We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kafunta River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Zikomo Safari Camp(South Luangwa National Park)
$727
$702
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croc Valley Camp(South Luangwa National Park)(Great Value!)
$20
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Safari Explorers Camp(South Luangwa National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$95
$87
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luangwa River Camp(South Luangwa National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mushroom Lodge(South Luangwa National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Three Rivers Camp(South Luangwa National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
209
16
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
16
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubflood plainbush campwild dogsgame drivessouth luangwapainted dogmain gatesee separate reviewnational parkdry seasonafrican countrieswildlife viewingsense of humouropen plainenjoyable staylight breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 232 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2017 via mobile

This lodge is as good as it gets. A great setting, great rooms, good food and really fantastic guides. They are engaging, knowledgeable , competent and fun to be with.
Also included in the cost is having your washing done every day.
The only downside is the wifi is very poor.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ryle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

Dear Ryle,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent visit.

I'm very happy that you have enjoyed your stay, and the knowledge of our guides, I have forwarded your feedback to them as well. A tap on the back is always rewarding. Thank you for that.

And yes you are right, our bush internet is poor, this is the challenge of being remote and still trying to meet today's connectivity expectations. We're working on it!

Most sincerely,

Izzy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017

Going on safari during the rainy season is always something special and one never knows how far one can go due to the water on the road. But when going to Kafunta, we realized for the first time, how beautiful this place is during the rains. The whole atmosphere is so different. Clear sky and hot one day, short thunderstorms the next. And nature at its best. One would think that it is almost impossible to see game when everything is so green and the bushes so thick, but that was not true at all. The place where the Kafunta River Lodge is located is stunning!!!
The lodge is near the plains that are partially covered with water during this time of the year and the river is very close. Lots of wildlife, from birds of prey to bee-eaters and hippos and pukus are always present.
The South Luangwa Park is known for its abundance of wildlife, but what is also really nice is that going to the Park, wildlife can be seen very frequently as well. So the safari really starts when taking the seat in the open Landcruiser! The nicest sighting was an elephant taking a very prolonged and detailed mud baths right on the road!!

This lodge I can only recommend to receive a spot on everyones bucket list! It is not only the beautiful location and the really nice chalets and suits but what always amazes me is how good the kitchen is (even for vegans). The variety and freshness is quite exceptional and the selection of good wines makes the perfect end of a day.
The staff and the service makes you feel welcome at once. The feeling of being at Kafunta is a little bit like being with friends you haven't met for a long time but when you meet again, you know you are where you want to be. Everyone is so nice and kind and helpful.
Our guide Martin was fantastic! We were treated with wonderful sightings of large and small animals and he took us to remote places just to find the right spot for a relaxing sundowner! Each safari was a little adventure and we loved it!

Kafunta River Lodge is definitely a place worth seeing not only once and I can't wait to go back and visit the new Three River Camp!!!! It wasn't set up completely yet but from what I heard, it must be just stunning! Can't wait to go :)

Thanks so much for the great time Kafunta Team!!!

Friederike and Fine

Room Tip: The suits are really beautiful
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nini6924328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Dear Friderike & Fine,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of your recent stay at Kafunta River Lodge! It is not always that we have guests so happy with seeing the rain :)

But I agree with you, it is a great time of the year for those who dare, the light, the sunsets, and the game viewing are all stunning.

I'm so delighted you have enjoyed your new visit so much, and I have already passed on your feedback to the team as it is one of the most rewarding thing for us all. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon - this time in the bush camp season so you can experience Three River Camp too!

Most sincerely,

Izzy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

We have been lucky enough to have visited many African countries on safari, all during the dry Season. What an experience it was to visit S Luangwa during the Green season, yes we had a little rain and some thunderstorms, but this all added to the atmosphere. We benefitted from seeing healthy looking animals and having 'no dust.' The Lodge facilities at Kafunta are excellent, safe drinking water, constant hot water, swimming pool with views across the flood plain, amazing food served in different locations around the grounds, excellent service by smiling people, attention to detail really appreciated, knowledgeable guides doing a fantastic job in finding birds and animals,especially wild dogs( the highlight of our trip) the 1st viewing on the road returning to the lodge on our first day! We saw over 100 birds and 30 different animals, lions near to the lodge on the last evening finished the trip in style. We would like to thank Lisa and all the staff for helping to make this trip a most memorable one.
Paula, Alun & Catrin

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Dear Paula, Alun & Catrin,

Thank you so much for posting a review from your very recent visit to Kafunta River Lodge.

I'm sorry that we didn't meet in person, but I have already forwarded your very kind feedback to Lisa and the team on site as you words will be of great encouragement for the season!

I'm delighted to read yo have thoroughly enjoyed your stay, despite the rains. They are late and abundant this year!

Thank you again for choosing to come to Kafunta, and we hope to see you again soon.

Most sincerely,

Izzy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

Wow! what a wonderful African experience. We had been to Africa before but never as awesome as this, we have just returned from staying at Kafunta River Lodge for a week and just didn't want to leave.
The staff were all amazing and went out of their way to make our stay really special.
The whole experience was just seamless. Abel our guide met us at Mfuwe Airport and took us on our daily game drives making it a very personal experience.
The wonderful restaurant quality food with four courses for each evening meal with vegetables from from their own garden, and bread from their own bakery made you excited for each meal as to what we were going to have. Every meal we had for a week was superb. We stayed in the Leopard suite and slept on the upper balcony with the most amazing view over the Luangwa river. We could hear lions, hippos and elephants throughout the night. We had hippos munching on grass outside our window and a elephant eating leaves below the balcony we were having lunch on. Our guide Abel our guide was a walking encyclopedia on African wildlife and took us on some amazing vehicle safaris where we saw so much wildlife that each drive brought something new. Highlights were lions, four leopards in three days including a 3 month leopard cub and the painted dog pack stalking and taking out an antelope.
Abel took us to a local village and we met the local kids and and people and saw how they lived, grew their crops cooked their food and fetched their water.
The staff at Kafunta were like a big family and made you fell a part of it. Owners Anke and Ron have been doing this for 25 years and they have got everything right with Anna and Lisa making everything happen around you. The chalets are African rustic and luxurious, with bar fridge, mosquito nets, room safe, shower, bath and ceiling fans.
The restaurant and bar area have a pool and hot spring hot tub where you can sit and watch the wildlife on the plain while doing sundowners or having a meal. We both couldn't speak any higher of our experience, we loved it and will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Try to book a suite Leopard or Lion and you have the option of sleeping out on the balcony overlooking the wildlife plain.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Dear Suzie,

Thank you very much for this very enthusiastic review! It is such a treat for us at Kafunta to read such kind feedback, and I have already forwarded it to the staff at the lodge.

I'm so happy to read you have seen so much, and that the rains - which I know have been heavy - have not disturbed the sightings.

I'm glad you enjoyed our suite "leopard" and the sleep out on the upper deck. It is a treat!

Thank you again for your time, and for choosing to come to Kafunta so early in the safari season. We certainly look forward to your visit next year!

Most sincerely,
Izzy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017

The accommodation is really comfortable , with lots of space and a balcony overlooking the marsh . Free hanging mosquito net with room around the bed to move was a big bonus - though in truth mosquitos were not a problem . Hippos were abundant and very close to the individual rooms - how cool to be able to hear their sounds as you drift off to sleep !! The food was plentiful and of a very high standard - and the service was excellent. As for the game drives - our guide and driver Andrew was very experienced and went out of his way to please us all ....reversing , stopping , starting , reversing again etc.etc. He spotted so much and of course was able to identify everything . Leopards , lions , wild dogs , elephants galore etc. all showed themselves and stood patiently while we photographed them ! Wonderful place .

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hylas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idefourny, Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Dear "Hylas",

Thank you very much for your kind review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at Kafunta River Lodge.

I'm happy you found the sound of the hippos at night to be a nice lullaby! :)

I have passed on your feedback to our staff, it is always rewarding for them to hear their handwork is appreciated.

I hope you will visit again soon.

Most sincerely,

Izzy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews