator, and tons of birds. Our driver was very knowledgeable. The views over the river are stunning, our favorite spot was the upstairs balcony on the air-con bar. If you are adventurous, you can walk to nearby villages. There isn't much there, but the locals will great you with excitement.
We were in a luxory tented cabin with a fan. We had no problems with the heat and the bathroom was nice. Our room was cleaned everyday. Just be prepared to be in the wilderness, and expect to meet some wildlife in the bathroom, as it is outside.
The water is drinkable, which is nice so that you don't have to spend a ton of money on bottle water.

Room Tip: Be sure to clarify what is included in your price, and what is not. The rack rates that were sent to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin-RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    30
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
26
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to spend 4 nights over Christmas at Kiambi. We had a great time.

We stayed in the luxury air on rooms and found the rooms comfortable. The bathroom water pressure was a bit of a problem, as was not having a separate toilet, but otherwise we didn't want for anything. The meals were fine and the drinks were cold!

We were lucky to have great weather meaning we spent plenty of time in the pools, which were a huge relief from the heat of the valley!

The lodge standard is good, but certainly not great.( let's say a good 3 1/2 star) but great for a few days on the river with family and friends!

We will go back, however if you do go in the summer season, make sure you book an air on room, otherwise it would be unpleasantly hot! The views are amazing........probably the best sundowner view on the river!!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived to find a quaint lodge with few guests, beautiful settings, and a wonderful view of the Zambezi River. The people we met were friendly (from fellow guests to employees). The full bouquet DSTV in the room was a wonderful addition as the cartoon channels kept the kids occupied during quiet times. It is a very nice lodge with a lot of potential. My only concern is that the name 'luxury lodge' was a little misleading for me. There are two areas the lodge must look into quite seriously:

1. Accommodation quality: We were sharing a room with my 2 children and found no mosquito nets for the extra beds, so the kids slept on the main bed and my wife and I took one of the single beds each. However, the mosquito net for the main bed was too small and we had to improvise. Lastly, we did not get insect repellent throughout our trip or any insecticide on the first night. These are basic supplies for a luxury bush safari otherwise you end up as we did - a bug and insect fest in and outside the room
2. Food/ general catering: when we found lunch on the first day consisted of a choice of ham or vegetable pizza (no starters, no greens, no dessert) we should have known costs were being cut. Supper consisted of rice, beef satay, green salad, and fruit crumble for dessert (full stop). Most people have a wider variety at home. I could go on, but all the meals were just as limited.

The value for money was a little wanting, after all the basic requirements for any holiday is to sleep and eat well; then everything else is a bonus. I would recommend the lodge to others, but with heavy caveats on the 'luxury' part. If they sort that bit, I would happily visit again

Room Tip: With a family, the self-catering I believe is the best option, otherwise the air conditioned rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Located 4 hours drive south east of Lusaka. if you don t have your own vehicle get prepared to pay 300 USD for one way. Nice and spacious tents with bathroom and shower but no airconditioning available while outside temp gets easily above 40 C. The pool is very very small. Meals are very basic as to quality. The view on sunset and sunrise is breathtaking, but like everywhere else in Africa I dare say Suset/sunrise cruise is nothing like so special, unless you get easily excited by few hippos and maybe 4 elephants on the (private) island. Price on Full Board for two 300 USD/night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiancifiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The luxury rooms don't have the views that the cheaper rooms have? New rooms back onto the noisy workshop? Every meal, something was raw/undercooked? Not one member of staff greeted me in three days. I always had to greet first. Not once did the barman ask me if I would like a drink or come over to refill our glasses. He just sat behind the bar. The staff look on at you begrugingly as if to say, 'now I have to work'. Jimmy and Janine who manage the place jump around, but its not enough. Tobias, the boat guide was faultless! To put it in a nutshell, the place is hugely over priced for what you get. Just because you are in Zambia and on the Zambezi does not warrant poor service at high prices. Seems to be a Zambian Tourism issue as certainly in Zimbabwe, you are met with smiley faces, reasonable rates and awesome service, all under trying conditions. Guess Kiambi just the fall guy for Zambian idea of 'hospitality'.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Lucky enough to stay here 2 weekends in November 2012.
Views are stunning, Take the early morning cruise, you see much more wildlife.
Food is buffet style but plenty of it and good quality, bar is well stocked and a great place to relax and just chill.
Was in one of the tents, basic but plenty of room with a fan, fridge and power points. You needed the fan, on one of the days we showed 42 degrees temp from the car which was warm !
If in the area can well recommend, the journey from Lusaka is an interesting one and the river crossing on the pontoon is an experience to mingle with the locals.
People with me did the fishing day and had a great time, I decided to relax in the pool and bar !
Do give it a go if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
282 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Ever fantasised about having your very own safari lodge on the banks of the Zambezi? Well that fantasy came true when we stayed at the camp and were the only guests!

We arrived by car (4x2 - 4x4 not needed when we visited in the dry season) the road was gravel and pretty bumpy in places but generally ok. You also have to use a small ferry to cross the river about 7km from kiambi . The camp is about 22 km from chirundu, the nearest town .

We were staying in a safari tent overlooking the river. It was spacious with a dark wood floor and door frames . It had intact fly screens but no mosquito net, and a large desk fan. Given the 40 + degree heat when we visited I was concerned it would be unbearably hot at night but the fan kept us sufficiently cooled.

The bathroom was also dark wood and was 'open' ie wasn't enclosed with nets but we weren't bothered by insects.

The camp has a small pool by the bar and another down at the camp site which were ok for cooling off but too small to swim. There is also a separate bar with observation deck at the camp site too.

The restaurant area is set slightly back from the river and we had lunch there . Dinner was outside on the patio by the bar overlooking the river and next to the nightly bonfire. In general the food was tasty ( though there was no choice in what we were served) but there was just too much for the two of us!

We went on a sunset boat cruise and saw innumerable hippos and elephants - well worth the $ 25 each.

There always seemed to be plenty of staff on hand and they were all friendly and the camp seemed well run and organised by janine the manager.

At about $300 for two on a full board ( but no drinks) basis , kiambi is quite expensive but the location and standard of accommodation probably justify that. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and it's a place that we'll definitely remember.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Zambezi National Park
29.7 mi away
Royal Zambezi Lodge
Royal Zambezi Lodge
#1 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
9.3 mi away
Mount Hermon Safari Cottages
Mount Hermon Safari Cottages
#7 of 8 in Chiawa Conservancy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mvuu Lodge
Mvuu Lodge
#3 of 8 in Chiawa Conservancy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kiambi Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiambi Safaris

Property: Kiambi Safaris
Address: Lower Zambezi National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lower Zambezi National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Lower Zambezi National Park
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiambi Safaris is situated in the Lower Zambezi within the Chiawa Game Management area, near the confluence of the Zambezi and Kafue rivers. The closest town to the lodge is Chirundu, a mere 22 kms upriver, and the Lower Zambezi National park is situated 65 kms down river. Kiambi Safaris is strategically placed in a prime location high up on the very edge of the banks of the mighty Zambezi River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing