We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rachel W

Exceptional, top notch holiday experience!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 7, 2016
My husband and I spent 4 days at Baines on a trip with our family on a 'familymoon' as a way to relax after a wedding and spend some time together as a new family. Everything was beyond 5-star from the food to the service to the activities (kayaking, fishing, game drives). The rooms are spectacularly luxurious, the ambiance is relaxing & magical, and we saw lots of game- only missing the very elusive leopard. On top of that the staff was so accommodating and knowledgeable, with Debbie & Ben being incredible hosts to make the experience as memorable as possible.
The trip was beyond magical. If you're looking for a place to settle in and appreciate the best Africa has to offer, book here. You certainly will not regret it.
Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim F, Owner at Baines' River Camp, responded to this review
Responded Aug 9, 2016
Dear Rachel,
Thank you for your very kind words. From the moment you started planning your honeymoon, which turned out to be something of a "family-moon", we were certain that, with David's Zimbabwean roots, you would have a good time. We are very proud of our team at Baines' River Camp and feel confident that they will always go the extra mile to ensure that, as quirky as they might be from time to time, we can always meet our guests' requirements and ensure that they have a good time. As for the elusive leopards, you might be interested to know that we are presently setting up the supply of permanent water to a seasonal water-hole, just 1,500m behind Baines and, having installed a camera-trap for one night, we managed to capture images of no less than two different leopards, plus a number of buffalo, elephant, hyena, kudu, water-buck and impala etc, visiting the water-hole that first night. Now we need to cut a rough track through to the water-hole so that our valued guests might share in our thrill in having such an abundance of game right on our doorstep. That said, we had a pride of 5 lions wondering through our car-park not long ago! This is the "real Africa"!
We are truly pleased to hear that you had a good experience at Baines and hope that we might look forward to welcoming back at some stage in the not too distant future.
With very best wishes to you both.....................

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
    3.2 miles from Baines' River Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Main Lodge Pool
    Go to your Happy Price
      23.7 miles from Baines' River Camp
      Free parking
      Pool
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      38.5 miles from Baines' River Camp
      Free Wifi
      Pool
        47.3 miles from Baines' River Camp
        Free parking
        Restaurant
        • Agoda.com
        65.1 miles from Baines' River Camp
        View more hotels in Lower Zambezi National Park
        Reviews (149)
        Filter reviews
        149 results
        Traveler rating
        141
        7
        1
        0
        0
        Traveler type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveler rating
        141
        7
        1
        0
        0
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews game drives fish lodge caters staff were incredible spectacular location river guide magical place luke accommodation activities land luxury safari boat africa wildlife amos
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        84 - 89 of 149 reviews
        Reviewed May 10, 2016

        From the fishing to the food to the game drives - a truly wonderful couple of days with a family of six with children from 8 to 16 years old. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. I will be going back!!

        Room tip: All chalets are good - family unit was great
        Date of stay: April 2016
        • Trip type: Traveled with family
          • Value
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank Paul D
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Tim F, Owner at Baines' River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2016

        Thank you for your kind words. We truly value your patronage and hope to welcome you back at Baines' River Camp very soon. Very best..............

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed April 24, 2016

        A wonderful experience on The Lower Zambezi.Abundant game,incredible water scenery and a magical venue.Debbie and Ben are excellent hosts,and all the staff provide friendly and efficient service.We have been on many "safari" vacations and this has been the best yet.Alan & Sara.

        Date of stay: April 2016
        • Trip type: Traveled with family
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank 15AlanH
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

        I visited the lodge in April for about 10 days and had the good fortune of experiencing the beginning of the dry season, i.e. avoided the rains.. The accomodation, food, activities and service were certainly up to standard for an establishment that sets itself in the 'luxury' category.
        If you do happen to plan a safari and choose Zambia as your destination, make sure to visit Baines for a treat. Phineus, Joe and Amos will take care of you on a daily basis, serving the delicious meals the kitchen produces with a permanent smile on their faces that will make you feel like you are home. When you set about going to activities you will be treated to the expert guidance of Leonard, Luke and Weston who will painstakingly answer all your questions regardless of how many they are and explain anything and everything there is to know for the animals, plants and life happening around you.
        Additionally, you will have daily laundry service, exceptional views of the river, fishing trips and most important of all, deserts made using the famous hummingbird bakery cookbook!! Absolutely delicious!
        Finally, Debbie and Ben will quietly and patiently arrange for anything you may need behind the scenes and will be there to attend to your every need, setting the standard of service that much higher. The team at Baines is exceptional and that is a direct reflection to the management skills and leadership of these two.
        Baines river camp comes highly recommended from this traveller with both thumbs up..

        Date of stay: April 2016
        Trip type: Traveled with friends
        1  Thank GreekGirlInLondon
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed April 20, 2016

        Thank you Deb, Ben, Weston, Phineas, Sidney and all the staff at Baines River Camp for a memorable end to our African adventure!
        We were thoroughly spoiled in what was by far the best kept camp/lodge we stayed at through Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia. A little bit of luxury (beautiful colonial styled rooms complete with air con!) set on a piece of paradise with wonderful common area, stunning bar overlooking the pool and restaurant quality food. Easy access to the Zambezi river means loads of river activities as well as easy travel to the national park where your guide can meet you for a drive to see the elephants and lions (and leopards if you're lucky!).
        We can’t wait to go back one day!

        Room tip: All rooms are incredible! The ones closer to the lodge would be easier at night
        Date of stay: April 2016
        • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
          • Location
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank Mrs_LS14
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        BainesRiverCamp, Owner at Baines' River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2016

        Dear James and Lea,
        Thank you so much for your wonderful words and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us - albeit so short.
        Your review will go into the lucky draw at the end of the year and you might have a chance to come back to Baines' River Camp on us! Fingers crossed...
        With best wishes from the Baines' River Camp Team

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed February 15, 2016

        Baines is a special place – so wild and wonderful. I have had the privelege of visiting Baines a couple of times with Africa Memories Travel. The staff at Baines are incredible – they all have smiles that extend from ear to ear, are courteous, friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome… to me this is indicative of the fulfilment they have in their jobs and good management. Ben and Debs, the managers at Baines, are a lovely couple they are passionate and enthusiastic, ensuring your stay exceeds all expectations. The accommodation is first class and the facilities excellent.

        Johan Marais' Elephant Workshop is excellent – I enjoyed every minute in the boardroom learning and going out into the field (the bush) enjoying - spending time with these majestic but gentle giants is so rewarding particularly with new understanding of these beautiful creatures from Johan's workshop – to understand their social dynamics, communication tools, make-up and their threatened existence on this earth gives one a new perspective on the fragility of their survival… that… we / man are responsible for! We were so fortunate to have the elephants ‘join us’ for lunch on the banks of the River in the park… gently browsing in the background whilst we enjoyed just quietly watching and appreciating… very, very special indeed.

        The fishing is great - I managed to land a beautiful 12 pound Tigerfish which I was very proud of. The river guides certainly know where the hot spots are and incredibly helpful with teaching you how to fish right! The canoe safari is a must - being at water level in the channels off the Zambezi River and watching the incredible birdlife and wildlife on the river banks is nothing short of spectacular. The game drives into the Lower Zambezi National Park is just stunning - there is something very special about this part of the world... it's completely wild and untouched... definitely worth a visit.

        Baines, in my opinion, is one of the most beautiful, well managed lodges in the Lower Zambezi. Definitely worth a visit and worth every penny! To get to Baines is a short flight from Lusaka - the views from the air are breathtaking. Africa Memories Travel takes care of every detail, including the flights from Lusaka. I can highly recommend the elephant workshop and there are also photographic workshops and fly-fishing clinics that are just as enjoyable. The conference room is stunning - mixing business with pleasure is very motivating at Baines I can assure you... with incredible views of the Zambezi River, you can't help but feel inspired.

        To visit 'real Africa'is a privelege indeed.. do it in style and comfort... Baines River Camp is definitely worth a visit.

        Room tip: all rooms have beautiful views of the river
        Date of stay: August 2015
        • Trip type: Traveled on business
          • Value
          • Rooms
          • Service
        1  Thank natalieknibbs
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        BainesRiverCamp, Owner at Baines' River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2016

        Dear Natalie,

        Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive and glorious review about your stay at our camp and our operations. To receive praise from a dedicated safari professional on TripAdvisor is a huge compliment and we appreciate it!
        We are immensely proud to be working together with wildlife heroes such as Johan Marais and it is absolutely wonderful to receive a review that includes his amazing workshops at Baines' River Camp.
        We certainly have fond memories of your stay with us and hope to see you again on the Zambezi. We will be drawing another review out of the hat at the end of this year and who knows, you might be the lucky winner! Thank you very much and keep up the good work you do for the travel industry.

        The Baines' River Camp Team

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        View more reviews