We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Special”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Track and Trail River Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hospitality was amazing, Peter and Kirsten are so welcoming and it was a pleasure each day to sit with them and talk about your adventures in the park. The wildlife is fantastic and that is matched by some of the best food I have ever had ... especially the soup. Friday our guide, was highly skilled and had a great interest in photography. If you are going to Zambia you should stay here

Room Tip: The river views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewSilentWildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    32
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
73
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spend 3 days at Track and Trail river camp in August 2013 and it was a fantastic experience.

We stayed with our own tent in one of the platforms of the well catered campsite. Each camping spot has its own bbq island, cold running water, light ...
There is a swimming pool with fantastic sights, nice bathrooms , all looks splendid.
Staff is really wonderfull, the guides , the night watchman, the bar service, all staff- incredible. Peter, Friday , Moses , James ..

I couldnt think a better place to spend some days in South Luangwa !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viborilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great lodging and meals, minutes from the South Luangwa Natl Park entrance. The best part of this experience was the twice dily safari into the park; Track and Trail has excellent rapport with park guides; Friday and Kennedy were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here on a tour organized by Kiboko Safaris, Lilongwe. The camp area was clean, easy to navigate and had a great view on the river with great observation of wild animals from the tent door. The luxury en-suite tent was very cozy and perfect for relaxing. The facilities were clean and the main room in the tent had a classical safari interior. During our visit it was low season so the camp area was pretty empty and during the night an elephant stood outside our door while other nights we heard hippos and monkeys passing by outside the tent - what an experience! :)

The visit was pleasant and the bar was also well stocked, though pricey due to remote location. We can warmly recommend this camp and South Luangwa in general.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lasse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I don't know what more to say than excellent. Everything about this place is excellent. Rooms; excellent, Food; excellent, Location; excellent, Facilities; excellent, Staff and guides; even more than excellent! I cannot recommend this place highly enough. This level of service and facilities normal costs more than double this even in Zambia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Track and Trail was able to make transfer arrangements from Lilongwe, Malawi to the South Luagnwa National Park where our party of 7 began our safari vacation staying at the Track and Trail. Note the transfer trip (by vehicle) took 7 hours instead of 4 as the driver got lost several times. When we arrived around 3:00 pm, we had to request a late lunch which had not been contemplated, as well as to go on a safari drive that afternoon/evening, which also was not set up, even though it had been previously discussed in advance. Both the lunch and safari drive were provided (and wonderful), although the discussion (haggling) should not have occurred.

With respect to the ensuing 6 other safari drives (and one walk), I cannot say enough compliments to the driver/guide (Moses) and evening spotter. The opportunities to see the big and small animals were numerous and the discussions were helpful. Again, excellent safari drives.

On the Track and Trail accommodations, we had requested 4 chalets, near each other, but only 3 were available, and while the back-up luxury tent was provided, it was not close to the rest of our group. The fourth chalet was undergoing renovations--should have been told in advance.

The food (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) was varied and very good each day--excellent chef! One unexpected beverage surprise on our safari drives however; we did not realize we would be charged for each beer we had when we had our drives--again should have been told in advance.

Track and Trail also arranged Pro Flight transfers to Victoria Falls where we stayed next. While we appreciate the air transfers being done by Track and Trail, on the way to Victoria Falls, we have a 4-hour layover at the Lusaka airport when we should have been booked on a flight in which we would have had a 1 and a half layover at that airport. Similarly, when we were leaving Victoria Falls to go to Johannesburg, there were direct flights to Johannesburg; instead, Track and Trail booked us on a Pro Flight back to Lusaka, and then after another Lusaka layover we took another flight to Johannesburg. So, in hindsight, we should have probably booked our own flights after leaving the South Luangwa National Park, to save both time and expense.

I think Peter G., who runs the Track and Trail, cares about his business, particularly the safari drives, but other matters could be run better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike5357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, Owner at Track and Trail River Camp, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear mike,

Thanks for your feedback we appreciate to hear your comments and are happy that you had a good holiday. However, I am sorry that the transfers were not to your expectations. You might expect a transfer from Lilongwe to Mfuwe to take less hours due to the distance in kilometers. Unfortunately if you look at the travel time, a transfer from Lilongwe normally takes about 5 to 6 hours. I'm not sure who gave you the impression that this transfer would take 4 hours. You must have noticed the road works, for long stretches, between Chipata and Mfuwe, resulting in diversions and delay.
We didn t have lunch ready, because if we have guests that travel from Lilongwe we don t know exactly their arrival time, sometimes the border crossing takes a while or people want to do a few shoppings in Chipata and guests arrive at 17.00hrs. Therefore, we wait till the guests are here and then discuss lunch with them. The same applies to the evening drive, depending on the time of arrival we discuss if guests want to go on an evening drive. Most of our guests that arrive from Lilongwe don t want to go on an evening drive because they have been driving the whole day to get to Mfuwe.

As for your flight schedule from Mfuwe to Livingstone, at the time you booked with us there was no other flights available then the flight we booked for you. Proflight has the tendency to introduce more flights during the season. So even if you would have booked these flights yourself, at the time of your booking, the result would have been the same.

Once again thanks for your support and comments.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoorl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hye,
Peter, the owner of Track & Trail Rivercamp, arranged a great Zambia tour for us! We stayed 7 nights in his beautiful situated camp, in a nice big tent, next to the Luangwa river. Where Hippos tell you jokes all day and there laughter is heard even during the night. They also graze around the huts and tents! The safaris were well arranged, Friday as a young guide knows his stuff! Peter is also a guide and knows the animals and their behavior ( we still remember the "kakkado" from the wild dogs). Apart from being a professional guide he is also a photografer and will help you with your photocamera settings for the best pictures. In the mornings they will drive you to a place for a beautiful sunrise, in the late afternoon the same for sunset! After the safaris returning to the camp we were surprised with splendid meals. During your stay in the camp you can experience a relaxing massage. South Luangwa national park has e great variety of animals, we did not know there were so many beautiful birds! The changing landscapes surprised us also by beauty and size.
Ronald and Willeke

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.1 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#18 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
8.4 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#32 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#16 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#9 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Track and Trail River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Track and Trail River Camp

Property: Track and Trail River Camp
Address: Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Track & Trail River Camp is an owner-run lodge, located at a breathtaking spot on the banks of the Luangwa River, only 5 minutes from the main entrance of the South Luangwa National Park. We are specialized in photo-safaris and organize morning- and night drives in open game vehicles while our walking safaris will be your ultimate safari experience! Our lodge offers 4 double storey chalets, each featuring their own private balcony from were you can enjoy the view of the Luangwa River or spend the night in one of our more secluded safari tents with private veranda, perfect for a romantic safari getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Track And Trail River Camp Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing