We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Bush Camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lower Zambezi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Mondoro Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We really like Old Mondoro. The camp is lovely and Dave and Tess were perfect hosts. They were very flexible and accommodating in arranging activities. Everyone at the camp is very friendly, professional and knowledgeable. The accommodation is rustic but extremely comfortable with everything you could possibly want in a bush camp. The food and wine are also very good. The location of the camp right on the Zambezi is fantastic. Game viewing is very good and elephants often visit the camp. The Lower Zambezi National Park is very beautiful with many varied habitats. We will certainly go back to Old Mondoro again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian and Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Old Mondoro Bush Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Old Mondoro was our last bush camp on a recent trip to Zambia and we couldn't have ended our safari time in a better spot. Starting with the 5 elephants surrounding our cabin when we arrived, we had wonderful experiences every single day. The game viewing was fantastic. Sebastian was a great guide. He found us all kinds of game, large and small, every day. The canoeing was quite the adventure when a hippo charged one of the canoes, made for a real adrenalin moment at the time...but a great story now!
The camp and entire staff were top notch, Pam and Ryan were the perfect hosts - ensuring everyone there had everything they needed. The food was out of this world...we're still remembering the mouth-watering barbecue.
The cabins were rustic but comfortable. Always wondering if an elephant would pop over the outdoor shower wall made showering quite the experience. Sitting on the deck of the cabin while elephants came to drink right in front of us every day was just fantastic. It was a bit chilly in mornings and after dark. The smarter travelers brought light gloves and knit hats. But, once again, the old Mondoro staff took care of everything and had blankets and hot water bottles in the jeep every morning before a game drive. Coming back in the evening to compare stories with a drink around a roaring fire was always the perfect end to our perfect days there. We'll be back!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank TEEVEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We are seasoned travelers but not in Africa...so my husband chose Old Mondoro to be sure we experienced a more traditional bush camp in addition to Chiawa and others. And what a great experience it was! Pam and Ryan were fine hosts who looked after the variety of personalities and quirks of the travelers during our 4-night stay. Circumstances had our guide from Chiawa (Wonderful Wallace) carry on to this camp with us. His knowledge, not only of the wildlife but how to position a photographer to capture it, was very much appreciated. His keen eyes and humor made each game drive or boat drive a delight.

Elephants outside your door; hippos seemingly under your bed...great food; fine company...a fantastic experience. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaSabaLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I had been to the sister camp (Chiawa) several times and finally decided to go to Old Mondoro this past May. I'm glad we did. The staff and guides are among the best in all of Africa. The food and accommodations, although slightly more rustic than Chiawa, are still top notch. Johan did a great job on the river where we caught several tigerfish (no whoppers, but still fun) and Victor and Johan both did a great job on land. You will have to get Victor to show you his grandfather's house in the bush! We saw all the normal game (lions, leopards, elephants, antelope of all sorts) and an aardvark! A truly great place.
We were sad to hear of the passing of Levy, one of the guides. We first met him in Chiawa years ago and then again at old Mondoro this past May. We feel like we have lost part of our family. We will miss him. That's how special this place is.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 71GRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a lovely world class resort. Spent 4 nights there at the end of June. Food outstanding, Staff were super and accomodating. This place is magical. Looking forward to going back in 2015 or 2016.
The game drives were great. Trip up the river on the boat near sunset on the the river was breathtaking. Ryan and Pam were super hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I have made 6 trips to sub-sahara Africa and have just returned from two weeks in Zambia. Old Mondoro is at the very top of our list of great game camps. Very well run. Warm and welcoming staff. Both the game drives and walks are superb with knowledgeable and personable guides. The food is excellent and the setting on the Zambezi can't be beat. We especially enjoyed canoeing on the "discovery channel." Can't say enough good things about Pam, Ryan and the entire staff. The other guests during our stay were also experienced and sophisticated travelers which made dinner and sundowners a wonderful opportunity to exchange stories.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

It just doesn't get any better than this. Many countries and many safaris. Old Mondoro is in our top two. This a special place with special people. Day and red light night drives where every effort possible is made on your behalf. The elimination of big game hunting and a serious effort to curtail poaching by the Zambian government bode well for the future.

If you are serious about fly fishing on the Zambezi River take your own fishing gear including toothy critter leaders.

We are planning a return trip as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank On-the-range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Zambezi National Park
0.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,746 reviews
0.0 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Zambezi Lodge
Royal Zambezi Lodge
#1 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amanzi Camp
Amanzi Camp
#8 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mondoro Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mondoro Bush Camp

Address: Lower Zambezi National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lower Zambezi National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Lower Zambezi National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Mondoro Bush Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing