We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveler rating
547
50
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
50
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flat dogs tree house daily specials internal flights game drives the river walking safari luxury tents south luangwa national park private pool family chalet local school wild dogs all inclusive package vervet monkeys safari experience
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 604 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed for six nights in one of the chalets. It's the amazingly helpful and friendly staff who really made it memorable. The chalet was great, with good showers, loads of space (you can self cater if you want), free laundry service and a great bed (turned down every night by the staff). There are new food options every day - and they are excellent options. The safari options are varied and the guides excellent. But it's the staff who were truly amazing - they could not have done more for us. It was my girlfiend's birthday on our last day and the lengths the staff went to make it a special day (lantern lit dinner for two by a campfire, sparkling wine and birthday cake in the bush after a walking safari, working out how to make meringues for a fruit pavlova, etc. etc.). And lets not forget the hippos, elephants and giraffes wandering around the camp! A great week. A great place.

Room tip: If you are booking a tent, make sure you get one facing the river.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Flatdogs is a great place to stay. The food is amazing and very varied. The staff are all friendly and eager to make your visit enjoyable. Overall, this is the best place I've stayed while on safari. You will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crepeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

For our first visit to Africa we found this marvellous place to stay at. We are a family with two teenage boys and we all just loved it. I highly recommend Flatdogs camp to everyone! From our first email contacts to all the details during our stay - everybody was friendly and welcoming and made us feel at home. The game drives in the morning and in the evening with our fantastic guide Geoffrey who made us learn so much about animals and trees and our walking safari with Yotam were highlights, of course. But everything else was nice, too, food, chalet, a great staff!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Flatdogs Camp, located at the South Luangwa National Park, is an amazing place, in a fabulous location but the people make it the true gem that it is. We couldn't have asked for a better place for our African Safari adventure. And we couldn't have had a better game guide than Jeoffrey. He is so knowledgeable about the area but it was his attention to detail that impressed us most. Each of the game drives he took us on, and there were many, was unique. We especially loved crossing the river on the pontoon boat. And for a place out in the bush, the food was on par with any five star restaurant. When it was time to leave, it was like saying goodbye to family.

Room tip: If your are adventurous, stay in the treehouse.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith77-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Leaving flatdogs after a 3 day stay was like saying goodbye to family, you know you will be back! Everything about our experience was wonderful, the food, tents, and staff, all made for memories that will never be forgotten.

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews