We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
121
4
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush dinner lower zambezi the river game drives canoe trip lunch time individual lodges national park his knowledge his team trigger fish the reserve food was amazing evening safari animals wander family suite family safari
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 127 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2016

The Sausage Tree camp in Zambia came in second of the four camps we stayed at on Safari. The service was very good thanks to Philip. The food good and the breakfast/lounge area was the best of the 4 camps/lodges we stayed at. Game viewing was average at best. Surprisingly there was Wi-Fi in the lounge area. Unfortunately, there was no hot water for the two nights we stayed there, which is not acceptable for a camp like the Sausage Tree. In spite of informing the staff the first morning that there was no hot water, it still was not fixed for the next and last night. Taking a freezing cold shower out in the open on an absolutely freezing morning at 5am is not conducive to enjoying one’s safari. Therefore, due to the lack of hot water and the staff’s inability to fix it after the first night, we can give the Sausage Tree camp only a 2 ½ star rating. Disappointing.

Room tip: Make sure you have hot water before accepting a room
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Owner at Sausage Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Dear M O,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us at Sausage Tree Camp. I am very happy to read that you would put us in the number one spot of the lodges you visited for our Front of House Tent; as you probably know a lot of work and effort went into completely rebuilding this during the last off season and it is always reassuring to receive positive feedback.

I am very apologetic about the issue you seem to have had regards hot water in your tent during the early mornings. The Lower Zambezi National Park has recently become the first carbon neutral national park in the world, this status has been achieved by the dedication and commitment by all lodges/camps within and outside the boundaries of the park to drastically reduce their carbon footprints and impact on the environment. At Sausage Tree Camp one of the main ways we have achieved this is by moving our energy use over to Solar Power. Currently we run at 75% with the hopes of achieving 100% by the end of 2017.

Due to the solar hot water systems we use in our accomodation, sometimes if the hot water is completely drained during the evening showers the system is unable to reheat the water for a morning shower at 5am. But we do find that should guests shower after their morning activity that the solar system should have had a chance to heat up from the morning sun. I understand that with 3 people in your tent that this probably didn't help the situation either. I can only apologise and assure you that this comment has been taken on board and we are looking for a solution.

I was sorry to read your reviews about your other stays in Zambia that seem to have not lived up to your expectations. I do hope that you will come back not only to Zambia but to Sausage Tree Camp as well.

Once again thank you for your comments as they do ensure that issues and problems can be addressed to ensure we are able to offer the very best service possible. I will pass on your kind words to Philip and the rest of the team.

Regards,
Jason and the Sausage Tree Camp team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

We visited here as our second stop on our honeymoon and it was amazing. It was by a country mile, the loveliest of the 4 places we visited (and the other 3 were all brilliant) and there is not one negative comment i could make. The hosts Yuri and Ash are some of the nicest most welcoming people you will ever meet and they go out of their way to make you feel special and important. The accommodation/food/service/camp/staff/game drives/attention to detail was simply exceptional. If you are planning on doing a safari then i would make sure you get to visit Sausage Tree as you will not be disappointed, this camp is outstanding and we cant wait to return.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zlbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Owner at Sausage Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Dear Zlbenn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us at Sausage Tree Camp. A big congratulations on the "I do's!" and what a special way to spend your honeymoon. I am so glad that we were able to be part of your celebrations and do hope that you have returned home with many special and unique memories that you can look back on fondly.

I am so happy to read your very positive feedback about all aspects of camp and the national park and we do hope to welcome you back again!

I will pass on your kind words to Yuri, Ashley and the rest of the team.

Regards,
Jason and the Sausage Tree Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016

We arrived at Sausage Tree via light plane from Vic Falls and landed on a dirt strip. We were able to view the wide expanse of the lower Zambezi from the plane. Staff (including our guide Ryan) met us in a safari vehicle and drove us to the river where we waited for a family of elephant to leave so we could load onto the motor boat and travel the 20 mins or so along the river to this wonderful place. We were greeted warmly by our wonderful hosts Uri and Ashley. They are a wonderful couple, who run an amazing place. This camp consists of a huge open deck area with bar and dining equipped with comfortable lounges and everything one would want. This deck provides a never-ending view of animals that happen along, sometimes within meters. There are individual lodges along the river connected via paths. Animals roam freely and guests are always accompanied by a staff member especially at night when walking from the lodges to the main area. We travelled with another couple and stayed in Kigelia House with two en-suite bedrooms and a lovely central lounge area open on one side looking out over a pool to the river. It was winter so we didn’t use the pool (although the weather was fine and sunny and not cold except at night). We didn’t really bother the open, well-stocked bar either as we found that we filled our days so well and after a wonderful dinner on the deck by the open fire enjoying a nice wine or two with staff and guests, we just fell into bed! We were also delighted by the surprises that the staff organised for us and which we don’t want to spoil for future guests. We were very sorry to leave this place after 4 nights and could have stayed much longer. The staff are amazing – they even had a tailor who invisibly repaired some trousers that I had torn badly. We struggled to get a good coffee anywhere in Africa – but they have it here so far from anywhere.
As for our day to day activities….we were farewelled by Uri and Ash who greeted us with a staff member with hot towels on our return. This included canoe and boat trips along the river, day safaris (with sundowners), night safaris which give a whole different view of the animals and walking safaris. The vehicle was always ready with blankets in case we were cold and drinks and snacks. We learned so much from our guide Ryan. Ryan has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the wildlife which he passes on in a relaxed, friendly and entertaining way. The close contact with elephants, hippos, lions, leopards and all the region has to offer was exceptional. We travelled for weeks more through various parts of Africa and never had a guide who was more knowledgeable, who could spot and more importantly TRACK game, or we felt more comfortable with. Thank you Ryan for giving us such great experiences every day.
I can’t recommend Sausage Tree highly enough. Thanks Uri, Ash and Ryan!

PS We didn't get a good look at Potato Bush, the sister camp but it looks like lovely tented accommodation.

Room tip: There is no bad room and for a more economical stay, the adjoining Potato Bush Camp is true glamping.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 351BC351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Owner at Sausage Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Dear 351BC341,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us at Sausage Tree Camp.

Arriving by air really is a dramatic way to start your stay as you get a birds eye view of the river and countryside that will become your backyard for the next few days, and what fun it sounds like you had exploring with Ryan. Our guides are picked from the best of the best and your compliments to Ryan are a credit to him and our entire guiding team who's aim it is to ensure each guest leaves us with this same feeling of satisfaction.

Having completely rebuilt our Front of House tent during the last off-season with guest needs and comfort in mind, its very rewarding to read that the changes are being enjoyed and allow for some great "never ending views of animals" (as you say), and the chance to soak up one of the best views in Africa!

All the little touches don't seem to have gone unnoticed as you make mention of our special surprises, your invisible tailor, the wonderful baristas, blankets to keep you warm on activities in the cooler mornings and evenings and your drinks of choice always on hand for sundowners! Our amazing team of staff work tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure guests expectations are not only met but hopefully exceeded.

I will pass on your kind words to Ryan, Yuri, Ashely and staff and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
Jason and the Sausage Tree Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Our four night visit was the perfect end to an 11 day all-Zambia safari. Think of it as the Ritz with large animals. Spacious bungalows with top quality beds, baths and special touches (binoculars in your room, eco-friendly toiletries, cold filtered water in your room, full laundry service [including ladies unmentionables], and a private butler)! The guides are highly trained, personable and adept at finding and tracking lions, leopards and obscure nocturnal critters. Elephants, puku, impalas, baboons and flashy birds are everywhere. There's pretty much nothing Ashley, Yuri and the entire staff won't do to make your visit perfect. For folks who stay three nights or more there are a couple of memorable surprises which are write-home worthy. Be sure to take an early morning canoe float and a walking game drive with a protective scout. ST also has a beautiful pool and lounge area.

Room tip: All are top quality. Mine, first to the left of the common area as you face the river, had an enormous bathtub in addition to the shower.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BirdiOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Owner at Sausage Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Dear BirdiOakland,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us at Sausage Tree Camp.

What an incredible and unforgettable 11 day's you must have had, and so glad you got to end your stay with us in the Lower Zambezi National Park. We have been having some phenomenal wildlife sightings and your stay seems to have been no exception - nothing beats tracking an animal through the bush and finally spotting it!

I would have to agree with your recommendation for guests to take a canoe trip down the famous Chifungulu Channel or a Walk on foot through the park as there is something very special about looking at the world from a new perspective and nothing beats the peace and quiet! All our activities ensure that there is something for everyone to enjoy and allows guests the chance to experience both the land and water aspects of our great location.

A lot of mention has been made in the last few reviews about our secret surprises - I am happy to read you obviously appreciated them and I do hope that you have returned home filled with amazing memories to share and look back on.

I will pass on your kind words to Ashley, Yuri and the rest of the team.

Regards,
Jason and the Sausage Tree Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

From the moment you arrive you realise that this is going to be special. The whole place is very professionally run but without it appearing to be anything other than your place for your stay. The quality of the accommodation and position of the camp is superb but it's the people that make it special. Food - Nathan and team do a fantastic job although there was a dearth of potatoes for a couple of days due to an elephant! You have your own personal "butler". We had Sheperd who was just a real pleasure. Nothing too much trouble and always carried out with a smile. Our guide Richard was a pleasure to be with. He really knows his stuff and we saw just so many animals and birds. Closher who was with us for a day's fishing and between the two of them got me into a 12 1/2 pound Tiger Fish. The rest of the staff also deserve a huge pat on the back for their work also.
During your stay there are one or two surprises up their sleeve that I won't mention here to avoid spoiling them but, suffice to say, touches like that really make a superb time into something even better. Can't fault it all, highly recommended. Thanks all.

Room tip: All are excellent but the suite we had was something out of this world.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JamesRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Owner at Sausage Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Dear JamesRH,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us at Sausage Tree Camp.

I am always so pleased to see such positive comments. Our team of staff will be very happy to read your kind words, as they all work tirelessly behind the scenes day in and day out to ensure guest experiences are as unforgettable as yours.

I am sorry to see that there was a lack of potatoes on the menu during your stay - however the story of it due to an elephant, I am sure, will go down well when you re-tell the story back home! Sometimes we have to just "make a plan" and make do when odd incidents like this occur!

I do hope that the tiger fish put on a show for you and gave a bit of a "fight", they really are such fun to catch. 12 1/2 lb is impressive but did you know our current camp record still stands at an astonishing 11.3kg! You will have to come back and try your luck again.

I will pass on your comments to Nathan, Shepard, Richard and the rest of the staff and we hope to welcome you back again.

Regards,
Jason and the Sausage Tree Camp team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews