We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Nearby Hotels
$86
$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
147
11
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolbushcamp companybush campthe riverwild dogsthere is no air conditioningdrinking champagnehis teamcool watergame viewingincredible hostsluxurious campcomfort levelsunken bathtubbig animalsthe camp managerwalking safari
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 158 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Everything about this camp is intimate. From the number of guests it accommodates to the intimacy of the staff.....in a very laid back way every need is met perfectly, happily, and seamlessly. The remoteness and tranquility of the camp is unbeatable and provides a wonderfully authentic Zambian experience. Usually because of the remoteness some service aspects would be compromised, but here somehow they manage to cover all. The food is absolutely lovely, the rooms great, the staff knows you by name as well as any specific need you might have, so personal. Logistically it would be very difficult to operate here as it truly is remote but somehow the staff does it brilliantly. There are no crowds and the bush and the wildlife are brilliant and the atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. I chose to go in October and it was very very hot. Because of the heat I had some electronic issues and the staff there graciously helped sort all my power needs out so I had no worries at all! Amy was there managing the Camp while I was there and she was absolutely wonderful! All were so flexible and happy to meet any need one might have. The vibe of the entire camp is so laid back while being absolutely beautiful and such a unique wild experience! I was very sad to leave.....amazing in all aspects. The camp layout is very private, dining area lovely....rooms and bathrooms fantastic...lodge staff and host wonderful....guides brilliant....wildlife and bush phenomenal!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksulli16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We were particularly lucky with our game viewing (or it felt that way) with lions sighted pretty much every drive plus all the other big game you would expect, slightly less sightings on the walks but a completely different experience where you really feel much more part of it and the variety was great. The locations for the sundowners was also quite special, the guiding and hosting top notch. It was part of our honeymoon so they made sure we had one or two romantic surprises which was lovely. Also the food is simply amazing, how they produce food tasting like that in the middle of the bush I really don't know. One other thing of note was the bath tubs...wow!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We loved this camp. It was warm, friendly and incredibly easy to relax. The setting was idyllic, the food excellent and everyone warm and friendly.We would come back in a heartbeat. The walking and night safaris were excellent and we saw more wildlife than we imagined possible.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkV15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Excellent bushcamp. Great staff - well led by Amy who runs the camp brilliantly. Rooms good, spacious and huge baths. Lots of game close by - sat in the bath one afternoon watching 11 elephants on the opposite river bank. Walks were good, but game a bit sparse on foot - however in 3 nights we saw lots of lion, elephants, several lepoeds, buffalo, porcupine, civet etc. Excellent guiding by Michek, helped by Willie. Also stayed at Chamilandu, also superb. - no issue with Tsetse flies at all when we were there

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jstNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Our party of 9 (4 couples + our 4 yr old son) stayed for three nights. This camp is a simple yet comfortable camp with open fronted stone and thatch chalets. Kapamba was a very tranquil and relaxing place to while away the balmy afternoons, with big game often visiting the camp seemingly oblivious to human presence.
The service and food were all first rate and the stand-in manager Volker went out of his way to see that all of our needs were met. The guiding by Fannuel and Ornasious (sorry if I spelt it wrong!) was very good and their company was welcomed by all of us. The game viewing was a little sparse on occasions and the tsetse flies ferocious on almost all game drives (both probably more to do with the area being dominated by a lot of Mopani woodland). That said we did have some good game viewing in general and some very good sightings – particularly elephant, giraffe, kudu, marabou stalks, crowned cranes and warthogs to name but a few species. I would go to Kapamba again if the tsetse flies were not so invasive as it is a nice camp. I was also glad that they were able to easily accommodate our desire for a traditional campfire at night and that they had done away with the dreadfully irrelevant “Moroccan” furnishings that appeared in an earlier version of photos on their web page. As I said in my review of Chindeni, the Bushcamp Company, must really resist any move away from traditional bush camps to the nonsense designer comfort that is pervading many of today’s safari camps.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkalamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews