We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
“Spectacular”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had two families travelling together. Two couples and six total children between 9 and 17 years old. We had the entire camp to ourselves. All of our expectations were exceeded in every way and we had a marvelous time. I recommend this camp without any reservation. The setting is beautiful, the accommodations are first class and extrememly comfortable and the food is wonderful. While all these ammenities are top notch, they are exceeded by the knowledge and hospitality of the managment and staff. Oli managed the camp perfectly, Peter guided us to unbelievable animal sightings (we saw it all) and the balance of the staff met our every whim and desire with quiet elegance. I cannot imagine a better experience.

Room Tip: there are only 4 cabins and all are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMizells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
63
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at Chindeni bush camp for 3 nights (don't stay in too many different camps). The managers, Brendan and Tamsin, were really welcoming and great company. Peter, assisted by William, was an amazing guide with a very wide-ranging knowledge of the bush. Full of excellent and new information. The tented accommodation was really luxurious, and the food wonderful - stylish and appropriate, rather than over the top. The game we saw on foot and from the vehicle was excellent. Leopard sightings three days running were the highlights with masses of other game of every description. You must go. It's top drawer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This was a really lovely, exclusive tented camp with just four tents. We had the whole camp and had a wonderful time. The food was fantastic, pizza ovens went down a treat, and the guiding with Peter was such fun. We walked through some beautiful bush, saw lots of animals, and basically loved every minute. The tents are very luxurious with their own lounge areas, bathrooms to die for with name-brand toiletries and all the chi chi, and a couple of hammocks outside on the decks that were so seductive during siesta time that I had a problem trying to get up for the afternoon activity. Perfect !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swahili42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Charming Chindeni is idyllic!
Set in the shade under ebony trees over looking an ox-bow lake, Chindeni is definitely one of my favourite bushcamps.
The tents are raised, open plan and spacious with an inside seating area and 2 hammocks strung across the outside decking area overlooking the lake.
I found the tent fully equipped with all amenities and the beds so comfortable it was a little difficult getting out of them for the morning activity!

The main area is an open wooden deck with seating area, under cover and open dining options, a pizza oven (to make your own pizzas, something that we did and was GREAT fun) and an extended deck with beanbags on to relax and enjoy the view and wildlife.

The staff were warm and welcoming and very tentative the food was delicious and innovative.

We went on a fabulous afternoon/evening game drive during which we saw a variety of nocturnal animals as well as two female lionesses with a cub. To mix things up a bit we did a morning bush walk, which I always find a relief to do after all the delicious food. I would highly recommend doing a morning walk as it is adds variety to your days activities and also enables one to become far more educated on the smaller things in the bush! Our manager at Chindeni informed that walking between camps is possible and definitely something that I would love to do when next there.

This is a highly recommended camp and definitely a South Lungwa gem!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed in Chindeni in June 2010, shortly after the rooms had been made over. We thought that the camp was outstanding in every way: the rooms are huge, the views over the lagoon are stunning, and the staff (from managers to guides to cooks etc) were all helpful, friendly and interesting. We tended to do walking safaris in the morning (after an early morning breakfast - they had marmite, simple things to make a Londoner happy), rest in the afternoon before an evening drive. Dinners impressed, without exception. Wildlife was pretty good, but the overall experience was what made it - really fantastic.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VicklePickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The bushcamps of South Luangwa are the closest one can get to the 'out of Africa' experience. Located in a remote area of the park, we were the only people in the area so we could enjoy the wildlife without any disturbance of other vehicles. Chindeni is a very nice and cosy camp, with only four specious tents. Both the staff and guides were excellent. Simply the best.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Chindeni is a spectacular bush camp in a glorious location on the banks of the lagoon.

Our tented accommodation was so spacious and superbly fitted out. The tents are set on elevated on platforms with verandas providing excellent viewing points over the lagoon.

Standards of hospitality, guiding and opportunities for game viewing were excellent.

Everyone was so friendly, can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kakulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#14 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#13 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#18 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#34 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#11 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Property: Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Address: The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing