We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, wanna see leopard, go here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Track and Trail River Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Went to track and trail for the second time and again it was great. nice food, water you can drink from the tap (private borehole) friendly staff. nice game drives with Peter who is a excellent photographer and gives great tips.
can recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: in my opinion the chalets at the river are nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowgod13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 197 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2010

Day and night Safari at Luangwa National Park was spectacular. Walking tour was exciting dangerous and overwhelming with Park ranger and the tour guide. We pass a lot of wild animal with precautions. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Good food. You could set by the restaurant with your camera all day watching the hypos, birds and crocodiles. Visiting the village near by is educational and if you can take something for the kids they will appreciated. We Aced on the Zambian music CD.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YasmineSharei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Hello,
I strongly recommend this camp: beautifull location, nice bungalows, nice and friendly team, good food,...: everything you need to spend some wonderfull days close to one of the best National Park I have seen in Africa.
I will go back for sure!
thanks to Peter and his team
Philippe

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delespesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

we stayed for 4 days in track and trail River Camp and really enjoyed it. The staff, the food and the game viewings were excellent. South Luangwa is a great place to visit. The only minor disadvantage of Track and Trail is to be located just out of the park, on the eastern part of the river. Still we had visits of elephants, giraffes and leopards and had a beautiful view of the Luangwa River.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damien90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We spend four days in this camp with wildlife photographier friends, and had a real great time. The wildlife surrounding the camp is beautifull. Peter one of the camp manager, is a wildlife photographier and know well wildlife photographier needs (guide trained, cars...).
The camp by itself is located along the Luangwa river with an incredible sightseeing, the camp organisation is great, the staff proffessional, anything to relax after hours of safari.
Kirsten and Peter, the camp owners, organise us a perfect trip around 4 parcs in Zambia.
I strongly recommand track & trail river camp, to those who want to discover Zambia wildlife, and particularly for wildlife photographiers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilippeMoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

After a trip through Botswana, we decided to end our honeymoon in Zambia, South Luangwa. This turned out to be a very good decision thanks to Track and Trail.

Very personal and caring staff. Everyone wants to give you a good time and makes you feel at home.

Food and drinks were fantastic: not only lunch and dinner, but also the nice treats (e.g. muffins) during the safaris. Or the home-made ice-tea. Or the snacks accompanying the gin and tonic while watching sunset...

The lodge itself is on a great location with a beautiful pool. The chalets are clean and well equiped.

But most importantly: game viewing was fantastic thanks to an exceptionally good guide, Godfrey. Following his intuition, he showed us a spectacular scene every day! We even saw various leopards up close. After sunset, the nightdrives were a totally different experience with all sorts of other animals.

We actually felt a bit sad when we left this great place. Our compiments to Kirsten.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ploegmakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Myself, husband, daughter and her partner stayed in stayed in Track and Trail River Camp recently and we had the best holiday ever. The accommodation is in 4chalets each with 2 double beds one downstairs with the ensuite bathroom and another up stairs leading onto the veranda over looking the Luangwa River. Food was very good and excellent attention to detail from cleaning the chalets to laundry. The highlight of the holiday was the exceptional game viewing with very experienced guides.
It is a great activity holiday and also very educational. The staff in track and trail are so welcoming and we were sad to have to leave. It was great value for money holiday we linked the holiday with a beach holiday in Safari Beach Lodge Malawi also a good place to stay. All transport accommodation and food are included in the package. For us it was a nostalgic return to the area after a 30 year abscence. Well done Track and Trail

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bibiCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
239 reviews
8.5 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
103 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#16 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
112 reviews
18.4 mi away
Safari Explorers Camp
Safari Explorers Camp
#41 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Track and Trail River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Track and Trail River Camp

Address: Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: $176 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Track and Trail River Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Track & Trail River Camp is a privately owned lodge located on a stunning spot on the banks of the Luangwa, just at the doorsteps of the South Luangwa National Park. We offer a small owner run safari lodge, specialized in photographic safaris and offer our guests all the comforts, while being located in wilderness. South Luangwa is known for exceptional up-close game viewing. Our Safari Camp is small and quaint with 9 Chalets in total; 6 cater for families as well as singles and couples and 7 rooms offer scenic river front with a direct view of the National Park. Benefit from our expertise and professionalism; our innovation and creativity; unparalleled location and setting (next to the main gate of the South Luangwa National Park); great service to guests. Track and Trail River Camp can be considered as the premier photographic lodge in The Luangwa Valley. Why?... because we have the knowledge and we can help our guests to improve their photography skills while on their safaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Track and Trail River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Track And Trail River Camp Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing