We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful africa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kafunta River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Aurich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful africa”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Luangwa Park is a paradise in Zambia and we were very lucky to spend 7 mightsd and stayed in small quiet paradise Kafunta Lodge and cannot say more that excellent choice for my wife and me ,, I thank all staff management and quides and not to forget the Cooks for a truely fantastic stay !!!! ,, we seen more that we thought possible on african trip and highlight must be the 23 Giraffe that came to front of the lodge to drink water and the hippotumas that are all over the plains at night it has to be best view from lodge is a must see ... the national Park is wild and natural and to many animals to list but we managed 4 leopards ( 2 daylight ) , 7 lions what more can I say - thank you africa and thank you Kafunta and we will be back 2014

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have upstair viewing rooms which would be something I would book on next holiday as gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly sounds like the Zambian wildlife really put on a show for you. Watching the animals from the comfort of the deck is a highlight of Kafunta. Thank you for your kind words which I will pass onto the staff and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    15
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
91
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were a group 4 friends on 7 day package in Luangwa valley was at the height of our travels - Kafunta River lodge is a touch of class in remote wildness area having stayed at number of safari camps in africa and also in Luangwa ( this is our first time to Kafunta Lodge ) I cannot say enough about this lodge - Guides are excellent and hosts staff , food all get 10 /10 from all our group - wish we had discovered it earlier as comes at 3 star better price for 5 star service... oh and not to forget the natural Hot spring is a must :-) thanks all -

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jschmidt1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of Kafunta River Lodge. We try and go the extra mile for our guests so we're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You're right, the natural hot spa is a great way to relax after the excitement of a game drive. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

South luangwa is amazing and Kafunta is a wonderful place.to stay near the park. Alison, the manager, and the team could not have made our stay more comfortable. Martin, our guide, was fantastic in finding the birds in the park, which was our interest as well as the larger animals having booked through Naturetrek. The food was excellent, the view superb, the chalets beautiful. Cannot recommend this lodge more. We will be back at a different time of year for some Walking in the park.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you Delia, I am sure Alison, Martina and the team will be very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. It's a great time of year for birdwatching but I now you'll enjoy your walking safari just as much next time we see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed six nights,wonderful location,you really do feel the wildlife is all around you,the hippos really are at night! Great to hear all the wild sounds as you go to to bed and look forward to the day ahead.Chalets are comfortable and clean,with good views toward the river,you can birdwatch from your varanda,had great views of Kingfishers and Spoonbills.
Really enjoyed stay, wonderful food, excelent wildlife. Security in much need of updating, sad to say. Were hoping to have heard back from Lodge.

Room Tip: All chalets are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Kafunta River Lodge. I know the owner has been in contact with your agent since but let me apologise again that there was an issue with security and rest assured we are conducting a thorough review and will be taking firm action. It's great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the game viewing and bird watching. The South Luangwa is an excellent wildlife destination and the lodge lets you be in the thick of it, in comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schöllkrippen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in there for three days, having several interesting and marvellous activities in the park ! Very very friendly service, perfect rooms and every time the feeling of being save and very very welcom. Absolute superb guides on the trips with much knwolegde over Zambia in comon and the park. All people took care of us and we definitivly come back again. Enjoyed the stay very very much.
The best place to stay in the South Luangwa National Park !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TakamiseTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for this lovely feedback and I know that the team will be very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much. You are more than welcome and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The best about the Kafunta Lodge ist its great location just outside the park with a special entrance to the park, so you can go on safari where less cars go than near the main entrance!
And we had elephants and other animals just walking through the area at night.
They probably have the best chef, the food was amaaazing, and the natural outdoor hot tub is a special extra only at Kafunta!
The rooms are impeccable, very comfortable and with great views to the plains.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guabitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks very much for this excellent review. You've touched on points that we take pride in and that we think make Kafunta extra special. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We ended up here by coincidence to celebrate the end of our self-drive trip through Zambia and it was the best choice possible (obviously it's not open to camping, so self-drivers must stay in lodge). Everything was just perfect about this little paradise. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the manager Mario is such a great guy doing every effort to make it an unforgettable experience. The guide of the safaris was excellent, entertaining and knowledgeable. The swimming pool was clean and it was a great place to relax and watch all the animals passing by. Despite the dry season, there is always a little water in front of Kafunta (very rare). The rooms were stylish, comfortable and clean. The food was of the highest quality and it was a delight to enjoy dinner in candle light every night. You can't get it better, this is paradise that you will never want to leave again. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaartenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We're glad that a happy coincidence led you to Kafunta River Lodge. We too think the South Luangwa is a slice of paradise and we enjoyed sharing it with you. Thanks for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
5.7 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#16 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
14.1 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#18 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#17 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kafunta River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kafunta River Lodge

Property: Kafunta River Lodge
Address: Box 83, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kafunta River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kafunta River Lodge is set in the riverside forest on the banks of the Luangwa River overlooking the South Luangwa National Park, Zambia. This classic safari lodge offers our guests all the comforts, while being situated in unspoilt wilderness. There are 8 private chalets and 2 luxury suites, all overlooking a game rich flood plain. We offer game drives, night drives and walking safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kafunta River Lodge Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing