We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the many reasons to return to Africa”
Review of Wildlife Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildlife Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I just love this camp site, may be some people prefer the Kruger, where you can drive in a park with you're Renault Clio over tarmac to some artificial waterholes and en counter lots of animals.
I prefer South Luangwa.
You just put up you're tent, and probably have the first encounter with an animal,... a baboon who likes to join you're dinner. You can experience that with anger, or just put a smile on you're face.
This site is really set up in nature, there is not much done to disturb nature, and for me it still feels safe. Just using common sense .
Was awesome just to see a Hippo grazing next to my tent. And still there is a nice relaxing pool, with a view over the Luanwa river.
Liked the game drives, with staff really know what they are talking about. Where the animals really roam free, sometimes as said you don't need to leave you're tent or canine to see them ( better you do so ) sometimes the guides have to take you further away. Still great experience . This in nature.
A good place to stop, doesn't matter if you are on a selves drive holiday, or an overlander . I really would rate this at the moment as my nr.1 campsite.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerRamakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 281 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a once in life time family trip to Africa and had a wonderful stay at wildlife camp in Zambia. The guided tours of South Luangwa NP were great, we saw lots of interesting animals and the guides were very knowledgeable. And the night camping in the bush camp is certainly to be recommended. Sitting on the banks of the river in the middle of the bush, watching the sun set whilst having a cold beer was amazing. The food and the service were very good. All the staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. All in all we had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank CRHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Wildlife Camp for 3 nights as part of a safari with another operator. The camp itself is brilliantly situated. The bar and swimming pool overlook the river with all sorts of game passing by. The sound of animals walking past your tent in the night is quite amazing too.
My only disappointment is the campsite ablutions...very run down, showers that trickle and toilet seats that are falling off.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank ArchieFrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a well run camp, good restaurant and wonderful staff. We were a group of 20 Australians on a selfdrive safari and Wildlife camp was an absolute highlight. This is good value and game viewing was excellent either from the camp or on game drives. Giraffe and elephants visit the camp regularly. We enjoyed the swimming pool although it does need a facelift. You can spend a lot more money to experience the same. Great camping spot!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Wildlife camp has a good reputation but we were not so satisfied as I have red other people were. We slept in a chalet and it was very basic and not very clean (cobwebs in the shower, dead insects laying on the top of mosquito net, etc). Space is not enough to accomodate more than 3 people, infact we couldnt fit a inflable bed we carried for our little one. Beds have mosquito nets but not in great shape, some with holes). Outside space has 2 chairs and a small table. At night the heat was unbearable, almost impossible to sleep but we were at the end of dry season so it was not a surprise.
What I really don't understand is the way the camp was built. From the chalets area (number 1-5 at least) you have to walk 10 minute to reach the swimming pool (attached to the camping area) going through an open path where you might encounter elephants, giraffes, hippos, etc... So, basically you need to drive to reach everywhere, which I find really inconvenient. You need to drive from the chalet to reception/restaurant and to the swimming pool area.
Next to the chalet there is a small kitchen equipped with a old fridge (almost not cooling) and a old electric cooker (almost not heating).
The location is great, the view from the pool is magnificent but the general perception is that the all camp has been left behind, without care for maintenance (pool water so dirty that you cannot see through!) and part of the slab broken.
Still you need to drive 15-20 min to the main gate.
I had lunch at Flatdogs and think next time I will go there, it looks really more maintained and staff very efficient.
I think Wildlife might be a good option for camping but it is not worthy for chalet

Room Tip: Chalet 1-5 are far from pool area (10 min walking) but close to communal kitchen area. Camping site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anitg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildlifecamp, Manager at Wildlife Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Gulia. Thank you very much for your review. Unfortunately we’ll have to take this poor review on the chin as we did not experience our best week while you were here. Feedback from other guests also suggested this, and as you say in your review, it is not in line with the excellent reputation that Wildlife Camp has built up over the years. We are really sorry that the chalet did not match the standard you expected from us. I can ensure you that it was due to a temporary problem that has already been fixed. It is also unfortunate that we did not have a family chalet available for you during your stay here with us – that would have sorted out the space issue. Both the family chalets were unfortunately booked out months in advance.

The camp’s layout and location provide our guests with as much peace and quiet as possible, hence all the animals sighting like elephants, giraffe and hippo from your chalet. Most of our guests prefer being in a quiet corner of the camp away from the swimming pool and bar areas.

Thanks again for your review.

Kind Regards

Conrad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a well-run camp with very good people staffing it. I had great conversation with a lot of the staff and they reflect the great kindness of the Zambian people. The review is relative to the expense -- that is for the money, it is an excellent camp albeit with few frills. Of course, you could spend a lot more money and have nicer facilities. But the primary reason you probably will be at South Luangwa is to enjoy the wildlife and the outdoors. This camp has that in spades. You could pay a lot more for a camp either just ouside the park gates (as this one is) or just inside the gates, but it isn't going to make a lot of difference in what you see. We had different guides for each of our game drives, which is a drawback. They were of varying quality but each was very knowledgeable once you asked questions.

The camp setting is great. We had a chance to explore a couple of different stretches of the river and this camp is as well situated as any and better than most. It enjoys a huge stretch of waterfront that is at a beautful bend in the river. The locaiton makes it seem more isolated and away from other camps.

We camped in a tent. We had very close encounters with all kinds of wildlife, espeically elephants, without ever leaving the camp grounds. In fact, one elephant kept us for quite some time from getitng to our tent at it cotinued to munch at the tree right next to the tent. Giraffe visited the watering hole by reception. Hippos came very close. We also saw in the campground genets and mongoose. On the river plain below (and if you camp, try to request a tent site with a view of the river), you will see a huge numbver of birds (loved the crowned cranes), hippos, impala, puku, and an occational elephant. One night a leopard was spotted just below the camp. Every night, we heard the roar of lions very close.

One downside to the camp is that it takes 20 minutes to drive to the park gate, which chips away form the amount of time that you have within the park. Another drawback is that there are many camps near the gate (both inside and outside the park). As a result, there were a lot of vehicles on some sightings (especially the big lion sightings where a group of five trucks can spoil an otherwise excellent sighting). You didn't feel nearly as remote as you do in some parks. I hear that some places offer an all day drive which allows you to get away from the crowds. I didn't get a chance to do this but would recommend it if available.

We were there in October, the end of the dry season. As a result, the density of the game near the river was at its highest. We were incredibly lucky to see not one but two leopard kills in a single night drive. That same night, we also saw two different prides of lion, one consisting of 19 lions. Absolutely amazing.

While October was amazing for animal sightings, it was oppressively hot. At least 40 degrees C(104 F) every day, cooling down only to the 70's at night. The only way to get away from the heat was in the shady bar area by the pool and even that was challenging. I was told that the chalets were almost unbearably hot during the nights making sleep difficult. I was gald to be in a tent where at least after midnight the heat subsided.

Nice people. Nice basic camp. Great game. What's not to like?

Room Tip: If you camp, try to get a site by the river bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelhoundPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Okay we will admit it, we love the Kruger, its true, because we can self drive during the day and have carefree nights inside fences in the rest camps. Nothing much to worry with at night, no looking over one's shoulder during the day, but hey, where's the adventure in that? For 'real adventure' we like sleeping in our own tent at The Wildlife Camp. Its just across the river from the wonderful South Luangua National Park, with many hectares of protected land part of the Camp itself. In the month we spent in the campsite there we saw over 200 elephants come through and around the Camp, tracks of lions in camp, leopard across the river and other guests saw them in the chalet area and on a Wildlife Camp property walking safari. Yeah, sure, one has to be on constant guard from the vervets and baboons stealing food, but how about the mother and daughter giraffe right at the campsite watering hole during the day ? The red billed wood hoopoe flock in the trees there, the lilac breasted roller a constant presence? The elephant there just below the Barefoot Camp bluff ? Hyena and Scops owl calls provide a captivating rythm as you fall asleep.... Hippo come through, elephants may visit your tent, but the night watchmen will be there for you ...Male Kudu joust across the river, Impala and Giraffe often line the Luangua river bank backlit by some of the world's most beautiful sunsets. The crocs keep the elephants and fishermen on their toes. Hermann, Dora, Conrad, Retha, Alice, all make very sure you are 'sorted ' and well cared for. The WC Safari Guides are top shelf - River, James, Joseph, Billy and Conrad. Potifer, Victor, Victor Banda, Salem and Joel are all excellent bar hosts, as are the gardeners and housekeeping. In our travels in 40 countries we have rarely found such competent management and personnel anywhere . All in all, if you are looking for some adventure with wildlife, we can highly rec The Wildlife Camp.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malonetravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
23.3 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
239 reviews
23.1 mi away
Track and Trail River Camp
Track and Trail River Camp
#8 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
197 reviews
29.8 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
19.1 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
103 reviews
21.1 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#16 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildlife Camp

Address: Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: $40 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Wildlife Camp we offer a much-needed niche for the traveler, providing affordable rustic en-suite chalets, a secluded en-suite tented camp, a bushcamp (Jun-Oct) for overnight walking safaris and a beautiful campsite, all situated on the banks of the stunning Luangwa River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildlife Camp Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing