We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

A brilliant experience combining elegant comfort, fabulous food, stunning sights and an amazingly diverse population of animals. Walking in the cool mornings, lounging on a hammock in the heat of the day and watching the splendid animals against a brilliant sunset in the late afternoon/early evening--every moment of our regrettably short 2 days was pitch perfect. The staff was terrific-helpful, knowledgeable and patient. I would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
63
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Chindeni was our 3rd Bushcamp after Chamilandu and Bilimungwe. We were not disappointed and again it was a beautiful setting overlooking the lagoon. The rooms are large, like Bilimungwe, and well separated. All the staff were very attentive and we had a great guide. The Camp Manager does a great job. Food again was superb. A most comfortable camp in all respects. Game viewing was also superb and we did very well for the big cats again. Bush walks are well worthwhile, something we experienced at all 3 camps. The smallness makes them quiet and secluded. If the other 3 camps are as good, and I have no reason to doubt they are not, any combination with 3 nights at each is an experience not to be forgotten.

Room Tip: All rooms are well separated, so no advantage in one over another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What an incredible experience! It's hard to find enough superlatives to describe this place. We could tell from the photographs that the lodgings are very nice here, and the actual experience didn't disappoint. The gourmet-quality food was a very pleasant surprise, though (thanks, Thomas). Who would have imagined such comfort three hours from nowhere, out here among the animals. And what animals! We've seen the photos, of course, but they can't show you that you yourself are going to be so close to so many different animals. We're also convinced that we had the world's best animal guide here (Peter Milanzi), but the certification process in Zambia helps insure that they're all very knowledgable. The highlight of our visit was a leopard we found on a night drive. She had killed an impala, but before she could get it up in a tree, a pack of hyenas had taken it away from her. We got to watch her and the hyenas for half an hour. And don't forget to look up, especially if you're here near a new moon. You'll see a Milky Way you've never seen before. Ask James to show it to you. :) Our thanks to all these folks for the experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceolmhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giethoorn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Chindeni is a beautiful tented camp on the banks of an oxbow lake. We stayed four nights in Chindeni and enjoyed every minute of it.
The views from the deck at sunrise, are spectacular with the Chindeni hills in the distance. Elephants and buffalo sometimes cross the plains close to the camp. All walks have been very interesting and we have seen a lot of wildlife during the walks and the drives. We saw a leopard everyday and even met the famous Mr Chindeni, the biggest leopard of the region.
Walking can give you the feeling that you are really part of the African bush. Following tracks of animals, comparing lion and leopard tracks and learning how to estimate the height of an elephant by the size of its footprint gives a different connection with the whole ecosystem. Peter our guide shared his knowledge in a pleasant way. He made us aware of the many 'little things' which could easily go unnoticed like different types of termites, spiders or plants.
James and the staff made us feel welcome and at home from the very first moment.
Nothing can be so relaxing as overlooking wildlife coming and going from your own hammock.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

DH and I stayed three nights at Chindeni in August and had a fantastic time. Not only is it a supremely comfortable camp, but we had some incredible wildlife viewings as well. We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Opening the doors of our "tented chalet" in the morning to a beautiful sunrise and the Hippos munching on the Nile Cabbage in the river is a truly unforgettable experience.
We stayed here three nights and were fortunate to have some rare sightings including leopards mating, Pel's Fishing Owl and the African Wood Owl.
The camp is situated right on the Luangwa River and while lolling in our hammocks on the deck we were entertained by a family of elephants taking their mud bath.
James and the staff took care of our comfort and dining requirements in a cheerful and efficient manner.
We must mention the education Peter our guide provided us (along with the eagle eyed Vernon) on the intricacies of the full life cycle of the bush eco system. Not only was he extremely knowedgeable but has the capacity to convey that knowledge in a manner we could all relate to and understand.

Thank you all for a memorable few days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBTraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My family and I spent 2 wonderful days/nights at Chindeni in June 2012. Everything the other reviewers say is true – the tents are fantastic, the food is great, the service and staff excellent – but here is what makes Chindeni special:

The location: perched over an oxbow of the Luangwa River, the vista is spectacular in June - water still in the oxbow (some years it dries up by October), hippos munching the water cabbage, elephants spraying themselves with water, baboons giving the leopard warning call.

The deck. Shade trees, bean bag chairs, books and guides to peruse, guests to trade stories with. Can’t imagine a better deck anywhere.

The size: Only 8 guests at a time. Perfect size for cozy meals, good conversation, low human element when out game viewing.

The hiking: Peter is fantastic guide and getting out on the land was the highlight of our experience in the park. With Peter and our ZWA scout, we always felt safe (despite coming across lions and elephants) and Peter could answer any question posed by my 14 and 17 years olds. I don’t think I’ll ever go on a “normal” safari again. Hard to describe the difference being out on foot makes.

We loved everything about Chindeni and can’t wait to go back. The only thing I’d change is to spend 3 nights instead of 2. Some people might consider the Bushcamps expensive, but I can say that relative to luxury camps in Botswana (which we also went to on this trip), the Bushcamps offer a comparable experience at 1/2 of the cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#14 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#17 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#13 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#18 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Property: Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Address: The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing