We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
121
4
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush dinner lower zambezi the river game drives canoe trip lunch time individual lodges national park his knowledge his team trigger fish the reserve food was amazing evening safari animals wander family suite family safari
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 127 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2015

We spent 4 days at Sausage tree and what a fantastic experience it was! It was our first ever safari and for that reason, will always be special for us. The staff, manager, Carol and our fantastic guide, Nevers, made this an unforgettable few days. It is true wilderness - falling asleep to the sound of lions roaring and hippos calling in the Zambezi is something we will treasure. Nevers taught us so much about life in the Bush which stood us in great stead for the rest of our African adventure!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Owner at Sausage Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Hello Sarah M,

Thank you for taking the time to post an account of your stay with us at Sausage Tree Camp.

We are glad to read that we were able to play such a special part in your first ever Safari. A visit to Zambia, the Lower Zambezi National Park and in particular Sausage Tree Camp, we believe, is a must for every traveller to tick off their bucket list!

Our team strives to make every guests stay with us as memorable as possible and we will definitely let Carol, Nevers and the rest of the team know that you had an unforgettable few days with us in a part of the world that we are lucky enough to call home.

We hope that you still fall asleep dreaming of the night sounds of lions roaring and hippos calling, and look forward to welcoming you back again

Kind regards,
J and the Sausage Tree Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015

This lodge has top quality service, staff, guides and location. Really enjoyed my time there, definitively a great place to stay in Lower Zambezi. They organised a Bush dinner and island lunch for my father's birthday, their attention to detail is great.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Owner at Sausage Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Hello Valentina G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your time with us at Sausage Tree Camp.

We are always pleased when guests leave having had such a memorable stay with us. Our team is always striving to make sure that guest expectations and wishes are met and pride ourselves in making sure no detail big or small is overlooked.

For me the Water Lunch and Bush dinner experiences are one of the many special memories we hope guests take away and are able to look back on and talk about, the fact that these experiences were for your fathers birthday makes the memories even more special.

We do hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
J and The Sausage Tree Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015

From 18th May 2015 till 22nd May 2015 we stayed at Sausage Tree Camp, Lower Zambezi National Park.

It was quite thrilling to be so close to nature!

The beautiful location of the camp, the great accommodation, the lovely meals and the great variety of activities made our stay very enjoyable. All this combined with the exciting sightings and the staff members, who took so good care of us, made it an extraordinary experience.

From our room we had a great view on the Zambezi and could observe all kinds of animals – an abundance of hippos, buffalo, crocs – only to name a few.

Thanks to the management and all the staff members for their support and their attention. Our special thanks to Ryan who guided us during our visit and shared his knowledge with us. Thanks to Richard for co-guiding us so well. Thanks, Taps, for making our room so comfortable. Carol, we hope you did well in your exams – we kept our fingers crossed.

Hope to see you all soon,
Renate and Horst

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Renate_Katterwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Owner at Sausage Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Hello Renate and Horst,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post an account and photo's of your stay with us at Sausage Tree Camp.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Your experiences sum up what Sausage Tree Camp and the Lower Zambezi National Park are all about - amazing location, great accommodation, variety of activities, abundant wildlife sightings right on your doorstep and the friendly people!

Our team and guides do their very best to ensure guests have a once in a lifetime experience and leave wanting more. We will most definitely pass on your thanks to Ryan, Richard, Taps and the rest of the team and let Carol know you were thinking of her during her exams - we are pleased to report that she passed!

We do hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
J and The Sausage Tree Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2015

We four friends arrived at Jeki strip on a direct flight from Mfuwe - a transfer which meant we maximised our time at Sausage Tree. This is a remote and atmospheric strip avoiding long transfers by vehicle. Our guide for the next four days, Nevers, met us, and a twenty minute drive - seeing game as we drove - brought us to the Zambezi. We boarded a speedboat and made the spectacular transfer up river to Sausage Tree Camp, enjoying wonderful scenery and game viewing.
Sausage Tree is beautifully situated and is without doubt a luxury camp but manages to retain a real bushcamp experience - a clever balancing act. The bedouin tents are huge with well appointed bathrooms overlooking the river. After a week of living out of bags it was good to be able to unpack and spread a little in the well furnished tent. Sofas, chairs on the deck, binoculars, fans and stylish furnishings - nothing had been overlooked. Our Muchinda - butler - right hand man Clever, was always on hand in a very discreet way to look after us and to provide surprises and treats - we were completely spoiled!
The communal areas are very comfortable and right on the edge of the river. Meals were enjoyed with our guides and with Nicci and Alan who are excellent and easy hosts. The food was quite the best we enjoyed during our whole trip and the highlights of lunch served on a sandbank in the Zambezi and the bush dinner were so beautifully presented and seemed effortlessly arranged.
Each game drive was different - our first morning, Nevers our guide, found a pride of eight lions with a fresh kill and we spent a long time watching. Each time we did a game drive we saw something different. We walked with Nevers and Alex and scount Alfred, seeing a different landscape to the one we had left in the South Luangwa. And then there were the water activities - a wonderful canoe trip - each of us with a guide - early morning mist and beautiful scenery. And then the pods of hippos and crocodiles increased in numbers and we saw elephants and waterbuck on the banks. This was a marvellous trip 12k down the channel - not to be missed. We had an afternoon/evening cruise with sundowners, and then there was the tiger fishing! Alan is such an enthusiast and managed to fit a third fishing trip in before breakfast on the morning of our departure. This is typical of the ethos of Sausage Tree Camp - Nicci and Alan and all of their staff go the extra mile to ensure you make the most of your time in the Lower Zambezi. We were so pleased to have Sausage Tree as the fourth and final camp on our trip - it was completely perfect in every way!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Owner at Sausage Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2015

Hello Susan H,

thank you very much for taking the time to post an account of your stay with us at Sausage Tree Camp. I am thrilled that you all enjoyed it so much. This really is what we are all about and I am delighted that my team has delivered a memorable experience, in a part of the world that we are lucky enough to call home.....the Lower Zambezi National Park, in Zambia.

As you mention it is the perfect place to finish any Zambian itinerary .....

Kind regards,
J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2015

My first trip to Lower Zambezi National Park, Zambia, with a group - Sausage Tree Camp: 29 April – 03 May 2015.
How to get there
2 hour flight from Johannesburg to Lusaka, a charter plane with 30 minute flight (or one can drive) and then short drive to the wonderful location of Sausage Tree Camp and Potato Bush Camp. Anti-malaria medication is recommended.
In the camp
The luxury accommodation was superb and you will go a long way to get something that good in the bush, far away from everything and in perfect tranquility and harmony with the African bush and the beautiful Zambezi River.
The professional service and attention to detail was outstanding. The location was fantastic. The food is excellent at the camps and the river (in water dining) and bush dining was very special.
The staff at the Sausage Tree Camp are very friendly and helpful. We had the privilege of being cared for by Christopher (Murchinda) our Butler and he was excellent - always accommodating and caring.
Absolutely everything was fully catered for in the camps and left us with not a care in the world.
Not much cellphone reception due to remote location, but wireless in certain areas and radio telephones are at the camps.
What we did
Kyle Branch (Activities Manager) was amazing with his all-round knowledge of the wildlife and surroundings, which made our trip so much more enjoyable. The guiding was great.
Catching tiger fish, tracking a pride of lions and canoeing 14 km down the Zambezi keeps the adrenalin pumping , not to mention the close encounters with hippo and elephants.
Sausage Tree Camp and Potato Bush Camp are simply amazing for unique African safaris. I can truly say that this is something that everyone should experience. Special thanks to PMSA and Mice for the hosting of our great Zambezi adventure. It will always be remembered.

Room tip: Get a room on the river bank
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JColyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Owner at Sausage Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Hello JColyn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post an account of your stay with us at Sausage Tree Camp.

We are very happy to read that you and your group had such a memorable time with us from the beginning with your arrival drive into camp, your many activities and wildlife sightings to your satisfaction with the accommodation, food and service.

We do strive to make each guest feel at home and as if they have stepped into another world and believe that sometimes it is good to switch off from the outside world and just get back to nature. Our special events team do their very best to create special memories for our guests and we are glad to read you enjoyed your Water Lunch and Bush dinner experiences.

We will pass on your positive review to Christopher, Kyle and the rest of the team.

As you say Sausage Tree Camp & Potato Bush Camp are simply amazing for unique African Safari's and something that everyone should experience. We do hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
J and the Sausage Tree Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews