We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED it ALL ... every moment.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mchenja Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“LOVED it ALL ... every moment.”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

A very special place. The camp is set in a stunning setting beneath a magnificent grove of ebony trees on the banks of the Luangwa river. The camp has a resident troop of baboons that kept us entertained on many an occasion, and presence of a leopard in camp causing nightly ructions with the baboon and monkey troops! Hippos honk and chomp outside your tent door, bush buck and impala graze in between the delightful tents ... The game viewing in this area is superb and night drives usually produce some predator activity. The sightings were awesome. Hospitality was fantastic and we appreciated all the individual personalised attention to detail. Once again we experienced perfectly organised service, delightful, well trained staff, very customer friendly guides, wonderful accommodation and a tasteful and plentiful cuisine. We hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GKL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We spent 3 nights at Mchenja and had a wonderful time. Pria our host really looked after us and we were lucky enough to have Innocent as our guide. Innocent is a most enthusiastic, devoted and talented guide. We had some amazing walks tracking leopards and his knowledge made our drives just so interesting. He loves his job and is one of the best guides we have ever encountered and this is our third African safari.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddg38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Our party of 9 (4 couples + our 4 yr old son) stayed for four nights.
This is a superb camp on the Luangwa River. We were very well looked after by the camp management and staff and very well guided by Lawrence and Simon. Each meal was a masterpiece given the isolated location and unsophisticated kitchen. These chefs would put many celebrity chefs to shame in these conditions.
We had some wonderful game drives and walks, always eventful and always packed with great sightings of wildlife and flora, large and small. Lions and elephants seemed to be the highlights of our game viewing here, but as always there is a lot of ‘chance’ involved in what one sees and misses.
Loved the camp and staff and would return anytime! One thing that I loved about this camp is that they have retained the traditional campfire under the stars on the bank overlooking the river – fantastic for early morning breakfasts and after dinner chats accompanied by the night sounds of the bush. Too many other camps are doing away with this in favour of unnecessary luxury and wooden decking.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nkalamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Spent two nights at Mchenja Camp in South Luangwa and the whole experience was great. Very good location, great walks and drives, excellent food and comfortable rooms. Would recommend to anyone that is looking for an outstanding safari experience.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Brazilian_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Out of the 3 camps we stayed at in South Luangwa, Machenja had the nicest tents and the best food (but only just!). It also has a great setting on the river, facing east for spectacular sunrises. The only (very minor) downside was the hosting which wasn't quite as good as at the other camps we stayed at. The main game viewing area is Lion plains to the north so there is some time on most game drives getting to/from the main area. Having said that we had the best game viewing of our trip at this camp and we must mention our excellent guide Levy who is a fountain of knowledge. The day drives were marvellous with a couple of breathtaking encounters with elephants. Our night drives were sensational. On one single night drive we saw mongoose, 3 porcupines, 3 civets, a giant eagle owl, a nightjar, countless genets, 2 leopards and 3 seperate hyenas. On another night we almost took part in a lion kill with the hunted puku and a chasing lioness actually colliding with our stationary jeep before the unfortunate puku was completely devoured by 5 lioness's in under 15 minutes. What an adrenaline rush!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cilla101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Mchenja camp is beautifully organised and run - for this year by Lucinda who creates a very jolly "ski chalet party" style atmosphere within camp which was great fun. The game viewing is good - elephant, giraffe, lion, baboon, zebra, leopard (no rhino in Zambia) and lots of hippo who will graze close to your tent and serenade you all night long (along with many other animals!). Elephant routinely walk across the river in front of and through camp. Tents are comfortable with indoor bath. Outdoor shower and basin attract amazing (harmless) little frogs!
Overall, camp facilities are limited but if you want a bush experience which is authentic and not spoiled by too many other people it is a great place to go for three nights.

  • Liked — True bush experience
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgentT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#11 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#16 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 12 in Lower Zambezi National Park
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#18 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#32 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
#21 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mchenja Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mchenja Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris

Property: Mchenja Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris
Address: Luangwa River, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mchenja Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grove of magnificent ebony trees, Mchenja is a luxurious, elegant and stylish tented camp overlooking a huge sweeping bend in the Luangwa. Each of the five octagonal tents have their own private en-suite open air bathroom plus free standing, Victorian style baths with a river view. The beautiful central chitenje (dining/bar area) is built around one of the old fallen Mchenja (ebony) trees and guests can cool off there in the camp’s plunge pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mchenja Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing