We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wildlife Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wildlife Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

Wildlife Camp is in the name. It is just a great wildlife experience. The location is great, and you can see elephants and girafs all around the camp allmost every day.

Food is excellent, so is service from the staff. They are there for you throughout the whole stay. Nothing to complain about. And the safariguides are just fantastic and has a lot of knowledge. If you go to other national parks you would notice the difference from here.

A little drawback for location, as you have to drive half an our to get to the park. But to stay inside the park would cost you many hundred dollars more each night. And you can see a lot of animals outside the park as well, as it is no fences around South Luangwa Park. Park fee was 25 dollars per person each day, when we visited. That is valid for 24 hours.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlavR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    54
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
89
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
imperial,california
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

My wife and I and a friend stayed here from the 19th through the 22nd of this year. After a lot of research we found it to be the most reasonable rates in the Mfuwe area. Our stay was just magnificent. The location is right next to the river and the chalets were very comfortable and clean with excellent showers and all the necessities. We stayed in a family chalet with an all inclusive package that included all accommodation, meals, drives and walks and even the airport transfers and the price was reasonable at only 220 dollars per person per day. The guides and armed scouts were excellent and we always felt safe. The highlight of the night drives had to be watching the leopards stalk their prey. We would definitely recommend this safari camp and would return again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norske_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We camped here on our self-drive safari. Great campsite right by the river so we slept to the sound of hippos, elephants, hyenas and the occasional lion. Good facilities; hot showers, swimming pool, bar with terrific sunset view, and restaurant.

You can stay here in chalets or pre-erected safari tents as well which looked lovely and there are game drives, night-drives and walking safaris. We went on a very succesful night-drive and saw lions, leopards and genets.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKandMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

I was part of an overland tour group (15 people - with myself and spouse being the oldest at 55), that stayed there for 2 wonderful nights. The game drives at South Lluangwa Park were exceptional, with great guides and A-1 animal sightings, incl. a lion-kill of an impala, right in front of our jeep! The camp facilities are very good, with a good African feel to them- incl. snakes in the showers! Camped on the river's edge, and despite the near-by hippos, we felt safe. Several baboons walked about during the day, so keep your 'home/tent' closed up. Beautiful sunsets, warm hospitality, and all you could ask for in terms of a safari experience. Highly recommend for ALL types of visitors - we'd come back again, and probably take one of the huts.

  • Liked — Great location on river and near park
  • Disliked — got a bit too crowded when another overland bus arrived, but still okay.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catnapbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Omer
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

Not a Five Star hotel. This is positive.
The Camp is perfect, the food is excellent(the wine too). Very friendly people with very professional guides. Amazing day- and night gamedrives. Watch out for the hippo!
A place to come back.

  • Liked — the people
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
171 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2006

wildlife camp 22-24 may http://www.wildlifecamp-zambia.com/generalinformation.htm

patsy and herman are running a wonderful, friendly and relaxed camp here and we experienced a very warm welcome from the whole team. special thanks to new managers miriam and oscar for their unstinting hospitality..... way beyond the call of duty! all staff very friendly at all times. we felt very much at home. we had our very best and most exciting here game viewing experience here of the trip ...more later. recommend taking the excellent value complete package here. would have loved to stay longer which is hardly surprising with the standard of guiding we experienced here in addition to the great atmosphere. can´t wait to return to enjoy the walking camps etc.

gorgeous setting along the river (virtually next door to nkwali)

chalets attractive and simple, but more than adequate and very good value!! set in pleasant garden with river views. good standards of housekeeping. new ensuite tents in the seperate camping area a few hundred meters along the river looked lovely....maybe next time?

delicious and quite extensive menu in the restaurant and what a relief to be able to choose what + when we ate again! in particular great breakfasts! thanx.....

excellent pool with glorious sunset bar (nicest setting of the trip!!!)......quiet on our visit and no doubt loads of fun when the campers and overlanders roll in

very good briefing re safety issues and with the luxury of being able to stroll around this huge camp during daylight hours....heaven!

activites are a real priority here and were just superb. thank goodness meals etc planned around them rather than the reverse. nyambe our guide was equal to joseph at flatdogs (all south luangwa guides are trained to the same standards. one wonders whether the guides at more upmarket camps are not resting rather too much on their laurels???) we had some wonderful game viewing and particular care was taken to accommodate our special interests. real attention to detail and very interesting cultural background information in particular on the use of herbs and plants. vehicles were new and comfortable, standard of driving and safety excellent. great care taken to position vehicle for best photo light. the vehicles can accommodate quite large parties, but we had a private vehicle + guide (lucky us!!) for most of our visit.

don´t even know where to start with the highlights.......maybe best to just stick one....

.....on what turned out to be the best night drive of our lives we had been having our sundowner watching four lionesses in the failing light....they were at quite a distance and there were several other vehicles nearer to them. as darkness fell we saw them melt away into the long grass . ......the other vehicles drove on in convoy and started combing the trees for leopards......we could see the spot lights in a row along the track. guide nyambe grinned and asked if we wanted to watch the lions hunting. what else....sure! that smart guy took a long loop out and around the back of where the lions had headed. noone followed. to cut a long story short.....we arrived just in time to hear the frenzied warning calls of a herd of puku.....in our headlights we could see the four lionesses stalking, 2 left, 2 right...scissor action....headlights out, infrared on .......bated breath.....an explosion power, a blur of honeyed lightening as the snarling lionesses take down a puku a few meters in front of us. the puku screams its last and it´s a fast clean kill. we see light in the puku´s eyes fade as they began to feed - voraciously as always...... the show isn´t over..... out of the shadows we see a hyena begin to circle... yelping excitedly...she´s joined by a second and a third. they gain confidence as they´re joined by 4 more of their kind....they ´re ambitious enough now to try to steal the kill.....can´t begin the describe the noise of th screams, snarls, roars and howls as the eight hyenas and four lionesses war over the remains of the kill...shivers down the spine,every hair stands on end....both sides are wounded, the lionesses win the day....but still it isn´t over. from the lagoon we see a huge crocodile approach - surely not?? yupp.....we´d now got three predators on one kill! talk about an attenborough moment!! we´d been watching this for about twenty minutes by now when finally a second vehicle showed up.....we laughed to see that it was our friend joseph from flatdogs - obviously about great minds think alike......i suspect that if i live to be a hundred i´ll never experience anything quite so amazing ever again. incredibly on the way back to camp we spotted two young male lions stalking impala on the side of the track. we sat for a few minutes but we were running behind time and had to admit that it was more than time to leave to park and the animals for their few hours of peace. we did have lots more great sightings - necking giraffes, young ele bulls testing their strength and our nerves, a huge python crossing the track, some excellent sightings of shy bushbuck...so close that we were able to get a few photo´s....and as always those wonderful birds

Helpful?
7 Thank judithlorraine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
7.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#18 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
14.1 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#32 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#16 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#9 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wildlife Camp

Property: The Wildlife Camp
Address: P O Box 53 Mfuwe | South Luangwa National Park, South Luangwa National Park 53, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Wildlife Camp we offer a much-needed niche for the traveller, providing affordable rustic En-suite chalets, a secluded en-suite tented camp, a Bushcamp for overnight walking safaris and a beautiful campsite, all situated on the banks of the stunning Luangwa River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wildlife Camp Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing