We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place”
Review of Luangwa River Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luangwa River Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect place”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Last september we visited the Luangwa River Camp for 3 days. The welcome was very friendly, we came by car from Lusaka and were escorted from a nearby village to the camp, where a nice diner was served. The game drives and the walking safaris (a new experience for me) were excellent. Enthusiastic, friendly guides with a lot of knowledge accompanied us. The leopards during the daytime were a real treat.
The accommodation was nice and clean, we were not bothered by insects.
Lunch and diner were served with fresh ingredients and there was a nice variety in the meals, and very good prepared.
We had a perfect stay, thanks to the friendly and well organized staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WouterWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
40
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Wonderful and friendly service oriented staff, five star food and beverage, accomodation and amazing game veiwing. A great 'Africa' experience! Small negative is the river crossing to go on game drives - but does not detract from the overall enjoyment.

Room Tip: All are great. The are only a few but the higher thre number, the further the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a pure luxury in the bush - maybe a little too much, but we enjoyed it very much. Each room has a sunken bath, which overlooks a view of the lagoon.

You reach the lodge by boat each day, and pick the vehicle up the other side (Emerald Season). We were treated to a lovely treat of a sundowner on the opposite side of the bank of the river, with an amazing selection of drinks and nibbles.

We had Victor as our guide and he has been with the property for years, so knows the area very well. He was both friendly and experienced and very PATIENT. He took us to a stork colony and we sat for quite a long time just watching - it was a special moment.

The food was great as were all the staff. Rooms cleaned impeccably as was our washing.

RPS acquired this property last year, and though it is different from the other 'camps', it is still a great lodge, although not as authentic as staying in Tena Tena or Nkwali.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This lodge was taken over by RPS in 2011 since that time the character has literally been ripped out of the place and the standard of service has nose dived. Our transport from the airport was a rundown and later broken down safari car that would not have been out of place on a scrap heap. Despite the 5 star prices the food was barely of a hospital standard. some days desert was simly a cut up apple, hardly what you would expect for the price paid. The location remains stunning and the staff friendly. The wild life and the national park remained top drawer but RPS feels like a company on the decline and there are far better places to stay giving far better value for money. We would not book with RPS again after this experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningwell, Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Arrived off the Proflight Lusaka flight straight from BA from London (nice easy transfer). Very warm welcome at Mfuwe airport from the RPS guys who took u straight to the lodge through the park and then by boat hop across the river. The lodge is set right on the river bank, with direct access to the park by the river, so great views of the park and passing wildlife.

Lovely warm welcome from Sebastian and the team with cold drinks and towels to freshen up with. Here for 3 nights as the start of our emerald season trip, the lodge was great - nice large rooms (with ellies outside as we arrived - which made for an interesting walk to lunch through the bushes!!) with folding doors along the front, enabling you to open up and fully appreciate the view of the river (and make the most of what little breeze there was). Nice big bed with net, which was turned down for us every night, and a big bathroom with good shower and sunken bath!

Excellent food, kicking off with breakfast at 0545 (before heading off by boat over the river to the waiting truck), elevenses on the hoof at a convenient spot during your drive, lunch at 11.30, afternoon tea at 3.30 and dinner at about 8.30...could hardly get the game viewing in for the eating!!

The game was fantastic - we were here a year ago and saw NO leopards, but this time (no pressure on guide Freddie....!) we did have 4 sightings, 6 leopards, including a mum and two cubs up a tree with a kill. Beautiful creatures - it was worth the wait and two trips! Also plenty of other things to look at - ellies, giraffe, zebra, lions, buffalo, and amazing array of birds. Seeing the wildlife was not difficult, despite it being the 'green' season - and the animals looked in good shape, with plenty of sightings of large groups of Impala/Puku.

This lodge has direct access to the park and is a little way from the main gate, so if you are up early you can get away from the crowds. We did see other trucks during our drives but the guides are good at minimising the number of trucks in one place. In the wet, many of the tracks are impassable, leading to the trucks being more likely to be more often in the same place at the same time, but it was hardly the Mara or Ngorogo with 50 trucks at a sighting...This makes it sound like S Luangwa is incredibly busy but at least at this time of year, it's not heaving with people - you might see half a dozen trucks individually from time to time on a drive, but it's really not that busy.

Overall, a nice, relaxed camp with good facilities (take your cossie to have a dip in the pool), excellent food, wonderful game viewing and a great team looking after you. What more could you want!!

Room Tip: They're all great and the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quoinbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The welcome could not have been warmer, the food was very good and the guiding was excellent.
Even though it was March and therefore the lodge was only recebntly open, the pool was useable and I spent a lovely afternoon alternating between the sunlounger and the pool.
My rating is very good rather than excellent only in comparison to the subsequent lodges.
The chalets were very comfortable, although I am less sure about the large picture window in the bathroom as there are people who walk by the chalets....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We spent 5 nights at this camp - now called Luangwa River Camp, and part of the Robin Pope Safari group. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, food is very good, and the game drives were excellent. Our guide (Braston) was well informed and enthusiastic.
The hosts, Tom & Alison, were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble - they laid on a camp fire on our last night so that we could have our drinks round the fire!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SueRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#14 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#13 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#11 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#34 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#18 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stanley Safari Lodge
Stanley Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Victoria Falls
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luangwa River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luangwa River Camp

Property: Luangwa River Camp
Address: Plot 8553 | Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park E6, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luangwa River Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Luangwa National Park marks the end of the Great Rift Valley, one of the last remaining unspoilt wilderness areas and possibly the finest wildlife sanctuary in Africa. It is through this that the great meandering Luangwa river runs, with its ox bow lagoons, riverine supported woodlands and large plains, all of which play host to huge concentrations of game including elephant, buffalo, leopard, lion, giraffe, hippo and over 450 species of birds. Luangwa River Camp sits nestled under an ancient ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa River overlooking the game rich area known as the Luangwa Wafwa. This small and intimate camp with just five bush suites, along with its setting and location creates a real “wow” factor and a romantic feeling simply flows through the camp. The subtly decorated bush suites with brick walls and thatch roof each have ensuite bathrooms with sunken bathtubs looking out onto your own private corner of Africa. Both the bedroom and bathroom are afronted with large sliding doors leading onto a decked area allowing a lovely breeze into the room and great views onto the river. The main area stretches over various elevated decked levels amongst which a tempting double plunge pool with a waterfall linking the two is situated. Seating areas around the pool or in the shade of the open plan bar on the highest level all offer uninterrupted views across the river and into the National Park. Luangwa River Camp offers all the creature comforts of a lodge yet retains the intimacy and privacy of a bush camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Luangwa River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luangwa River Camp Hotel South Luangwa National Park
Luangwa River Camp Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing