We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the bush”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kakuli Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our second camp and it was perfect. The manager, Katie was absolutely wonderful. When one of our party was ill, she arranged for a boat to take him to the locum doctor. No fuss, just brilliant organisation. On our last day there, Katie organised a English cream tea, with scones etc. That evening we had a wonderful meal with her and Benny the chef did us proud. We had the odd visitor, but unfortunately it wasn't Dixon, but what wildlife did appear made up for not seeing him. The river was fairly low, so there was a slightly restricted view of the wildlife, but that didn't mar our enjoyment of the trips. This is a bird-fancier's paradise. One could sit at the bar area and watch the wildlife. A bit too hot for me to go on any walks, but our friends did and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: They are all within easy reach of the bar area.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainey6477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Kakuli Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights and just like the other 3 camps it did not let us down. Aubrey, Amy, Batwell and the rest of the team made our stay memorable. Aubrey went out of his way to to make sure we saw as much as we could on the drives. We also learnt so much on a walk, it was a shame it was so hot as we couldn't walk for long. The view from the rooms and bar area was superb and so relaxing just sitting and watching Lions,Giraffe's, Wart Hogs, Impala and not forgetting Hippo's all within feet of each other. Also with the Elephants walking and feeding in the camp everything was fantastic. Thanks all at Kakuli.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Kakuli early October and can highly recommend it. Everything about this place is spot on: location, service, food, staff, accommodation... we loved it all. Dixon (mentioned by some of the reviews in 2011) still visits the camp and can be naughty at times. But this actually makes the camp even nicer. Our guiding tours (walking and driving) were beautiful. Our incredibly knowledgeable guide/camp manager Aubrey and scout Batwell worked so well together. Their enthusiasm for the wild life after spending decades already in South Luangwa is contagious. Ian was hosting the camp in absence of Amy, we met both of them. Their friendliness and professionalism made us feel truly at home.
One of the reviewers below describes Kakuli a little like camping; I would disagree. The chalet offers all necessary conveniences and a 5 star bed. It is genuine bush camp luxury.
Before Kakuli we also stayed 3 nights at Nsolo. We will definitely travel with Norman Carr again and hope to be back for the green season.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmsterdamMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

spent two nights and it was fantastic. Amy and her team were friendly and helpful. All our needs were catered for. Game drives - again fantastic - saw the "big game" - lions, leopards, elephants, elands, hyenas ..... Food was great... rooms were superb. animal sounds at night was awesome. view from the rooms and bar was fantastic. would go there again and again and again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsmailLusaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Spent 2 nights here last year and just want to say it was worth it. Every need catered for including vegetarian menu specially made for us. Whatever we wanted was never a problem. Everyone serving with a smile and everyone friendly. All the animals seen whilst on the drives. Would recommend it over and over again, keep up the great service guys.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at this camp for 2 nights at the end of the emerald season. We are fans of the small, rustic bushcamps so this was exactly what we love. All the staff at the camp were brilliant, the guiding was excellent & we had some of the best food that we have eaten in Africa. Camp drives by boat were different and we saw far more than we had expected to. We also enjoyed some good walking. This is a camp that we hope to return to in the dry season.

Room Tip: We had the room furthest from the main area. It was cooler but all 4 rooms looked great.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Kakuli had a bush camp feel to it, though it was certainly a more substantial lodging than other bush camps in S. Luangwa. The chalets/tents were very large with a quite spacious bathroom/dressing area. The hot water was provided by on-demand water heaters (powered by firewood), but required about 15 minutes to heat up for the shower. There were flush toilets, complete with resident tree frogs, and plenty of room for luggage. Tap water was completely potable.

The beds were comfortable. The chalets were a combination of reed and thatch with canvas walls. There were also two chairs out on the front porch with a nice view overlooking the river. There are quite a number of hippo and crocs in the river to watch from the tents, and you can hear the hippos calling all the time.

The chitenge was nice with a bar and a verandah that looked out on a marshy area near the river. We saw plenty of hippos, and a pride of lions in this area one morning.

As with the other camps the food was good and plentiful. Hosting was good. The host was very nice – she was attentive, personable, and looked after whatever needs we may have had.

The guiding here was very good. I was guided by Aubrey, and he is very knowledgeable and has plenty of good stories about his years of guiding. Easily one of the most personable guides I had during my safari. Kakuli is a walking camp – they do walks as the morning activity and drives as the afternoon activity.

I had 3 walks during my stay – one morning we stalked a herd of buffalo and spent some time sitting with them. On another walk, we had the previously mentioned group of lions walk by during breakfast, and we left immediately to follow them. Aubrey and the scout did fairly well tracking the lions and we sped along fairly quickly to keep up with them before falling behind. The last morning, I walked to the transfer point across the river, and along the way we visited a hyena den where we were able to get within 15 feet of a hyena pup.

Game drive vehicles were standard Landcruisers with 3 rows of seats. There were pockets in front to hold belongings – big enough for a pair of mid-size binoculars, but not much else.

The ground in South Luangwa is rather broken in areas, so I recommend a sturdy pair of hiking shoes/boots and perhaps a walking stick.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank escog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#12 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakuli Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakuli Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris

Address: Luangwa River, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: $580 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kakuli Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Kakuli’ means old buffalo bull – this beautiful camp has four traditional walk-in safari tents each with outdoor en-suite bathrooms made from natural materials. The bar and dining Chitenje forms the centre point of camp and, along with the rooms, is on an elevated stretch of river bank overlooking a wide grazing lawn/lagoon that follows the Luangwa River. The views from Kakuli are spectacular with the camp having regular visits from elephants, leopard and antelope. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kakuli Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing