We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
82
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives chilled wine attention to detail fish land safari lower zambezi fantastic stay sun downer amazing safari regular visits each guest boat ride catch and release magical place whole team national park an amazing experience
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 85 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2016

From the fishing to the food to the game drives - a truly wonderful couple of days with a family of six with children from 8 to 16 years old. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. I will be going back!!

Room tip: All chalets are good - family unit was great
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulkel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, Owner at Baines' River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2016

Thank you for your kind words. We truly value your patronage and hope to welcome you back at Baines' River Camp very soon. Very best..............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2016

A wonderful experience on The Lower Zambezi.Abundant game,incredible water scenery and a magical venue.Debbie and Ben are excellent hosts,and all the staff provide friendly and efficient service.We have been on many "safari" vacations and this has been the best yet.Alan & Sara.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

I visited the lodge in April for about 10 days and had the good fortune of experiencing the beginning of the dry season, i.e. avoided the rains.. The accomodation, food, activities and service were certainly up to standard for an establishment that sets itself in the 'luxury' category.
If you do happen to plan a safari and choose Zambia as your destination, make sure to visit Baines for a treat. Phineus, Joe and Amos will take care of you on a daily basis, serving the delicious meals the kitchen produces with a permanent smile on their faces that will make you feel like you are home. When you set about going to activities you will be treated to the expert guidance of Leonard, Luke and Weston who will painstakingly answer all your questions regardless of how many they are and explain anything and everything there is to know for the animals, plants and life happening around you.
Additionally, you will have daily laundry service, exceptional views of the river, fishing trips and most important of all, deserts made using the famous hummingbird bakery cookbook!! Absolutely delicious!
Finally, Debbie and Ben will quietly and patiently arrange for anything you may need behind the scenes and will be there to attend to your every need, setting the standard of service that much higher. The team at Baines is exceptional and that is a direct reflection to the management skills and leadership of these two.
Baines river camp comes highly recommended from this traveller with both thumbs up..

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank GreekGirlInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Thank you Deb, Ben, Weston, Phineas, Sidney and all the staff at Baines River Camp for a memorable end to our African adventure!
We were thoroughly spoiled in what was by far the best kept camp/lodge we stayed at through Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia. A little bit of luxury (beautiful colonial styled rooms complete with air con!) set on a piece of paradise with wonderful common area, stunning bar overlooking the pool and restaurant quality food. Easy access to the Zambezi river means loads of river activities as well as easy travel to the national park where your guide can meet you for a drive to see the elephants and lions (and leopards if you're lucky!).
We can’t wait to go back one day!

Room tip: All rooms are incredible! The ones closer to the lodge would be easier at night
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_LS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BainesRiverCamp, Owner at Baines' River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2016

Dear James and Lea,
Thank you so much for your wonderful words and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us - albeit so short.
Your review will go into the lucky draw at the end of the year and you might have a chance to come back to Baines' River Camp on us! Fingers crossed...
With best wishes from the Baines' River Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2016

Baines is a special place – so wild and wonderful. I have had the privelege of visiting Baines a couple of times with Africa Memories Travel. The staff at Baines are incredible – they all have smiles that extend from ear to ear, are courteous, friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome… to me this is indicative of the fulfilment they have in their jobs and good management. Ben and Debs, the managers at Baines, are a lovely couple they are passionate and enthusiastic, ensuring your stay exceeds all expectations. The accommodation is first class and the facilities excellent.

Johan Marais' Elephant Workshop is excellent – I enjoyed every minute in the boardroom learning and going out into the field (the bush) enjoying - spending time with these majestic but gentle giants is so rewarding particularly with new understanding of these beautiful creatures from Johan's workshop – to understand their social dynamics, communication tools, make-up and their threatened existence on this earth gives one a new perspective on the fragility of their survival… that… we / man are responsible for! We were so fortunate to have the elephants ‘join us’ for lunch on the banks of the River in the park… gently browsing in the background whilst we enjoyed just quietly watching and appreciating… very, very special indeed.

The fishing is great - I managed to land a beautiful 12 pound Tigerfish which I was very proud of. The river guides certainly know where the hot spots are and incredibly helpful with teaching you how to fish right! The canoe safari is a must - being at water level in the channels off the Zambezi River and watching the incredible birdlife and wildlife on the river banks is nothing short of spectacular. The game drives into the Lower Zambezi National Park is just stunning - there is something very special about this part of the world... it's completely wild and untouched... definitely worth a visit.

Baines, in my opinion, is one of the most beautiful, well managed lodges in the Lower Zambezi. Definitely worth a visit and worth every penny! To get to Baines is a short flight from Lusaka - the views from the air are breathtaking. Africa Memories Travel takes care of every detail, including the flights from Lusaka. I can highly recommend the elephant workshop and there are also photographic workshops and fly-fishing clinics that are just as enjoyable. The conference room is stunning - mixing business with pleasure is very motivating at Baines I can assure you... with incredible views of the Zambezi River, you can't help but feel inspired.

To visit 'real Africa'is a privelege indeed.. do it in style and comfort... Baines River Camp is definitely worth a visit.

Room tip: all rooms have beautiful views of the river
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank natalieknibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BainesRiverCamp, Owner at Baines' River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2016

Dear Natalie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive and glorious review about your stay at our camp and our operations. To receive praise from a dedicated safari professional on TripAdvisor is a huge compliment and we appreciate it!
We are immensely proud to be working together with wildlife heroes such as Johan Marais and it is absolutely wonderful to receive a review that includes his amazing workshops at Baines' River Camp.
We certainly have fond memories of your stay with us and hope to see you again on the Zambezi. We will be drawing another review out of the hat at the end of this year and who knows, you might be the lucky winner! Thank you very much and keep up the good work you do for the travel industry.

The Baines' River Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews