We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful camp!”
Review of Tafika Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tafika Camp
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Tafika is a welcoming, comfortable and beautiful camp set on the banks of the Luangwa river. The owners and staff made our stay an absolute treat and the wildlife was spectacular. We split our safari time between long walks in the bush in the mornings and afternoon/night drives. The walks were a great way to learn about the flora and fauna and the drives got us up close and personal with an amazing array of nocturnal animals. The leopards at Tafika are extraordinary! The guides are extremely well trained and a lot of fun too.

This is a truly great camp ,

Room Tip: Go for a flight with John on his microlight it's a great experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 86 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

The setting of this camp is beautiful and the rooms were spacious with wonderful views of the river. The only electricity was at the main lodge but there were plenty of outlets so there was no problem charging cameras and tablets, all you really need on a trip like this. Everything about this camp was lovely--the setting, the game drives, the guides, the staff, the food (alot of which is from their own garden) and the activities. What really sets this camp apart for me was the owner's committment to the community. There is a local village of 3000. Tafika has a fund that supports the school by providing supplies and paying the salaries of a couple teachers. One of the staff works with the local women teaching sewing (on treadle machines) and their wares are on sale at the camp. And their staff is hired from the local village. Our guide, after working in the kitchen for 10 years, had his training and certification to be a guide paid for by the owners. A couple of tips--it is a two-hour drive from the Mfuwe airport to Tafika so make plans for a lunch accordingly. We did not know the drive to Tafika was going to be that long after flying all morning (2 flights) so we went quite awhile without any food. Take the microlight flight. I didn't do this and regretted it.

Room Tip: Chalet 4 is away from the rest of the rooms which is either a good thing or a bad thing depending on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judix2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Wonderful place perfectly run by its owners, with very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guides, great wildlife and fantastic varied food and delicious bread and cakes. Attentive staff all round and a great atmosphere, with a awful lot of safari tome on offer both in vehicle and on food and excellent night drives too.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BrigitteM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Tafika is a very special place. From the accommodation, food, hospitality, setting and guiding - none of it could have been better. We only had one night which wasn't nearly enough, and were made to feel like part of the family. A lot of the guests had stayed there many times, and it was easy to see why.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloveshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Far from everything, this last bastion of no technology is glorious. The atmosphere is like none, all are treated as equals, and you feel like you're part of a big friendly family. The food and company is outstanding. The rooms are indescribably, simply, beautiful. The setting above the Luangwa river, is phenomenal. It is not for those who want for wifi - thank goodness! The wildlife is incredible and the guides so inspiringly interested in every aspect of their surroundings - the animals, the birds and the plants. I will be saving up (for several years, I fear!) to return and try all of the camps run by this organisation - Remote Safaris.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backpackerto5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

On our 90-minute drive from Mfuwe Airport with guide Lloyd to Tafika, we saw enough wildlife to make our visit worthwhile. And that was just the beginning.

We were delighted to find that Tafika is so beautiful. The entire camp, from public space to reed chalets, is thoughtfully designed to be pleasing to the eye and comfortable. An added delight is the setting on the Luangwa River, which insures that you see wildlife throughout the day and hear it throughout night--from cacophonous bird calls to hippo hip hop.

Owners, John and Carol Coppinger, are clearly pros who know how to run a camp. They have high standards, and this is reflected in the quality of their staff and guides. We had good game drives with Makubu and Amon, and especially enjoyed our time with Bryan, whose amazing leopard sighting and pursuit was the wildlife highlight of our trip.

Vegetarians will delight in this camp. Because Carol is a vegetarian, most dishes served were without meat. The food was perfectly adequate--not often delicious but good enough and always nutritious.

The camp was very congenial, with good opportunities to meet and chat with others around the campfire, the bar, and the dining table.

Room Tip: If you are phobic about ledges, ask for a chalet a bit further from the river bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Tafika in July 2013 and we really enjoyed it. The camp is located in a very beautiful surrounding with great views over the river. The huts are very spacious and clean. The atmosphere is very friendly and you soon start feeling at home. The game drives and walking safaris are great and so is wildlife in and around the camp. Definitely a place to go back to!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Chundukwa River Lodge
Chundukwa River Lodge
#9 of 91 in Livingstone
183 reviews
13.7 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
87 reviews
21.9 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#5 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
58 reviews
21.8 mi away
Track and Trail River Camp
Track and Trail River Camp
#8 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tafika Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tafika Camp

Address: Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to John and Carol Coppinger, the founders of Remote Africa Safaris, Tafika is a small, first-class camp standing on the banks of the Luangwa, on the remote north side of the beautiful Nsefu Sector of South Luangwa National Park, Zambia. Tafika's guides are amongst the most experienced in the Luangwa valley. 4X4 safaris (day and night drives), walking safaris, unique cycling safaris and cultural visits to a nearby village are on offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tafika Camp Hotel South Luangwa National Park
Tafika Camp Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing